We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
BEVERLY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another awesome stay!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had first stayed at the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel in '08 and when we arrived 2/26/14 we were hoping that it was as nice as we remembered. It was even better! The desk manager "Ralph" was still there with his welcoming smile and cookies! Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean and well appointed right down to the soothing CD lulling us to sleep. Breakfast was even better than we remembered. You can be sure that we won't wait this long to stay there again. My all-time favorite hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi6Beverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
I am pleased that your memories stayed with you long enough to return and am so glad that we didn't disappoint and in fact exceeded your expectations! Come back again soon, I am sure that Ralph will be just as delighted as me to be there to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    85
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
118
303
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Bay Shore is an awesome little hotel right across the street from the beach and boardwalk. We love this place. They offer you warm chocolate chip cookies when you check in, and a great breakfast selection is also included. Once you check in, there is no need to drive anywhere. Everything you need is within walking distance. The hotel provides you with beach chairs, boogie boards, skim boards, and sand toys for the kids if you want. There is also a lovely rooftop deck to hang out on and take in the sunshine and the views. I almost hate to share my favorite beach hotel with anyone else, but they deserve it.
Shirley, La Canada CA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
That's a tricky one isn't it - when you find something great do you you tell others! Well, thank you for sharing, I can assure you that as a small boutique hotel with a vintage vibe, no matter how popular we get, we're never going to change. Now, if we were to win the lottery…!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed two nights here as part of a road trip along the pacific coast - we had room 307 - the management have made a huge effort to accommodate guests' needs and it makes for a comfortable stay. The bed was good/ everything was spotlessly clean, breakfast perfectly adequate with cereals/pastries/toast/yoghurts/juice etc. There are free DVDs to borrow - beach gear too if you want it - the beach is 5 mins walk away and lovely.
My only complaint would be that the hairdryer was hopelessly under-powered!
This was the cheapest hotel of our trip [out of 5] and it was definitely the best in terms of feeling valued a clients.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. As I have had less and less personal need for hairdryers (even my barber is charging me less this days - what's up with that?!), I've obviously taken my eye off of this particular amenity. Thank you for pointing out this deficiency - I'll definitely be looking in to it. Thanks so much for coming to stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Loved the hotel. Immediately felt welcomed and during our check-in. The very clean room we stayed in for two nights had a single queen bed which was sufficient. We weren't planning on spending much time in the room. But the room was nice with water and fruit on the tables waiting for us. Newspapers supplied daily, continental breakfast was very good with a huge selection to choose from. The location is great because you are located right in the middle of the peninsula. The vantage point from the hotel deck on top of the building affords you beautiful view of the bay on one side (a few power lines here and there) and the ocean on the other. Great sunrise/sunset advantage. Parking is supplied in the hotel lot or if it's full they will put coin in your meter for you in the public lot across the street. They have a good selection of DVDs and some were current. The hotel is really great. The only draw back is the walls are thin and if you get a noisy neighbor you'll be listening to their tv and hearing their conversations. Would I recommend? Hands down. Your walk to the beach is about 2 minutes. And if the weather was as good as our stay, you will fall in love again.

Room Tip: Room 304 is a corner room and has view of the ocean from one window and a view of the bay in the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetbabylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your 'hands down' recommendation and for mentioning all of the amenities that you enjoyed. I am so happy that the weather and 'Cupid' played a part in making it a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We just stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was spacious and clean. Loved the mom and pop feel. Staff was warm and welcoming. The complementary continental breakfast was a great value, plenty to choose from to start your day. Loved the complementary fruit and water bottles in room. Our room also had a refrigerator which was great. They offer free beach items to use, towels, chairs, etc. as well as free parking. The location is perfect which makes this an expensive hotel but I feel they go to great lengths to offer as much value as they can with the complementary items mentioned. We would stay there again and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissBunny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the review; I am so glad that we were able to make you feel so welcomed! Small, friendly and with a vintage vibe, it's our pleasure to provide those little extras that make your stay as restful and fun as possible. So glad you're looking forward to your next visit - we are too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just wanted to say thanks for the warm welcome and such a great relaxed atmosphere that made my business trip so enjoyable.
After flying in from London and drive from LAX, the Bay Shores was the perfect place to unwind and chill. And what a location!!!!!
I made the trip back and forth from the NAMM show at Anaheim every day during my stay and the 40minute drive was well worth it after a day of loud guitars. The hotel and beach gave me the down time I needed to recover my senses.
Many thanks to the team for making me feel at home and I will not hesitate to return on my next visit to LA.........
YOU GUYS ROCK!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for the great review and so pleased that we could provide some daily respite for your ears! One of my staff members was particularly envious that you were at NAMM - if you made it to the Bonham concert too, then that would just put her over the edge! Thank you again for the great review and btw, Pompey rocks too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Really lovely hotel, a stones throw from the beach. A very homely, cosy, quality hotel with a lovely laid back atmosphere. We were a party of 6 .. Irish and Aussie ... Our bedrooms were really comfortable with lovely fluffy towels, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, and flat screen tv. Breakfast was an informal buffet style arrangement which suited us really well. Nice rooftop sun deck with good views. We borrowed the hotel beach chairs and umbrella for a trip to the beach. Last but not least, the staff ... They were great and extremely helpful and friendly, so thanks to Warren, Ralph, Bruce and all the team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for the compliments on our hospitality - high praise indeed from two countries (Ireland and Australia) famed for their friendly and open natures! So glad you could come and stay with us and enjoy our amenities; I hope your party gets together again and that you come and enjoy Newport Beach again at Bay Shores!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,527 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing