We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats At Newport Pier”
Review of Sol Grill

Sol Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sol Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 508 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located across the street from the Newport Beach pier, Sol Grill is your destination for Orange county fine dining. This Chic and popular dining spot serves outstanding California cuisine that delights the palate and satisfies the soul. Pairing award winning wine with a delectable menu set the stage for the ultimate wine and food experience.Start out with their signature Filet Mignon meatballs or delicious Ahi Chowder. Halibut Piccata, Rack of Lamb and Lobster Ravioli are all amazing dishes you will not want to miss.
Turlock, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Eats At Newport Pier”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Tried Sol Grill after reading reviews. Did not disappoint. Had blackened swordfish, wife had scampi. Both done well. Prompt service, good experience.

Helpful?
Thank jim2542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total hidden gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tiny, amazing restaurant in Newport. It's a local/ tourist favorite. Given their location, they don't have to be as good as they are! MUST TRY the filet mignon meatballs. NOTHING BETTER! Recommend Sol Sald with Ahi Tuna... to die for! Baseball cut steak is out of this world. Really outstanding cuisine. I you go weekdays 5-7 there's a twilight menu. Misty (the owner) is so nice! Finish with the best sangria in the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbuttly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Happiest Hour is Tuesday”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Happy hour dining is flourishing in many restaurants, but Sol Grill extended Tuesdays to all evening. And a very talented guitarist played top hits unplugged and virtuoso. The service was attentive and easy going. The menu offered so many temptations, with the BBQ ribs very nicely done. The Seared Tuna appetizer was perfecto!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious meal by the beach”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Small, friendly, and down to earth restaurant a short walk from the beach. Delicous food - try the salmon or lobster ravioli. We were visiting from the east coast and looking for a delicious, home-cooked meal and a chill, relaxing atmosphere to enjoy dinner. This place delivered!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Down to earth feel, world class food!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Came here with a friend of mine to celebrate his graduation from physical therapy school after a recommendation from my boss. The restaurant is located in McFadden Plaza on the Balboa Peninsula in Newport Beach, right next to Baja Sharkeez and with 21 Oceanfront across the street. There's a parking lot in the middle of the plaza, but it can get filled up really quickly if you get there reasonably early.

The only way I can describe the inside is that it is a mixture of hippy/hipster/bohemian/surf shack feel to it. Red walls and gold framed pictures of abstract art and surfing motif align the walls, with various knick-knacks and candle holders everywhere. Everywhere you look you see something new and interesting. There is a bar area along the back wall, and about 12 -15 tables in a relatively small area. It has more of a 'cozy' feeling rather than cramped, but certainly you can tell that space is limited.

The food here is in one word... fantastic! The best way I can describe it is that it's a mixture of tradition American grill/seafood place with a unique twist on flavor. I highly recommend the Sol Meatballs for an appetizer! It's made with Fillet Migon and the gravy sauce that come with it is to die for! In other words, I feel bad if you are a vegetarian! Really! There are a variety of different seafood and pasta dishes that are all made from scratch and I'm sure are all amazing in their own right! Word of advice, all of their chicken dishes are really good, as well as their San Gira (I know it's kind of a girly drink, but who cares?! It's well worth it!).

Overall, I was really glad that I made the effort to come out to try this place out, and I'm looking forward to coming back again! Just make sure to make a reservation in advanced. On Friday and Saturday nights it's reservation only, so keep that in mind. Although I've just discovered this place, a lot of other people have as well and have made it a staple like I have!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol Grill also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sol Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing