We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Previous Reviews Were Right On...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Previous Reviews Were Right On...”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Just spent one night at the Bay Shores to see if it might be a spot to bring family. The staff was great, and the home-like feeling are nice touches. We brought a couple of movies to the room since the weather turned cold and found the lending library to be very complete! The breakfast is pretty standard fair for no-cook style breakfast, the cookies in the evening a nice touch and all of the beach equipment to borrow would have been wonderful, but it was too cold and windy to enjoy the day on the beach other than a nice run during midday. The location is really great and the beach is pretty. The room we had was fairly small, but we expected that. The old hotel elevator with the cage door is fun and the sun decks would be great for an extended stay. I really feel this hotel goes the extra mile in service and trying to create something special and yet affordable. I will say that the walls are VERY thin and our neighbors came in super late and left very early and banged and boomed so loudly our sleep was interrupted twice in one night until they calmed down and lowered their voices and stopped putting things in drawers. It almost sounded like a work crew was in the next room if you didn't know better. The check-out is early (11am) and the wireless did not work on the third floor the entire stay so if you don't mind using a cord for internet, that's not really a problem, just something to mention. The hotel is charming and the staff helpful and friendly. I really liked what they are trying to do at this hotel. Very nice "extras" at a reasonable price and the best location in Newport Beach in this price range!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautifulWorld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
115
298
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Across the street from beach and miles of walking and biking....awesome beach spot.
Ferry trip to Balboa island fun with walking and shops.
This is a must stay if you are not wanting a huge hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2NHtravelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Bay Shores is a hidden jewel. From the moment we made our reservation until we checked out, this was an awesome experience. From the outside, you may be curious what you are getting into, but pull on into the parking lot and you will find what awaits you. Ralph, John and Clay are so courteous and helpful, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, breakfast is plentiful, coffee is good, daily newspaper, afternoon cookies and the incredible rooftop sundeck looking at the bay and the ocean is incredible. No need to bring anything except your bathing suit and sunscreen as they provide the rest!

The location is great as you are just steps from the ocean and within walking distance to the pier or even down to the fun zone.

We will be back to stay as you really can not find a better location, service and amenities. We stayed in a double room the first night and then moved to a family suite for the next 5 nights. Both rooms were great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

All of the reviews on Trip Advisor are so correct. This is a charming hotel. The room was spacious. The kids loved the big plasma flat screen tv (when they were ever in the room!). The hotel offers a large selection of DVDs, for free. The hotel also had all of the beach stuff that we needed, towels, boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas, etc. It is only a few steps to the beach.

The morning breakfast was well stocked and quite extensive. The afternoon fresh baked cookies were delicious.

The fourth floor sun deck is a great place to sit and enjoy watching both the beach and the bay.

Also, Ralph, John and Clay, at the front desk, are wonderful and very helpful.

We will be back again. It was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We had a wonderful stay at The Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel and would highly recommend it. It was small and quaint. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel provides everything for an outing to the beach. The staff was wonderful too! They were so helpful with suggestions for restaurants in the area. We would definitely go back to this hotel. It is a true gem!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaches56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We were very pleased with our choice to stay here. Reading the reviews of fellow travelers on this site influenced the decision greatly. Normally I shy away from anything billed as less than luxury, but we took the plunge and didn't regret it! Close to the beach too! Not much to look at from the outside, but the welcoming and casual atmosphere, clean and nicely appointed hotel, and friendly staff were great. The small touches like good in-room coffee, a nice little complimentary breakfast spread and a newspaper waiting on your doorstep each morning were a welcome bonus. They also have a movie library you can borrow from, beach stuff for guests to take out, and a computer/printer in the lobby for guest use. One note for the ladies: bring your own hair dryer. The one provided was w-e-a-k, much to my girlfriend's disappointment. I confess I'm spoiled and missed some of the space and amenities offered by the larger, fancier places that I usually lean towards. For what this place is though, it has to be among the very best! I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We have been staying at the Bay Shores at least once a year for the past 8 years and have always found it to be a comfort zone for us. From chocolate chip cookies from the oven daily at 4, wonderful choices for breakfast, spotless rooms, all types of beach equipment, free DVD's, and accommodating staff (most, if not all, of whom have been there since we first started visiting), this is a hotel that provides a place to look forward to visiting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
3.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing