We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, bleh hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt for a meeting. The location is pretty good and staff was great. Ate here several time and the catering was consistently excellent.

There were several little things that didn't I didn't expect from a Hyatt Regency. The room wasn't cleaned well (m&ms and some change under the desk) and the ironing board cover was so wrinkled that it was essentially useless for straightening clothes. The worst part was the noise level. Noise from the courtyard and the other rooms was quite objectionable. My #1 need from a hotel is to be able to sleep on my schedule (early to bed, early to rise) and I wasn't able to do that.

They're in the middle of some remodeling, Maybe it will be nicer when they're done.

Room Tip: stay away from the ampetheater
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keatingclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry to hear that we didn’t fully meet your expectations. I will speak to my housekeeping team so we may use this as a coaching tool. We are currently remolding our Stay Fit Fitness Center. This will be finished in a couple weeks. I'm very sorry you were inconvenienced by any noise. Please feel free to reach out to me or any other front office manager upon your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful resort for 5 nights while attending a conference. The staff was just wonderful, there with whatever anyone needed. I heard other attendees say, they are there with what we need, before we even know we need it! the rooms were lovely, and well appointed. There were multiple swimming pools, one specifically for family use so if you wanted quiet time by the pool, you could enjoy it. There is lots of space to relax both indoors and out, the grounds were just beautiful and the whole property very well kept. can't say enough good about the place and my stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fittorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for responding about us on Trip Advisor! I'm so glad to hear that you had a great experience. We offer 3 pools that are completely different. We hope there is something that each guest will enjoy. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Newport Beach! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved our stay in Southern California, far preferable to the madness of LA. Spacious resort with nicely landscaped grounds, three good pools, lots of activities, excellent, friendly staff. 15 minute walk to he lovely balboa Island and was about a 45 minute drive down from LAX. Highly recommended for family holiday in his area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your great response! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! I'm happy you were able to enjoy all the amenities we offer on property. We hope to see you on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Six night stay for work/vacation. The staff from the front door, front desk, restaurants, and housekeeping are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, modern, and fresh. Beds are very comfortable and linens are very nice. Even the pillows are comfortable. Restaurants on site have a nice variety to choose from although a little pricey however this is California. Coffee provided in the room was actually pleasant unlike the Starbucks that most resorts provide. Iron, ironing board, refrigerator, safe, hairdryer and coffee maker were provided for use in the room.

Room Tip: Pool side has an awesome view and it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Furgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear you had a nice time with us on your vacation/work trip! We have recently just changed our menu in the lobby lounge and SHOR. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here for a week attending a work conference. Great atmosphere. Lovely grounds and pool.
Shuttle to and from John Wayne airport...free. Nice bar and restaurant area. Great meeting facilities for the conference. Close to Huntington Beach as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtohExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your great response on Trip Advisor! I'm happy to hear that you had a great time at your conference with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and had a wonderful stay. Staff were great and we really felt welcomed. The hotel has been renovated so rooms and public places were nice and modern. It has access to back bay which meant lots of morning runs in the sunshine. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mekongarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and felt as though I was on a mini vacation. The grounds are beautiful and the room was lovely, as it overlooked the pool. The staff was notvthe friendliest I've encountered but they weren't rude either. This would be a great family spot in the summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3RMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your great feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t experience the best service possible from our staff. I will make sure our guest service teams reads your feedback so we may use this as a coaching tool for the future. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,029 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,599 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,552 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £115 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing