We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private drive beautiful grounds and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 November 2013

First stay at Hyatt Newport and will not be our last. Affordably priced resort atmosphere, convenient to highway or the beach. Bungalow styled layout. Three pools and activities good layout for conferences. The hotel entrance is understated the rooms were updated and most have balconies to enjoy a view of the palm trees one o the pools or even the golf course. Play a game of chess with oversized chess pieces in the front courtyard or find a relaxing lounge chair by the pool to relax and enjoy the serene surroundings. Restaurant has a overall good menu would have liked a juice bar at breakfast. And a buffer. The eggs Benadict is to die for. Front bar features Starbucks coffee all day for coffee lovers who need their fix in the morning. A definite repeat visit in store traveling for work I would have no problems meeting a client at the hotel restaurant for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allready2goru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,530 - 1,536 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Most Hyatt Regencies are a step above the run-of-the-mill Hyatt properties. The Hyatt Regency Newport Beach falls far short. While the public areas are generally well kept, and somewhat above average, the rooms are very disappointing. and below even Holiday Inn standards. With so many other choices in Newport Beach, you could (and would) do far better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was here for business. Great location but the parking is far away from the rooms. I wasn't happy about the charge of $22.00 for self parking and $36.00 for valet. This should be included since the parking is inconvenient, 10 minute walk to most rooms. I'd stay here for a good value if I was on vacation and didn't have a car. I'm not sure I'll stay again on a business trip.

The breakfast was excellent and the room I stayed in was just refreshed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Balboa wing were just refreshed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and two of our children stayed here for a little celebration for our 8-year-old. It was what he wanted for his birthday: A night in a hotel!

This place is really a great place for family with little ones. They have several pools to choose from, and the main pool has a water park for the kids, a slide for the kids and a putting green for the kids. It really allowed us to be able to just do our thing and let the kids be kids.

The staff is pretty awesome there as well. We lost our sweaters somewhere there and the VIP Manager reached out to me, to see if she could help locate them. She sent me the phone number and email of the main housekeeper and they really did their best at finding the sweaters.

Really great stuff! Well done Hyatt!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms off the main pool with the slide, if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel has an excellent location on the Bay. It has a very relaxed atmosphere. I was here for business and it was an ideal location for business. But, you should add some additional time for check/out, etc. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The staff and their service was excellent. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was difficult to see the resort features of this Hyatt Regency. But then again, if one's staying there on business, it's quite possible to miss much of what someone would look for in a resort. Rooms exit to the outdoors about the large, unused pool. Depending on your room location, it can be quite a hike to get to either the lobby of the facility or self-parking area. The exercise one gets from the long walks around the facility will make up for the broken treadmills in the fitness room! Anyone trying to get to LAX needs to plan plenty of time for checkout, as this must be accomplished in the main lobby and the delay apparently can be quite long (as evidenced by the line markers). It took me about 15 minutes to check out, resulting in additional stress in trying to race back to the airport during LA rush hour. Hotel staff indicated that this should be expected with this hotel. Once again, not really a relaxing experience for a harried business traveler.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the lobby or parking, depending on where you will need to be most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is more like a resort with multiple buildings, multiple pools, tennis, golf, etc. In general, the grounds are well maintained and the landscaping is very pretty. The rooms are nice and what you would expect from this level of hotel - they're not as luxurious as some more expensive hotels but they are comfortable and clean.

I stayed in the Bay Building and we had a very large room with a king bed and a large bathroom. There was also a set of bunk-beds in our room which we did not use, but I'm sure would have been nice if you were traveling with children. Our room was right by the largest of the 3 pools. It had a hot tub, water slide, spray park, cabanas, and ping pong table. They played music all day that could be heard inside the rooms. I really enjoyed this area and thought it had a nice atmosphere. However, if you don't want to have music playing or many children running around I would recommend one of the other buildings.

Another group in our party stayed in the Lido building. This building also has its own pool and hot tub. It was much quieter in this area, although I also felt like the grounds around this pool could use an update. The group that stayed in the Lido building paid extra in order to have a "bay view." You could see the bay from their room, but the view was obscured by a parking lot and some other buildings. It is not worth it to pay extra for the view. Their room was smaller than ours, although it did have a balcony that some people might enjoy.

I used the gym a couple of times, which included some treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, and weights. Basic but more than satisfactory. We ate at the restaurant once and the bar once and both meals were actually very good. Normally I hate eating at resorts but I was impressed by the food here.

While this isn't a luxurious 5 star hotel, it is a great resort that has something for everyone, whether your'e traveling as a couple, with children, on business, or hosting an event. The grounds are huge and have lots of activities to offer. The rooms are more than adequate. I was very impressed by the staff who were always extremely helpful and responsive to any requests. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank JenMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £125 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing