We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Sumptuous Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
Newport Beach, California, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel with Sumptuous Food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hyatt Regency Newport Beach has been a great option for family travelers. The location is great as it is close to the beach. There are a lot of activities for adults and kids a like such as the pool with water slide, 9 hole golf, tennis, outdoor (huge) chess, table tennis and biking among others. Food has been great wherein KUDOS to chef Sean Leone for his innovative cuisine as well as to chef Leo Gianulis for a creating a perfect healthy and yet appetizing menu at Shor Restaurant. Staff has been friendly and courteous from the front desk, restaurant and room service.

If someone who would like to have a great time in Orange County, I will highly suggest staying at the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are strategically situated in areas where you will be able to enjoy all the facets of...
See more room tips
Green Features: I've seen some eco-friendly trash bins which is ideal for the environment
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your great review on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed SHOR restaurant. Our Chefs always working on creating new items for our menu. We hope to see you again at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    448
    225
    113
    45
See reviews for
415
294
38
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency New Port beach for only one night. This was after we left our 5 day stay at the Omni in San Diego. I decided to book at the Hyatt Regency last minute because I wasn't ready for our Summer vacation to end. Our stay was just ok, there is a resort fee & parking fee. Rooms are furnished nicely but the property itself is showing it's older age. We were bummed out that the pool slide was closed pretty early and that was actually the deciding factor in me choosing this resort. My boys ages 5 and 8 still enjoyed the pool anyway and my 5 year old swam for the first time without his life vest. Staff put on a family movie night at the pool. We didn't stay to watch it because it was getting cold and there was a wedding going on outside and it was pretty loud. My husband and I used the spa and it was a nice way to unwind for the night before driving back home to Suisun Ca. The resort wasn't all that memorable and I wouldn't book it again. I wish I would have booked at the Hyatt Regency in Huntington Beach instead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeslieIvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t have a memorable experience with us at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach. Our slide is open every day at 11am-6pm. I will make sure to pre-shift our pool attendants to make sure we are keeping the slide open to that time daily. Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night 3 day stay at the Hyatt Newport and had a wonderful time with the kids. At check in, they wheeled out a wagon filled with toys so that each child could pick something. Each child also received a plastic hyatt cup so they could get free drinks at the pool. The rooms were very comfortable and the crib(pack 'n play) came with a johnson and johnson's travel box of shampoo and lotion. They kids pool was great. There was a huge water slide, water shooters, mini golf, and a huge pool that was 3.5 feet at the shallow end. There is a cute play area across the street from the hotel (where self parking is)- with a couple of small slides, teeter totter and swings. I'd say good for kids 5 and under. Fashion Island is a 5 min drive and has a ton of nicer restaurants as well as a great food court. It also has a Whole Foods Grocery.
Upon check out, they gave us some salt water taffies that the kids enjoyed. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel- especially those with kids! We had a wonderful time and Helena who works at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and went out of her way a number of times to help make our stay that much more memorable. Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback! It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We are very happy that your kids were able to choose a toy from our welcome wagon! We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When you arrive at this hotel, you will be happy with the settings and its garden; however, once you get to the room, it is very very small. I guess this Hyatt acquired few very old hotel and refurbished. SO you will see the room is very small and many signs of old hotel. The swimming pool looks great in the website but they are just average. It is located in the back bay, it looks nice in the website but the beach is dirty.

One bad feature is the ceiling is only 8 ft, as a 6' person, low ceiling gave me feeling claustrophobic.

Another annoying thing is the internet is NOT free. For 3-4 start hotel, requiring to pay internet is very lame.


not very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: if you can get other hotel or resort, do not choose this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We no longer charge for Internet in our guestrooms. Our Internet is now included in the resort fee which also includes many other concessions such as golf, bike rentals, beach rentals, access to our shuttle, complimentary printing station, ipad rentals, local and 800 calls, and kids cups with complimentary re-fills. We hope you were able to enjoy our amenities we offer on property! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a really good hotel with excellent facilities, lovely refurbished spacious rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. Loved the pool areas, grounds and gym. We had a lovely room but unfortunately not a good view facing the car park. As our holiday company had incorrectly cancelled our booking we were just so happy the staff pulled out all the stops to make sure we had a room at a time when the hotel was full, so didn't complain about the view. The only negative is that the hotel caters for a lot of corporate events so we found the bar full in the evening with a particular group, and it didn't feel like a holiday bar. The hotel restaurant is also very good although we found it a bit pricey

Room Tip: Ask to not have a room facing the car park. I think all other rooms have some sort of view, be it g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It has been beautifully refurbished, the pools are fantastic, and the staff are so friendly and so helpful - especially Katie, Helena & Joe. We were given a fantastic room with a balcony in the Catalina building on the top floor overlooking the quiet pool. It was really lovely. And if you have forgotten anything they pretty much have everything you might need - nothing was any trouble. The food is great, there is also a Starbucks in the morning and the bar is fab. It's lovely to eat/have a glass of wine out on the terrace with the palm trees! The kids loved the family pool, especially the water slide and the kids activities which were free every friday/sat while we were there. The shuttle buses to Balboa and Fashion Island were so handy and such a brilliant idea for guests. The only negative I would have about this hotel is that some of the rooms do over look the car park and I think perhaps the hotel could maybe put up some kind of attractive screening for guests. They have put in so much effort this hotel and it all is so lovely, that it seems a shame that some guests should have to look at a car park during their stay. I would have been very disappointed if we had been given these rooms, although I'm sure that they are very nice inside. The only other thing is that during their 'concert series' at the hotel they use a few of their top floor rooms as 'concert boxes' on a friday night - of which we were opposite. It seemed very inappropriate to us, to use actual hotel rooms in this way, and although it wasn't a massive deal & only for a couple hours, it felt intrusive having our bedroom just opposite these functions and then having drunk people make a ton of noise as they were leaving at 10pm. Crazy! HOWEVER, all in all a brilliant hotel and I would definitely recommend it. It is also in a great location to explore California - Disney is about 20 mins away and it took us 1hr to get to LA, and we had a great drive down the coast to San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsBels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! We do host a summer night concert series on Friday evenings every week in the summer. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by people attending sky boxes for the concert. If you stay with us again, I would highly recommend the Balboa Building for your stay because it has great views of our golf course and pool, yet is away from the lobby and the concert so you can have peace and quiet. Feel free to reach out to me directly if you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel with an excellent and very accommodating staff. I had gone on a fishing trip and they were nice enough to store my big catch of fresh tuna in their freezer for a couple of days! Great location as it is close to Balboa and Fashion Island. Just the ideal spot in Newport that I plan on visiting again soon. The people at the bar are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
933 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3,149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
557 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing