We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating despite being full”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had reservations for Friday - Monday and had requested a bay view room. The first night none was available, but was given a nice room on the top floor. I got a phone call Saturday AM to state the Bay view room was available and requested permission to move my belongings to the new room. When we arrived back to the hotel, I got the new keys and everything was moved into a nice Bay view room.

Room Tip: The Bay view rooms are quieter as the other rooms face the pool which can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robininfresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Let me start off by saying that the property is renovated and very pretty. The rooms are average at best, more motel-like than hotel-like, but the property is nice with a par 3 golf course, nice pools, a volleyball court, shuffle board, etc. So the landscape and property is fairly nice but that is where the good stops, and that is certainly not enough to qualify as an acceptable hotel.

The service was good at check-in but plummeted downward like a plane without engine support after that. Here are some examples: I went to the restaurant for breakfast, nobody waited on us as we sat at our table for 30 minutes -- we walked out. I called the for our car valet, there was no answer. I called room service wanting a simple meal, there was no answer. I called the bellman wanting to have our bags retrieved, there was no answer.

Now bear in mind that this string of no answers lasted for more than an hour from 11-noon on a weekday, so we're no talking about a simple mistake here. No, we're talking about a ghost hotel. About a hotel inhabited and apparently serviced by those little white creatures resembling Casper, but not friendly because they are illusory and you can never track them down for assistance. Not my idea of a quality hotel, as I prefer to have actual human beings around to tend to things such as room service, etc.

So the Hyatt Newport is essentially a renovated old motel on a nice property with very little service to office, but with plenty of phones that ring endlessly to no avail. I can't say it is Tower of Terror-like, as I was successful eventually in checking out and moving on to establishments that actually provide service to paying customers, but it is an overwhelmed facility with staff that apparently cannot keep up with the mild mid-week demand of an average crowd of guest.

Room Tip: Stay away from Lido if possible, it is far from having any views and essentially a hub for the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a big place, so be prepared to walk some.
We stayed 3 nights and have an 8 and 12 yr old- it was fine for them

The good:
Room is comfortable with mini fridge, flat screen, really comfy beds
Total of 3 pools, one with a water slide that our youngest loved
Friendly staff
You can charge to your room, which our boys liked to get their slushies
Feels like a resort and has many activities to do - good ones too like giant chess, shuffleboard, poolside movie night, volleyball and more

The less than good:
- The first day we returned to our room , no one had cleaned it ;(, we called the front desk and they said they would be happy to send someone right away- we understand it happens, and their offer was fair

Overall it was a great stay, and would definitely stay again


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Texasthumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our second stay at the Hyatt. We stayed in room 635 and it was an excellent room because it was somewhat larger than most rooms and it had bunk beds which our kids enjoyed. The room overlooked the swimming pool.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank A5Boyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Should have gone with the Marriott. Booked a great room and arrived to much less. Overpriced. Booked a room with a bay view and got the old bait and switch. Room with a view...of white event tents and pool noise.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry you didn’t receive a Bay View room. If you stay with us again, please reach out to me so I may better assist you.

Best,
Sarah Morris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The ground of the hotel are really good with interesting things to do. Nice pools and gym. The concierge, the valet parking folks and rest of the staff were so helpful and friendly that they made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were all right, although the screens on the doors to the balcony were old and should be replaced. Beds and room amenities were not up to Hyatt standards. Rooms could use an update; they looked somewhat old. Food and service in the hotel restaurant was very good. The valet parking fee was very expensive. Good location for accessing the Pacific Coast Highway and various attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smfBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

They needed our two bed room for something else, so we got the opportunity to upgrade. It was a king bed room, and we had to put an extra bed in. With the room it followed a number of amenities, which was great. We also found out that the room had a great view. That was also great.

But 22 dollars for self-park is a fail. The resort fee disease has also infected this hotel. There is no reason not to include this in the total when you reserve the hotel room. It is just a stupid practice.

Other than that it was a good hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Oslo_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £125 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing