We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Newport and this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My mom and I went to this hotel because we were traveling impromptu needed a place to stay but we just happened to notice it out of the corner of our eye. We stopped and we were glad we did! Room was awesome-very plush, wonderful and clean. Our room opened to a beautiful courtyard with a flowering, fragrant hibiscus. At the end of the day in the upstairs balcony rooftop we watched the sunset while we look out over the peninsula. Very nice staff and hard working maid service. We had one bdrm downstairs in courtyard. The old timey elevator is in good condition though so we didn't have to walk up any stairs. The Blue Beet is one of the oldest bars in Newport-a must see.

Room Tip: I liked being on ground floor right out to patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Firstly, thank you so much for the review and secondly for coming so far to stay with us! I really appreciate your comments and hope that when your down this way again, we'll have the pleasure of your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our 4th or 5th stay here. We love it. We come here once a year to watch baseball at Angels Stadium, but of course also take in the beach, Balboa Island, etc. We love the casual atmosphere and furnishings of this place. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. It is so close to so many things: the beach and harbor, good restaurants, cute shops, a small Whole Foods at Fashion Island. Ralph, Bruce,Warren and the rest of the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hope the Angels performed as well for you as it seems our great staff did! Thank you for the lovely review. Hope we get to have your company for many more baseball seasons to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for the second time. I must say nothing has changed since last year. Same nice staff, comfy rooms....and well the location...you can't beat that. We flew all the way from europe to stay here for a week. Hopefully we will be back next year. What a relaxing holiday! Thanks to the team of the Bay Shores Pensinsula

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bvbbvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir lieben unsere Besucher aus Europa! Wir hoffen, Sie hatten eine gute Heimreise. Kommen Sie bald wieder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second stay at Bay Shores and as we turned off the Boulevard into the car park it really did feel "just like coming home".
There's not much more can be said about Bay Shores that hasn't already been posted.
Location, staff - all are excellent.
We'd headed this way after spending a week in Las Vegas so it was great to be able to borrow a couple of beach towels and relax on the beach with a book after the chaos that is LV.
The staff were even kind enough to accept a parcel for me before we'd checked in.
Would we stay here again? Without a shadow of doubt.
The hotel is so good there was even a Newport Beach resident staying there whilst his home was remodelled.
Many thanks to all the staff, including housekeeping, for making our stay as enjoyable as the previous time.
Oh, and thanks for the 3.00pm cookies.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We love our return guests! Thank you so much for coming back to Bay Shores and for taking the time to post another great review. Hope to see you again when you're back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very quaint beach and surf-related decor, starting with the pleasant office-entry area. Enjoyed every employee I happened upon (including maids) - all were exceptionally cheerful and helpful. My room had an interesting very large painting of a surfer. There was plenty of drawer and closet space. The bathroom was clean and fresh, with nice wallpaper and light fixtures, and a magnifying mirror. Loved the cabinets below the sink- great storage space. Turn down service with a little chocolate at night. Bottles of water and a fruit bowl were kept stocked in the room. The refrigerator was small, with no freezer section, but totally adequate for me. Cookies are set out in the lobby each afternoon. The breakfast area has a nice selection of muffins, croissants, toast, bagel sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, some cereals, including oatmeal, and juices, coffee and tea. The upstairs deck is really great for hanging out with a great view of marina areas and ocean. It's an under-5-minute walk across the street to the ocean beach, and a 10-15min. walk to the boardwalk/shops area. Wi-Fi in-room is included and works well. TV is adequate size with some on-demand options. There is also a selection film/DVDs that you can check out for free and watch in-room. Parking is provided, and if no space is available on premises, they plug the meter at the metered area just next to their building. A very pleasant stay. This is a keeper!

Room Tip: I was on the second floor out of three. There were no issues with noise from surrounding rooms. Tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and for coming to stay with us. We always appreciate it when guests are able to enjoy all that we have on offer - if you can think of anything else that we might provide for everyone's enjoyment, I'd love to hear. Thanks again and hopefully see you again see the next time you come down the coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We only stayed for one night before a flight from John Wayne but wish we could have stayed for longer. Very pleasant and helpful reception staff and the freshly-baked cookies in reception were delicious! Wish we could have used the sun-deck area but hopefully will be back again to make the most of this. Good location for Newport pier and the beach. We liked the little touches in the room, the make-up wipes in the bathroom, the free water in the fridge and the fact the fridge was actually empty for us to use as we pleased (instead of the usual mini-bar)! Also wish we had time to use the vast collection of DVDs available in reception. Vintage style to the hotel but feels homely and welcoming. Thanks for a great stay and hope we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

...and we hope you'll be back too! Thank you for the great review. Glad that you had time to enjoy a few of our amenities and hope that your return trip to the UK was safe and uneventful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location for this little gem is perfect! The people make you feel like royalty or owners. Each morning there is a newspaper at your door, coffee and breakfast awaiting you in the lobby, and beach equipment just waiting for you to take it to the beach for a fun filled day. We had our bikes, so Warren showed us where to lock them for the night. They would have been fine on the bike rack in their free, secure parking. We walked or biked everywhere we wanted to go.
In the afternoon, they bake fresh cookies, yum!
Our son just moved to the area, so we now know where to stay when we go for a visit. Check out the rooftop webcam online, you will be hooked, I was.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 743jackier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Sounds like you had a great time - Newport Beach is perfect for biking isn't it! Thank you for mentioning the Surfcam; we're loving how much folks are enjoying it while they are here ...and when they get home! Looking forward to hosting you again when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,030 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £124 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing