We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and nice, simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and nice, simple hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

First of all, it's a Holiday Inn, so don't expect to be overly impressed. But one thing I do like about Holiday Inn is their consistency and knowing what to expect. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the price was decent. We stayed here on a short road trip and basically just needed a place to sleep. The rooms were quiet and the coffee was good!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    137
    55
    25
    14
See reviews for
121
86
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you like the stench of fecal matter or sewage you will love this hotel. From the moment we entered the building the rank odor never dissipated. Our toilet was blocked on day-2. While it was resolved it did little to settle our suspicion that the hotel was in serious need of plumbing repairs. Complaints to the front desk three days in a row, as well as by on-line communication to Holiday Inn International, and a post-travel survey by the hotel itself were met with silence. This shouts to this traveler, "We don't care!" Other guests complained to the front dest too. Complaints were met with "excuses" (i.e. "the smell is coming from dirt under the elevator") but we NEVER saw anybody working to remedy the problem. We slept with the air on full blast and our window wide open. With the window and air on while we slept cold it was the only way we could stay there and with two kids we didn't want to move. This hotel is definitely not worth $200.00/night. Rather the Hyatt, Radisson or Marriott, which are a bit further from the beach provide better care for their patrons.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Robert O,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction and inconvenience caused by the smell and deeply regret the negative impact this has caused you.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Descent Location - not really walking distance to cool stuff, had to take a cab and the fare was $12.00 dollar, Basic hotel, it was clean and quiet. Staff was really nice. I would stay again. I did not use the breakfast bar because I slept in. Kids were noisey at the pool during the day but the pool closed and then it was fine, Enjoyed being close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskeyswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Basic hotel, but very clean, extremely helpful and accommodating staff. I arrived at the end of a long and disastrous journey, at 2 am, with no reservation. Check in staff was wide awake, friendly and offered me a room at a discounted rate as I had arrived so late. Breakfast bar was better than the usual Express fare -- some hot offerings, including eggs (pre-made). Baked goods were fresh. Check out staff told me to take my time checking out and not to worry if I stayed past the check out time. Basic Holiday Inn Express, but the staff makes this one a stand-out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Good location- not walking distance but close to Newport Penisula , Balboa Island, corona del Mar. Nice clean rooms and good service. Came for conference but enjoyed being close to beach in the evenings! Beautiful sunsets on the beach.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianePNNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was one of 6 HIE we stayed in on our 2 week trip and it was very nice. The room was large and clean. The staff was very helpful on where to go, what to eat, what traffic would be like, etc. The hotel is on a highway and I was worried about the noise but it really wasn't a problem. It isn't in walking distance of a beach but a short drive to many options. They had a small outdoor pool with toys for the kids which I thought was a nice touch! Yes there is an awful smell, overpowering at times but you do get used to. LOL

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planomom8801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights this summer and -yes - summer at the beach is expensive and - no - the hotel is not on the beach (which is why we could afford it) but it a good location for getting around all of Newport Beace, Newport Penisula, Balboa, Corona del Mar. Easy to find off Newport Blvd and a parking lot (not free but still a minor miracle at the beach). The free breakfast is the best with something for everyone and real food - fluffy scrambled eggs! Bring food, rooms have frig and microwave and grocery store is not super close. Tiny pool and hot tub but you probably will be at the beach anyway. Do get a 2nd floor room to cut down on street noise and paying extra for a Bay view is okay if you like that sort of thing. My only complaint is the front desk staff was not familiar with the hotel promotion codes and I ALWAYS book on the hotel's own web site to avoid this bit of frustration.

Room Tip: 2nd floor towards the back are the most quiet if you dont' care about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frantic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear frantic2,

Thank you for your feedback. It very p-leasing to know that you have enjoyed the breakfast selections. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,575 reviews
2.4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Address: 2300 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach hotel is located across from Newport Beach Harbor, on exciting Mariner's Mile, a short drive to John Wayne Airport and walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and entertainment. Come stay with us when you are attending some of Orange County's best events. Just minutes away from the OC Fair, Toshiba Senior Classic, Pageant of the Masters, Newport Harbor Christmas Boat Parade, Newport Beach Film Festival, Newport Boat Show, and the Taste of Newport Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach is also located near many top Orange County attractions such as Newport Beach Pier, Fashion Island, Balboa Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, and the Orange County Fairgrounds. Newport Beach is also situated between two other exciting beach cities Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Newport Beach
Newport Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing