We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Harbor/Beach but not so great of a room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to the Harbor/Beach but not so great of a room”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were looking for a good and cheap hotel near the beach. We went in Holiday Inn Express because it was the closest hotel we could find at a reasonable price. We didn't have a reservation but apparently the front desk person told us that the only rooms they had available were the queen size accessible rooms. I checked online and they had the king bed rooms available at the same price that he gave us so i found that a bit odd. He also said that they usually charge for parking but he would give it us for free which was great but i wondered if they charge parking if you had reservations already. We took the queen size room thinking it wouldn't be that big a difference. They gave us the room all the way at the end of the hotel which when you left using the back exit it had a real bad smell. The smell away in the night when we returned from our day at the beach. The room was okay but not as good as other holiday inn express hotels we have stayed at. The refrigerator didn't work and we also had a weird shaped bathroom which i understood due to it being accessible. It was really big in space but the shower and sink were really small so you had this big open space where the toilet was at. So definitely lesson learned do not get the accessible rooms. The hotel entrances were also a bit off. You either had to go all the way to one end or the other to exit. Very long hallway and with the smell it made it difficult to walk so you had to run to the exit.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes away from the beach so that is the only plus we found.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the front desk and not at the far end. Also never give in to getting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Nancy G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we .

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    133
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
116
86
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I'm going to go with the good first - hotel service, breakfast area, and room quality meet and exceed HIE standards. The pool/spa has an odd entrance but was nice and clean. The breakfast area, even when packed with a senior bus tour, was still kept stocked and refreshed. Parking is free (nice) and there are a couple restaurants within walking distance. Balboa Pier and the beach are either a longer walk or short drive away. And there's a McLaren dealer two doors down if you like to ogle at beautiful things you can't afford!

OK onto what made this place bad - the noise and smell. As others have stated, some organic matter was disturbed on construction of the property and has left a pervading sulfur (rotten egg) scent mixed in with a hint of something rotting. It's worst near the elevator in the back. Our room was in the back, first floor. Yuck. It was very noticeable the first day. The second night we were greeted with noise above. As I had mentioned there was a large tour group there. Things were noisy and no one was intending to be that way - just not a lot of noise barriers apparently.

Overall the hotel was great but had circumstances out of its immediate control. I'd probably stay further north next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrd232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear mrd232,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the compliments on the breakfast and hotel services. However, I do apologize the experience you had with the room accommodations and allocation was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope that the next time you come through, you give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is definitely over HIX standard. And the front desk staff is very friendly.
They have preferred parking spots for platinum members, but not well enforced.
Just don't stay on the first floor. I couldn't believe a new building like this can have the ceiling noise problem of a shabby wooden house. The ceiling of the first floor is like a drumhead, and you just sleep inside the drum. It's really really noisy.

Room Tip: No first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyxlsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Very comfortable stay. Smart room and quiet even though on coastal highway. Good restaurant across the road and I recommend the Rusty Pelican for dinner overlooking the water of the inlet. Easy drive from LA and not far from Laguna Beach for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

More expensive than other hotels selected for the trip, but again you get what you pay for.
Super clean, modern.
Breakfast was great, cinnamon rolls, pancakes machine ...
Pool was a bit dirty, although weather was cold for a swim.
Quiet hotel, great night sleep.
The only negative point was a permanent smell of sewer in the elevator and hallway to the rooms. Management had a notice in the elevator explaining it was some organic matter reactivated at construction ... to bad but it really smells like toilet.
I really loved every other aspect of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyTrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This particular product is a bit of a gamble. All are decent but some are better than others. Other hotels in this area are very overpriced but few are worth the money. And some are very expensive. Check in was easy and the desk clark as quite nice. She comped the parking fee, thankfully. It's self park and wasn't terribly busy. The pool, however, was cold and the jacuzzi was only warm. Most of the trip was business but a nice warm soak would have felt good. The room was well appointed with real HDTV instead of a wide screen with low res. as you often find. The bed was comfy and bathroom well appointed. Even traffic on Pacific Coast Hwy was well muted. Breakfast was satisfactory but a bit spartan. They didn't have the pancake or waffle machines found at many HEI properties. The food was good, however. Juices were sour and not worth it but the coffee was good. Internet was very slow so email is about the only practical use. Loading maps was slow and reaction, lethargic. Actual speed was .5 mbps down and <.2 up. My 4G LTE connection was far better. But, some of this is nit picking and does not take from the property advantages. The price could have been better but satisfactory for one night. I might be back if business has me in the area. Rates are what kept the rating from a full 5 dots. Being close to most of Newport Beach was convenient and close to business in Fashion Island was a real boon.

Room Tip: As always, 2nd floor is the best for sleeping and quiet. Just about any room will be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We enjoyed our stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach. The room was clean, quiet, and well stocked with coffee and toiletries. The complimentary breakfast had an excellent variety of foods, eggs, cereals, biscuits and gravy, toast, muffins, yogurt, fruit, and the coolest pancake machine that was all automated. They also had an attendant at the breakfast area that kept the tables clean and stocked the breakfast items. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. We were amazed at the quietness of the hotel rooms. The location is near the warf and close to Huntington Beach, which is where we spent most of our time. This hotel was half of the cost of staying in Huntington Beach. The only negative for me were the beds were a little to firm for me but my husband thought they were fine.

Room Tip: We had a room near the parking lot and my kids were across the hall and both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
1.7 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
326 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Address: 2300 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach hotel is located across from Newport Beach Harbor, on exciting Mariner's Mile, a short drive to John Wayne Airport and walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and entertainment. Come stay with us when you are attending some of Orange County's best events. Just minutes away from the OC Fair, Toshiba Senior Classic, Pageant of the Masters, Newport Harbor Christmas Boat Parade, Newport Beach Film Festival, Newport Boat Show, and the Taste of Newport Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach is also located near many top Orange County attractions such as Newport Beach Pier, Fashion Island, Balboa Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, and the Orange County Fairgrounds. Newport Beach is also situated between two other exciting beach cities Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Newport Beach
Newport Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing