We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Bayshores is ideally set with the beach in front and the peninsula behind, great views from the rooftop terrace. Hotel is small and a bit pricey. Breakfast was ok, bit of a squeeze in the small room. The staff were friendly especially the guys at the front desk. Bedroom was tiny as was the bathroom. Wouldn't go back unfortunately. Newport Beach is beautiful though. Walk to the pier, take the ferry over to Balboa and see how the other half live!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for the review and for mentioning our great location and friendly customer service. Even though you won't be staying with us, I do hope that you'll come back to enjoy more of Newport Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here strictly based on reviews while I was traveling to Newport Beach for business. The location can't be beat. I think the hotel is cute and cozy {very vintage} and the staff goes above and beyond. It was a nice change of pace from the typical corporate hotels! The personal touch {postcards rec'd after my stay} really make this place stand out. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank en1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

As a former business traveler myself, I'd glad that we could give you a break from the 'typical corporate hotel' - it can be a bit of a grind can't it? Can't wait to to have you back - the fresh baked cookies will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked for 4 nights because of it's no.1 rating on Trip Advisor, but did not do our research properly didn't like it and checked out after 2 nights.
We thought both the men at reception were excellent, the breakfast very good, the room average.
What we did not like was that the carpet on the stairs was dirty and smelt.
When we looked at the hotel we should have picked up that there was no pool or bar, we like to socialise. So it was just not for us.
We enjoyed the small ferry to Balboa Island which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: 306 was not bad, but partial sea view is stretching the definition of "sea view" to it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review and sorry for your disappointment. "Small, friendly and with a vintage vibe" sums us up and I appreciate you mentioning the great service you received at the Front Desk and the complimentary breakfast. I hope you found somewhere more to your liking for the remaining of your vacation; thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

When we walked into our room it smelled a little like grandmas house - not in a good way. You know, that old, kindof musty smell. BUT - every other good thing about this hotel out-weighed what a little febreze and opening windows could do. Staff = super friendly.
Fresh cookies everyday. Yes.
Nice continental breakfast.
Fun roof-top sun deck.
Free access to beach toys, DVD library, chocolates on our beds every night, complimentary water bottles in the fridge, free wi-fi. Our room was comfortable, clean, and roomy. Short walk to the beach. We would stay here again...even if they don't replace the blue carpet.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brinicward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for mentioning our super friendly staff. I'm glad you enjoyed the fresh cookies, the continental breakfast and for mentioning the other amenities. As for 'the blue carpet', sounds like I need to take a look at that and see what we can do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Wasn't sure whether I should add another review of the BSP as I've already reviewed it on several previous occasions. Then I thought I'd better, just in case things had gone wrong. Well rest assured every is ok, normal, the same.
We always stay here when we are in the area, not often enough but that's just the way it is. The BSP is simply our favourite hotel ever. It's small, friendly, well appointed, brilliantly located and the staff are great. As soon as we arrive we feel "at home". Could really get used to the Newport Beach lifestyle.
Ok it doesn't look that much, it hasn't even got a pool, if you want to get wet , walk across the street to the Pacific. What is has got is loads of charm and character. Not something you can say about many hotels these days.
Just stay there and you'll know.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferDave08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

"doesn't look that much...loads of charm and character" - my wife thought you were describing me!
Thank you so much for coming again to stay and for giving us such a lovely review. We so appreciate our return guests especially when they come from so far away. I hope you'll be able to fit in another trip in one day. Best wishes to all in the UK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here 3 days on vacation in early March. We spent lots of time reading reviews of various hotels in the area to find one we trusted for our stay and this one won that competition. The rooms are very clean, decorated cute (so my wife says) and modern. The staff is friendly, helpful, nice, accessible, always there and respectful. There is beach equipment for resident's use, movies, breakfast, fresh baked cookies (avoid these unless you can control yourself), free parking, a roof deck with lots of space and the hotel front door is only about 75 steps from the sand. A very good value. If you're reading this review, your homework is done, you've found the hotel you should be staying at, the rest don't compare.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the ocean will have more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much for the terrific review! Glad you got to enjoy so many of our amenities and for mentioning them to others. Regarding the 'self control' on the cookies, life's too short - take the stairs and help yourself to another!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed three nights at the Bay Shore in late February. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. Our room (306) had a partial bay view. You can easily walk to several restaurants. Our favorites were Blue Water Grill and Caffe Il Farro. A fun thing to do is to take the little ferry to Balboa Island, which is a charming place to explore. There is no pool or exercise room or such at the hotel, this is just a basic stay/sleep/have breakfast place, but it works well for those things! Parking can get tight, but we managed fine each day.

Room Tip: 306 was nice, and had a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintagemarylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for providing great suggestions for local restaurants and sightseeing. Hope we get to enjoy your company again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,775 reviews
3 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
247 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
5.5 mi away
Renaissance Newport Beach Hotel
Renaissance Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £115 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing