We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and quaint, nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Funky and quaint, nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

No complaints! Friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Short walk to the boardwalk and beach. Sun deck on roof. They loan beach chairs and umbrellas. Nice amenities! Very pleasant stay! On a busy street but traffic noise was not a problem, and I don't like noisy places. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Funky and quaint, - I love it! I think we'll add that to our 'vintage vibe' tagline! So glad you had a lovely stay, thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
109
292
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
195 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Bay Shores is a stand-out in Newport Beach, and a stand-out in the whole area around Newport. No other property has its home-like features, and friendly, comfortable, and helpful service !

-The reception area has service at the desk 24/7 -- not just someone behind a counter, but people who know the area and are happy to help with whatever residents need in directions or amenities for their stay.

-The rooms are designed for what people actually *want/need*: plenty of lighting, a mini-frig, small safe, and perhaps most notably, bathroom facilities that contain shelves for towels, extra shelves for storage of items, and even a shelf under the mirror, above the sink. Rooms are on the small-side, but they are well-designed - and *comfortable.*

-Complimentary breakfast is served - plus complimentary beverages are available around the clock. Cookies are served in afternoon too.

-And more at no extra charge: Parking is on-site. Newspapers are delivered. Plus movies are available for check-out - as are beach towels and equipment. Really nice -and home-like -is that no extra charges occur for anything besides soda from the vending machine or extra bottled water (beyond the two bottles a day that are provided gratis in the room).

Bay-Shores Peninsula is a stand-out in Newport Beach - *and* it is welcoming place for business travelers, leisure travelers, families, couples, or singles -- of all ages !

Room Tip: Upper floor; quiet location; with partial view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your extensive review and for kindly mentioning so many of our amenities that had caught your eye and that you had enjoyed. My staff take a huge amount of pride in the hotel and it is wonderful to have your comments to share with them. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again one day, in the meantime, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My mom and I went to this hotel because we were traveling impromptu needed a place to stay but we just happened to notice it out of the corner of our eye. We stopped and we were glad we did! Room was awesome-very plush, wonderful and clean. Our room opened to a beautiful courtyard with a flowering, fragrant hibiscus. At the end of the day in the upstairs balcony rooftop we watched the sunset while we look out over the peninsula. Very nice staff and hard working maid service. We had one bdrm downstairs in courtyard. The old timey elevator is in good condition though so we didn't have to walk up any stairs. The Blue Beet is one of the oldest bars in Newport-a must see.

Room Tip: I liked being on ground floor right out to patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Firstly, thank you so much for the review and secondly for coming so far to stay with us! I really appreciate your comments and hope that when your down this way again, we'll have the pleasure of your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th or 5th stay here. We love it. We come here once a year to watch baseball at Angels Stadium, but of course also take in the beach, Balboa Island, etc. We love the casual atmosphere and furnishings of this place. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. It is so close to so many things: the beach and harbor, good restaurants, cute shops, a small Whole Foods at Fashion Island. Ralph, Bruce,Warren and the rest of the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hope the Angels performed as well for you as it seems our great staff did! Thank you for the lovely review. Hope we get to have your company for many more baseball seasons to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time. I must say nothing has changed since last year. Same nice staff, comfy rooms....and well the location...you can't beat that. We flew all the way from europe to stay here for a week. Hopefully we will be back next year. What a relaxing holiday! Thanks to the team of the Bay Shores Pensinsula

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bvbbvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir lieben unsere Besucher aus Europa! Wir hoffen, Sie hatten eine gute Heimreise. Kommen Sie bald wieder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second stay at Bay Shores and as we turned off the Boulevard into the car park it really did feel "just like coming home".
There's not much more can be said about Bay Shores that hasn't already been posted.
Location, staff - all are excellent.
We'd headed this way after spending a week in Las Vegas so it was great to be able to borrow a couple of beach towels and relax on the beach with a book after the chaos that is LV.
The staff were even kind enough to accept a parcel for me before we'd checked in.
Would we stay here again? Without a shadow of doubt.
The hotel is so good there was even a Newport Beach resident staying there whilst his home was remodelled.
Many thanks to all the staff, including housekeeping, for making our stay as enjoyable as the previous time.
Oh, and thanks for the 3.00pm cookies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We love our return guests! Thank you so much for coming back to Bay Shores and for taking the time to post another great review. Hope to see you again when you're back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very quaint beach and surf-related decor, starting with the pleasant office-entry area. Enjoyed every employee I happened upon (including maids) - all were exceptionally cheerful and helpful. My room had an interesting very large painting of a surfer. There was plenty of drawer and closet space. The bathroom was clean and fresh, with nice wallpaper and light fixtures, and a magnifying mirror. Loved the cabinets below the sink- great storage space. Turn down service with a little chocolate at night. Bottles of water and a fruit bowl were kept stocked in the room. The refrigerator was small, with no freezer section, but totally adequate for me. Cookies are set out in the lobby each afternoon. The breakfast area has a nice selection of muffins, croissants, toast, bagel sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, some cereals, including oatmeal, and juices, coffee and tea. The upstairs deck is really great for hanging out with a great view of marina areas and ocean. It's an under-5-minute walk across the street to the ocean beach, and a 10-15min. walk to the boardwalk/shops area. Wi-Fi in-room is included and works well. TV is adequate size with some on-demand options. There is also a selection film/DVDs that you can check out for free and watch in-room. Parking is provided, and if no space is available on premises, they plug the meter at the metered area just next to their building. A very pleasant stay. This is a keeper!

Room Tip: I was on the second floor out of three. There were no issues with noise from surrounding rooms. Tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for coming to stay with us. We always appreciate it when guests are able to enjoy all that we have on offer - if you can think of anything else that we might provide for everyone's enjoyment, I'd love to hear. Thanks again and hopefully see you again see the next time you come down the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing