We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Location”
Reviewed 28 July 2007

I have spent one night in here and it was a good express stay :) Cleanliness is perfect.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank handecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    131
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
115
85
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontlliw, Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2007

Stayed here with my family in August 2006 (only now getting round to writing a review). A good example of what Holiday Inn Express are capable of doing, i.e. plain, simple, clean, reasonably priced and convenient. It is quite a long walk to Balboa Island or the Beach but there are good restaurants nearby. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the free mid-afternoon cookies were a nice touch. Parking was free and useful as finding a parking space anywhere else in the town seemed to be impossible!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — A little too far from the main town
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brillo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

We picked this hotel because of all the wonderful reviews but I have to say that the negatives outweighed the positives for us.
On the plus side the rooms have recently been refurbished and were extremely clean but the noise issue is a real problem here. As another TA member has reported, we too were woken from our sleep by extremely loud inconsiderate guests next door partying until 4.00am, going in and out of each others rooms, slamming doors and cheering and shouting. The walls are paper thin and you can hear the next rooms televisions, their showers and even them opening and closing drawers. We stayed for four nights and we encountered the most miserable, unhelpful front desk staff with absolutely no knowledge of any shopping, restaurant and local attractions. One in particular (Cesar) was downright rude, every time we needed assistance he would be on the phone, deep in personal conversation, laid back in his chair. He plainly could not be bothered to tear himself away from his conversation to answer any of our queries. The answer we got each time was "I don't know". Having said that, on the morning we left there was a new face on the desk (Marco) and he was extremely pleasant and so helpful. Another issue is the breakfast room. It is a good size but there are not nearly enough tables in there. On a couple of mornings there were people waiting to sit down for breakfast. We finished eating and took our drinks away with us so they could sit down to eat. We definately wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank holidaynut!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Hotel was comfortable with 2 double beds, not the best Hotel we stayed in but was value for money. Very long walk to beach probably about 2.5 miles - also difficult to park car at beach which is metered. pool only gets the sun in the morning. breakfast good. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was OK! Staff not the most pleasant we meet.
saturday night was very noisy with young guys - we were disturbed from our sleep about 5 am and there were lots of banging and shouting.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellwellsuperwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2006

My husband and I stayed at the HIExpress 2/10 - 2/12/06.
The hotel is in a good location on Coast Highway, centrally located in Newport Beach. The price booked onine was $125/night which includes their cold buffet breakfast, though I thought the quality of the pastries and juice could have been better, it was ok for the money. The front desk staff were very nice, friendly and helpful (I asked for extra coffee packets for the room's coffee maker.) btw, the room had a refrigerator and small microvave oven. Parking is free and there didn't seem to be any space issues. Room and bathroom is clean and they have HBO on two channels. Overall, for a weekend in Newport, if you're not spending a lot of time in the room, and need a clean place to crash this is worth the value.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank socal4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2006

Pleasant clean hotel.Rooms/bathrooms well kept,staff polite,pool area small but a great suntrap.Convienient location for everything,but you will need a car as Newport is spread out.A good base for dicovering fabulous Newport Beach.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEQUILA-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2005

This hotel is new, clean and simple. As my wife said, it is an honest hotel. The staff was very friendly, and we loved the location. There are great restaurants across the street, and a Starbucks a block or so away. It was a great base for visiting Balboa Island and the pier at Newport. Also, it's a quick and easy drive to Laguna, malls, etc. The rooms are a tad bit small, but that is my only, small complaint. Even though it is right on the Pacific Coast Highway, since the hotel is perpendicular to the road, you don't hear any of the noise.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveBazakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Address: 2300 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach hotel is located across from Newport Beach Harbor, on exciting Mariner's Mile, a short drive to John Wayne Airport and walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and entertainment. Come stay with us when you are attending some of Orange County's best events. Just minutes away from the OC Fair, Toshiba Senior Classic, Pageant of the Masters, Newport Harbor Christmas Boat Parade, Newport Beach Film Festival, Newport Boat Show, and the Taste of Newport Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach is also located near many top Orange County attractions such as Newport Beach Pier, Fashion Island, Balboa Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, and the Orange County Fairgrounds. Newport Beach is also situated between two other exciting beach cities Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Newport Beach
Newport Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing