We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Me and the fiance stayed here in February 2012 for four nights. It's right on the main peninsula blvd but surprisingly quiet! We stayed a couple days and left and came back for a couple more. Our first room was larger than the second, which was kind of small but still very nice, clean and comfy. A block off the water in either direction and just about two blocks from the Newport Beach pier with many shops and restaurants. Good drinks at sharkeez (sp?). Delicious Greek food at Akropoulos on the blvd. There were warm cookies in the lobby every afternoon. Lemon, coconut, macadamia nut? One word: DELICIOUS! There's a nice breakfast area with a fabulous array of breakfast foods to eat, coffee, juice, milk, variety of coffee. The staff is amazing. So friendly and helpful. Next time we come, and we will, we're staying at Bay Shores! Take time to enjoy the roof top lounge. Great views and seating. They also have a computer and printer you can use in the lobby. What gem!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleCoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
300
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The rooms are VERY clean & no detail has been overlooked. Some rooms are very small, but everything you need will be there & very top of the line in quality. There are even fresh flowers in the bathroom. The continental breakfast room is stocked well & you have access to it all day, with microwave, fruit & coffee, even fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. It's located within close walking distance to more restaurants than you'd ever need. The beach is one block forward, the harbor is one block behind, & the "blocks" are really minimal. The staff can't help you enough, they are super!!! If they run out of parking spots, they will plug the meter for you in an adjacent lot. Can't think of anything that was a negative. It's cute, quaint, friendly, clean, convenient & just hope that they have a room for us next time we go there !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've stayed here a few times. Its our favorite place in Newport Beach. The rooms are clean and large with spacious bathrooms. The staff is always friendly and willing to help out with whatever you need. Parking and Wi-Fi are both Free. There's a better than average free breakfast which is best enjoyed on the rooftop terrace with a pristine view of the beach and ocean. Free home baked cookies every afternoon. Oh - and did I mention you literally walk across the street and are on one of the best beaches anywhere? The hotel also provides beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, and other sand/beach toys free for your use. We'd never stay anywhere else in Newport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davet7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have stayed here many times, usually during the holidays. Located between the beach and the bay, it is walking distance to beach, resturants, shops, etc. The rooms are smallish, but comfortable. A very clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedwithpassports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After a terrible experience a few years back I have made it a point to read reviews before making reservations any where. I am sooo glad I did so this time as everything I read came to fruition. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Very comfortable bed and very well kept premises. Before I left I reserved two more days for the coming summer. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Not disapointed with our accomodations here. Nice and friendly staff. Clean rooms and charming hotel. Breakfast and coffee to start the day and a rooftop lounge to watch the sunset. Location - 1 block to the beach and restaurants within walking distance. Nice personal touch with postcards from the staff! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

As one other review put it, this hotel feels like a bed and breakfast. There are many plusses from the location, to the deep pile carpets in the room, the array of beach stuff for guest use, the free dvd library, the atmosphere of the place. The rooms are small but well designed and furnished, a good flat screen tv with DishNetwork. There is a free breakfast, though only three tables available and the hot items don't include vegetarian options, but there's a generous selection of cereals. The beach is half a block away and many area restaurants within easy walking distance. Our service varied, grumpy on checking in and getting better with each day. It gives you a thoroughly pleasant stay virtually on the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure to get up to the roof (above the third floor) for a spectacular view of the ocean and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
229 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing