We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Renaissance Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Solarena, BW Premier Collection(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,802
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$546
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
513
87
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
87
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckbeach equipmentboogie boardsfresh baked cookiesafternoon cookiesacross the streetcd playersmall hotelfeed the meterwelcome cardfree beachwithin walking distancedaily newspapercity lothard boiled eggscontinental breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We just returned from a week in Southern California, including three nights at the Bayshores. I can not say enough about the hotel. On our first night at the hotel, we returned from dinner with friends to find no parking (It was St Patricks Day, and Newport Beach was very busy). The front desk representative actually came out and moved his car to give us his space. Everyone at the hotel was friendly & helpful, the location was excellent with just a short walk to the beach, reastaurants & bars, the courtyard balconies & roof deck were wonderful, and the free cookies were a nice added touch. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy place to stay in Orange County.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

But if you want a wonderful throwback to a time that was slightly more civilized, quaint and clean rooms, excellent and friendly service, and wireless and breakfast included in a very reasonable rate, then this is the place for you. Oh, and the ocean is a block away!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I stayed at the Bay Shore two years ago while attending a conference at one of the alleged 5 star hotels on Fashion Island. I was supposed to stay at the conference hotel but extended my stay so could justify the switch. As it turned out my room at the Bay Shore with views of both the bay and ocean was $60 per night LESS than at that "other place". I even messed up my reservation and booked one night less than I should have. They had every right to throw me out but graciously accommodated me in the same room!

The room was nicely done, very bed and breakfast like, and was impeccably clean. The bedding was firm and comfortable. The sleep CD and player were a nice touch. Service was outstanding especially at the front desk. The self service breakfast was cozy, clean, and well stocked with a variety of choices. The afternoon cookies were a nice touch as well. The BS hotel is an easy walk to the beaches, piers, restaurants, clubs and beach front shops. The patio on the roof is a great place to have a brew while watching the sunset. The commute to fashion Fashion Island was quick and easy and the twice daily ride on the charming 3-car ferry across the harbor was a real treat.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the place to anyone for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpccc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

And that's nothing but good! We've stayed there several times now, mixing business and leisure, and always look forward to going back to this well kept old-school fifties beach motel. These folks are in the hospitality business, not just renting rooms. The warm cookies, the video and book libraries, the rooftop deck, the gracious and accommodating staff... like a well run B&B in a motel setting.
I've stayed in a lot of places in Orange County, including some so-called resorts costing three times as much, but the Bay Shores will always be my first choice.
The Bay Shores facility may be physically modest, but they have provided a four star experience every time I've stayed there.
The parking lot is a little on the "cozy" side, so please leave your F-350, Hummer, or Escalade at home.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Often, a person needs a vacation to rest after their vacation...This was not the case with our stay at the Bay Shores Hotel. This 25 room hotel has the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. From check-in through check-out, the Hotel and the city of Newport Beach provided a stress free, relaxing environment.

At check-in, we were greeted by a friendly staff and by the smell (and taste) of freshly baked cookies. The room was cozy with a nautical theme. Free internet allowed us to keep in touch. The DISH TV and DVD library provided entertainment at the end of the day.

At the breakfast nook, fresh fruit was always available. In the morning, the continental breakfast provided a great start to the day.

From the Bay Shores Hotel, the harbor was a block north and the beach was a block south. Free beach stuff--chairs, towels, boogie boards, umbrellas--was available. The hotel has a nice rooftop sundeck for those who want a little privacy.

There are many fine restaurants along Balboa Peninsula: we recommend Harborside Restaurant in the Balboa Pavilion.

We also enjoyed the Balboa Ferry ride to Balboa Island--another destination for sightseeing, food and shopping.

This was not our first--or last--stay at the Bay Shores Hotel...We'll be back...

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostAndFoundSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews