We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Refuge between Bay and Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“A Relaxing Refuge between Bay and Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Often, a person needs a vacation to rest after their vacation...This was not the case with our stay at the Bay Shores Hotel. This 25 room hotel has the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. From check-in through check-out, the Hotel and the city of Newport Beach provided a stress free, relaxing environment.

At check-in, we were greeted by a friendly staff and by the smell (and taste) of freshly baked cookies. The room was cozy with a nautical theme. Free internet allowed us to keep in touch. The DISH TV and DVD library provided entertainment at the end of the day.

At the breakfast nook, fresh fruit was always available. In the morning, the continental breakfast provided a great start to the day.

From the Bay Shores Hotel, the harbor was a block north and the beach was a block south. Free beach stuff--chairs, towels, boogie boards, umbrellas--was available. The hotel has a nice rooftop sundeck for those who want a little privacy.

There are many fine restaurants along Balboa Peninsula: we recommend Harborside Restaurant in the Balboa Pavilion.

We also enjoyed the Balboa Ferry ride to Balboa Island--another destination for sightseeing, food and shopping.

This was not our first--or last--stay at the Bay Shores Hotel...We'll be back...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostAndFoundSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
109
292
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

My wife and I were in the area for a friend's wedding and wanted a special weekend to ourselves after that experience. The Bay Shores did not disappoint.

The beach was adjacent to the hotel and there were many fine dinner choices nearby-almost to many. Clay especially helped us with some sage advice and assistance. In fact, all the staff went out of there way with helpful information and a friendly demeanor.

The room and all the facilities were all in great shape and clean and well-maintained. We liked the assortment of beach equipment available free and took advantage of it! The continental breakfast choices were simple yet high quality and complementary.

The ocean view is great from the roof but a partial view from our room. Really not a factor as the beach is very close by and a pier area with lots of interesting things to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
223 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed here with our two year old and loved the little touches the hotel offered like hot cookies and sand toys! The staff was friendly and had good suggestions about local restaurant options. We stayed in a third floor king room and while spotlessly clean it is a little snug with an air mattress(we brought) on the floor for my toddler, but we made it work! I would stay here again if we head back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Done_with_shoveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Me n the wife stayed here for 2 nights at the back end of our 3 week USA bonanza. We arrived from LA with the proviso of bein able to see the beach if not directly on it, we weren't dissappointed. The 'Bay Shores' is literally 50 metres from the beach and you can even see it from some rooms (for an extra price). We plumped for a room on the first floor declining the 'sea view', due to the excellent roof terrace where you can sit n enjoy a beer whilst lookin at the Pacific Ocean and the sunset in one direction or the Marina in the other. Rooms were clean and comfortable,ours had a 42in tv, breakfast was good with a wide choice on offer, fresh fruit and coffee were available all day and freshly baked cookies were available each day at 3pm mmmm. The Bay Shores has boogieboards, chairs, umberellas and towels available to use, all free of charge. Having stayed at other places in Newport Beach before, none have been as good as this one. Ralph was a true host, will definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oziinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

My wife and I wanted to spend a few days at the beach before a conference in Anaheim so we looked around to find something relatively close. Our favorite all time B&B in Dana Point (which would have been 50% more) was booked solid. So I relied on Trip Advisor and their rankings to lead us to the Bay Shores Penninsula hotel. First off, let me say that Newport Beach is not a "quiet get-away" kind of place. Lots of people, parking is very scarce (although the hotel has it's own parking), but the beaches and the staff at BSP made up for all the other little short comings. The hotel is one block off the beach. About a 2 minute walk from front door to sand.. The hotel has all the toys you'll need for a beach trip like towels, chairs, boogie boards and whatnot. All you'll need is a good book and your sunscreen. The rooms are modest, but very clean, great TV's, dvd players and a collection of about 300 movies you can check out for free at the desk. Nice little mini fridge to keep a bottle of wine and some cheese chilled and a very respectable roof top patio with lots of comfy tables and chairs that looks both onto the beach and the inner bay. Cookies at 3 p.m. every day. Yum! Breakfast is not spectacular, but it's still a decent selection of cereal, pastries, and fresh fruit. Aside from the location, the staff was the best part, especially Ralph. He could not have been more accommodating and helpful. He was more than willing to help us get acclimated to NPB, draw on the map, show us where to go, where to catch the bus or the ferry, or where to buy a few snacks to sit up on the patio. (Note to the owners: He deserves a nice raise!) The LA Times is on your door step every morning and there are little tables just outside of your door to sit and read the paper and drink your coffee. You look down on the parking lot/courtyard, but it's still quiet and relaxing..

My only negatives have nothing to do with the hotel. First off, NPB is a very busy area. We wanted to open our windows at night to catch the sea breeze, but the street noise and traffic was too much. Instead we just closed the windows and turned on the AC/fan. Second, there are not lots of restaurants or shops immediately adjacent to the hotel, but they are within walking distance. The Newport pier is about a 15 minutes away on the boardwalk with some shopping there. There's a nice restaurant that serves decent sushi and drinks and it's a nice place to sit and watch the sun set and watch the sea lions steal the bait of local fishermen. The other big shopping area with lots of restaurants is about a mile to the south near Balboa pier. It's not a bad walk, but maybe a bit too much at the end of the day. After walking down there in the evening, we took a cab ride back which cost me $7 with a tip.

If I ever need to go back to the OC area, the Bay Shores Penninsula hotel if sefinitely on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenO756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

A hotel cant get any better than this. My boyfriend brought me here to spend my 21st birthday here. As soon as we walked in we where greeted and proceeded to check in, they asked us if we wanted any movies. Thay actually have movies you can borrow while your there, we did get one and then we where offered fresh baked cookies! They make them every evening!! Anyways, staff are really on top of everything and are polite. Never used the elevators since we where only on the 2nd floor and the stairs where more convenient. They have a balcony on top of this hotel and it's just beautiful! The view is awesome and it's a perfect place to just sit down, relax, have a beer, and see the ocean.

Although the hotel itself (outside view) may look a tad bit old, the rooms have been updated and personaly I thought they where beautiful. Granite countertops in the bathroom with new fixtures and the bed was comfy.

As far as location goes, A+++ we never used the car! Everything is walking distance. Cross the street and pass a couple houses and the beach is right there. The port is also nearby (walking 7 min) Theres alot of night life, as there are many bars open by the beach at night. Food, plenty of it, almost in every corner. Grocery store and liquor store are also a couple of blocks away. Will come again!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loridmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I took three buddies here on a sportfishing trip in May that left from Newport Beach. It was great! We caught our weight in fish and had an excellent time. The hotel was clean and comfortable, plenty of nightlife in the local area and the bay and the beach were just steps from the front door. Mike, John, and myself appreciated the staff's attention to detail and they gave some great tips on food! We're planning on coming back next year for some more good times.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigfishermanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing