We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beware the Villas”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I was here for a conference and the room was free for me but it seems like 100% of my fellow attendees had a balcony or patio--which I would expect at a beachside hotel. Not me...I was in the upstairs of one of the Villas. I think these are designed to be the room you stick the kids or your freeloading brother-in-law in if you rent the whole Villa. So while the main room had access to the private pool and the front bedroom got a big terrace, I got bupkis. Plus, the room layout is stupid. There's an armoire where the TV should be and the TV is off to the left and hard to see from the bed. There were two closets...why? The only place to plug the coffee machine in was the bedside table...really? My martini was $17, yowza! I'm sure it's a nice place if you get a good room but I recommend asking a lot of questions about what you are getting.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank BethAnnSH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    488
    257
    143
    56
See reviews for
482
332
42
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was an excellent venue for a small conference. The bar was a great place to meet and network during the conference and the food was great. The hotel is also very close to great restaurants. I would have loved to have utilized the pools and other facilities at the hotel but didn't have time unfortunately. Looks like a great place to bring the family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for three nights and it was a pleasant place with some minor drawbacks. There was an odd smell in our building. The rooms were fairly comfortable, but set up weird. For example, there is a vinyl loveseat in a niche at the end of the room facing the wall with no view of the TV. The toilet is right across from the bathroom counter. I am wondering if the place used to be a retirement center, since there is shuffleboard and a golf course on location and smells slightly like it. All the rooms in our building had a balcony or patio. The food at the bar was good, especially the wings and the bar has a very nice ambience. Disappointed with the service. They were definitely under staffed for the bar and pool at a very obviously peak season, but no one seemed to notice.

Room Tip: Ground floor has patios in the Balboa building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zona805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Newport Hyatt is a great location for visitors or locals on a "stay cation." The rooms are basic, but have all that you need. With their resort fee it now includes wifi for up to 6 devices, golf on their 3 par adjoining course, and an hour bike ride. The only downside to the hotel is their restaurant menu. While I appreciate that they have healthy options, and some fine dining choices, they lack the basics. If you are staying there multiple nights they really should add some easy choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Room20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I had to stay here due to his corporate rate policy. I read the many reviews about this place and was very hesitant about going there but after staying there two nights, I think I can sum it up by saying it depends on what you are looking for.

The Hyatt is great for families. There is so much to do for kids and the place is very "active". If you are a couple looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place for you. Also, if you are looking for luxury accommodations, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for nice accommodations at a nice value with good service, then great. I think this sums up all of the reviews from my perspective.

When we arrived very late on check in, we were told that they had no more King rooms and only could offer a double. We figured all would be okay. Well, the doubles are SO tiny!! My husband and I would have had to sleep in separate beds. And, the comments about the noise was very true. We were on the bottom floor and the kids above us were stomping away. We were anxiously trying to find another alternative hotel. BUT, the staff was very helpful and offered to have a King room waiting for us after dinner with all of our bags moved. And, they offered us breakfast to help with the trouble. So, can't argue with that type of service.

After all of this hustle and bustle, we settled in with better expectations and we were fine. I do have to agree that they should wipe out that back building (Lido I believe) all together and rebuild because I have not stayed in a "motel-like" place in quite some time. Maybe 1968. I don't want to sound snobby here but I just don't like rooms that have doors directly to the outside. I feel it to be a security risk.

So, summing this place up... I agree it is not to normal Hyatt standards but based on the value you get, it is "okay" especially for families.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Lido from my perspective. Also, if you are a couple stay away from the pool slid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had reservations for Friday - Monday and had requested a bay view room. The first night none was available, but was given a nice room on the top floor. I got a phone call Saturday AM to state the Bay view room was available and requested permission to move my belongings to the new room. When we arrived back to the hotel, I got the new keys and everything was moved into a nice Bay view room.

Room Tip: The Bay view rooms are quieter as the other rooms face the pool which can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robininfresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Let me start off by saying that the property is renovated and very pretty. The rooms are average at best, more motel-like than hotel-like, but the property is nice with a par 3 golf course, nice pools, a volleyball court, shuffle board, etc. So the landscape and property is fairly nice but that is where the good stops, and that is certainly not enough to qualify as an acceptable hotel.

The service was good at check-in but plummeted downward like a plane without engine support after that. Here are some examples: I went to the restaurant for breakfast, nobody waited on us as we sat at our table for 30 minutes -- we walked out. I called the for our car valet, there was no answer. I called room service wanting a simple meal, there was no answer. I called the bellman wanting to have our bags retrieved, there was no answer.

Now bear in mind that this string of no answers lasted for more than an hour from 11-noon on a weekday, so we're no talking about a simple mistake here. No, we're talking about a ghost hotel. About a hotel inhabited and apparently serviced by those little white creatures resembling Casper, but not friendly because they are illusory and you can never track them down for assistance. Not my idea of a quality hotel, as I prefer to have actual human beings around to tend to things such as room service, etc.

So the Hyatt Newport is essentially a renovated old motel on a nice property with very little service to office, but with plenty of phones that ring endlessly to no avail. I can't say it is Tower of Terror-like, as I was successful eventually in checking out and moving on to establishments that actually provide service to paying customers, but it is an overwhelmed facility with staff that apparently cannot keep up with the mild mid-week demand of an average crowd of guest.

Room Tip: Stay away from Lido if possible, it is far from having any views and essentially a hub for the gym.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is saving a lot of energy because they have trained all of their staff to never answer phones or to physically wait on customers in restaurants. They quite possibly may be turning off all electricity next, as this will move their environmentally-friendly status to new lofty levels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
989 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
492 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing