We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Little inn By The Bay(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Balboa Inn(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Newport Channel Inn(Newport Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sandpiper Motel(Costa Mesa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
508
87
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
87
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckbeach equipmentboogie boardsfresh baked cookiesafternoon cookiesacross the streetcd playersmall hotelfeed the meterwelcome cardfree beachwithin walking distancedaily newspapercity lothard boiled eggscontinental breakfastyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We only stayed for one night before a flight from John Wayne but wish we could have stayed for longer. Very pleasant and helpful reception staff and the freshly-baked cookies in reception were delicious! Wish we could have used the sun-deck area but hopefully will be back again to make the most of this. Good location for Newport pier and the beach. We liked the little touches in the room, the make-up wipes in the bathroom, the free water in the fridge and the fact the fridge was actually empty for us to use as we pleased (instead of the usual mini-bar)! Also wish we had time to use the vast collection of DVDs available in reception. Vintage style to the hotel but feels homely and welcoming. Thanks for a great stay and hope we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

...and we hope you'll be back too! Thank you for the great review. Glad that you had time to enjoy a few of our amenities and hope that your return trip to the UK was safe and uneventful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location for this little gem is perfect! The people make you feel like royalty or owners. Each morning there is a newspaper at your door, coffee and breakfast awaiting you in the lobby, and beach equipment just waiting for you to take it to the beach for a fun filled day. We had our bikes, so Warren showed us where to lock them for the night. They would have been fine on the bike rack in their free, secure parking. We walked or biked everywhere we wanted to go.
In the afternoon, they bake fresh cookies, yum!
Our son just moved to the area, so we now know where to stay when we go for a visit. Check out the rooftop webcam online, you will be hooked, I was.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or restaurant.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 743jackier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Sounds like you had a great time - Newport Beach is perfect for biking isn't it! Thank you for mentioning the Surfcam; we're loving how much folks are enjoying it while they are here ...and when they get home! Looking forward to hosting you again when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just wanted to say thanks for the warm welcome and such a great relaxed atmosphere that made my business trip so enjoyable.
After flying in from London and drive from LAX, the Bay Shores was the perfect place to unwind and chill. And what a location!!!!!
I made the trip back and forth from the NAMM show at Anaheim every day during my stay and the 40minute drive was well worth it after a day of loud guitars. The hotel and beach gave me the down time I needed to recover my senses.
Many thanks to the team for making me feel at home and I will not hesitate to return on my next visit to LA.........
YOU GUYS ROCK!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for coming back to stay with us again; I remember being able to provide you with a bit of respite from "the loud guitars" before! So glad you decided to stay in Newport Beach once more; we'll be glad to host you anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was exactly what we needed. Our kind of southern California. No fuss, warm people, laid back breakfast, pleasant clean room, easy parking, and best of all, walk across the street to the beautiful beach. No reason to ask for more when hanging out for visiting our relatives. In fact, it had the feel of a bonus romantic adventure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and glad we could be 'warm people' for you after the winter you've endured! Hope your family visit went well and that you'll come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Outstanding hotel that feels like a bed and breakfest..welcome note on bed, return postcard thanking us for staying; fruit in room, great breakfast selection, two free bottles of water in fridge, wonderful hosts, Ralph and Warren...call you by name, are very helpful rec places to visit. The rooms were perfect and waterviews (I think) from all. As another reviewer wrote, hotel is cute and cozy...vintage feeling and decor (modern amenities)...bed very comfortable. If you want to stay in the heart of Newport Beach this hotel gives you the best price for the location and is well worth it! We booked through Travelosity for a one night stay. Decided to stay a second night and found out their booking rate was the same as Travelosity...however, there is an additional discount for AAA members...better to book directly. We love this hotal, the managers/owners and will return the next time we are stay in Newport! PS..they provide free beach towels, chairs and beach items.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your great and comprehensive review and for mentioning so many of our amenities. I also appreciate you mentioning booking directly with the hotel - when you do that, we can certainly make sure that you get the best room for your needs. Looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews