We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach & Pier in So Cal”
Review of Newport Beach Pier

Newport Beach Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Beach & Pier in So Cal”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The title is telling a true story. This is the best Beach, and the best pier in Southern California. Period..yes, better than Huntington Beach. I totally recommend visiting here, but get here early because parking will only get harder as the day goes on..just sayin...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyBeachLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    69
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place for people watching”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Concur w/ the review to eat at Charlie's Chili and then take a beautiful beach walk and go out on the pier. The parking attendant zealously writing tickets was absolutely no help with getting my credit card to work. Beware the restrooms at the entry to the pier. They're in DIRE need of regular and thorough cleaning. I've been in port-a-potties that were cleaner and less smelly than these that apparently are (non) maintained by the city. That I was met as I left by a man relieving himself in the entry way didn't help w/ my impression of the place. Blackie's is an iconic little dive to visit for a short time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank C5Cye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, Ca, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lots Happening Here”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Walk on the pier, visit the Dory fishermen, eat at Charlie's Chili. There is a walkway that will take you to the Balboa Pier. Lots of other restaurants to try. Sometimes it's a bit scruffy, but if you pick up after yourself, we'll all be happy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Past and Present”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Visited as part of what I knew and I can see. Timeline - changed a lot... Trendy... but a bit cold wind for summer. Great place to just relax and enjoy the new trend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Munki888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice view from the pier, but the pier itself isnt that nice”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The view of the ocean and beach is nice, but really didn't care for the pier. It was pretty trashy; I get that its a place to fish but it looked poorly taken care of by the people using it. Also didn't see people catching all that much (other than some tiny fish), but did see someone catch a small shark and sting ray.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newport Beach Pier also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Newport Beach Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing