We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgecrest, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and Comfort”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Our room was small but cozy. Extremely clean and comfortable. Free in-room wi-fi. Very cute hotel in great location. No view from room but nice from sundeck. Friendly staff. Parking is free. Will stay again. Don't be deterred by the few negative reviews!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda93555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    85
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
118
303
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flyover Country
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We have been going to Newport Beach for our yearly vacation for several years now and have made Bay Shores Inn our home away from home. The staff are friendly and accommodating and they really treat you like family. Being so close to the boardwalk and ocean is fabulous - The location is perfect! They have beach paraphernalia for guests to use, newspapers are provided and breakfast is served daily.

I highly recommend this hotel as a great choice to stay while vacationing in the Newport Beach area. If your main goal is clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a location that cannot be beat this is your hotel. I love this place!!

**One thing to watch closely for is the railing on the second and third floors. The bars are spaced quite far apart, so make sure to watch your kiddos. We've always had our kids there and have not had any problems at all, but just an FYI if you have kids.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamaneedsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This small hotel near the beach in Newport Beach is quite wonderful. Rooms are very comfortable and some have harbor views. There is a lovely rooftop with umbrella shaded tables where we ate breakfast and sipped some wine. Cleanliness seemed to be a top priority to the staff. For those of us who do not want to spend $200 a night for a room, this is a true gem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overmyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Really enjoyed our stay. The service was outstanding - from reservation to check out. Loved the clean feel and the fresh flowers in the bathroom. Afternoon cookies were great. Perfect location for our trip to Newport Beach

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StillwaterMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We just returned from a week in Southern California, including three nights at the Bayshores. I can not say enough about the hotel. On our first night at the hotel, we returned from dinner with friends to find no parking (It was St Patricks Day, and Newport Beach was very busy). The front desk representative actually came out and moved his car to give us his space. Everyone at the hotel was friendly & helpful, the location was excellent with just a short walk to the beach, reastaurants & bars, the courtyard balconies & roof deck were wonderful, and the free cookies were a nice added touch. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy place to stay in Orange County.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

But if you want a wonderful throwback to a time that was slightly more civilized, quaint and clean rooms, excellent and friendly service, and wireless and breakfast included in a very reasonable rate, then this is the place for you. Oh, and the ocean is a block away!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I stayed at the Bay Shore two years ago while attending a conference at one of the alleged 5 star hotels on Fashion Island. I was supposed to stay at the conference hotel but extended my stay so could justify the switch. As it turned out my room at the Bay Shore with views of both the bay and ocean was $60 per night LESS than at that "other place". I even messed up my reservation and booked one night less than I should have. They had every right to throw me out but graciously accommodated me in the same room!

The room was nicely done, very bed and breakfast like, and was impeccably clean. The bedding was firm and comfortable. The sleep CD and player were a nice touch. Service was outstanding especially at the front desk. The self service breakfast was cozy, clean, and well stocked with a variety of choices. The afternoon cookies were a nice touch as well. The BS hotel is an easy walk to the beaches, piers, restaurants, clubs and beach front shops. The patio on the roof is a great place to have a brew while watching the sunset. The commute to fashion Fashion Island was quick and easy and the twice daily ride on the charming 3-car ferry across the harbor was a real treat.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend the place to anyone for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpccc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,527 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,368 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing