We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Incredible!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband came here on business and I came with him. We stayed in the Balboa wing in room 814 facing the golf course. We had a king room with balcony. The room was a very comfortable size and the furniture/amenities up to date. It was nice sitting out on the balcony relaxing in the early morning. The pool for the Balboa wing was very nicely appointed..Towels were provided and many comfortable upholstered cabana lounger's..The grounds are immaculate..so many nooks and crannies for quiet reading or resting amongst the tropical tree's. The SHOR restaurant is too high priced..We sat down to dinner, saw the prices and offerings and promptly got up and left. I took advantage of the lobby bar breakfast which gave choices of fruit, oatmeal, many breads and.pastries, juices, etc and Starbucks...It was not included in the rate, but this type of breakfast suited me to a "t". Self parking at $22.is mind blowing..especially when you have a steep hill to walk to and from your vehicle..There is a convenience phone you can use at the bottom of the hill at the parking lot for hotel staff can come and pick you up to take you back up to the hotel....All and all, this is an incredible venue..a stone's throw from the airport, Balboa Island and the Peninsula..We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muddycreek54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review! It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    485
    256
    143
    55
See reviews for
477
331
42
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We planned a family trip over the Fourth of July with four other families. Overall the trip was great. The food was solid, there was plenty to do for the 7 kids we had that were under 9 years old with the water slide, movie by the pool, and easy access to the back bay. The rooms were a bit small but updated and very clean, as you can tell they spent some money updating the property.

The only complaint I have is that they did not have enough servers around the pool. I saw managers (3 of them) standing around telling the servers what to do and where to go instead of jumping in and helping them out. On a busy weekend like that, I would imagine it would be better to have more indians than chiefs.

It is a great hotel for a staycation, or if you are in town for business, it seems like a pretty business traveler friendly hotel as well. I recommend the hotel, and plan on going back for a quick weekend trip with my wife and 3 boys soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for spending July 4th with us! It’s great to hear that you had a nice time with your family! We have already began planning for the next holiday weekend to make sure we manage our pools better and have more staff! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a well located resort. Rooms have been renovated to typical corporate Hyatt standards...you know what you are getting with them, they are clean. The hotel was built in the 60's; and the exterior, walkways, small lobby, landscaping and pool area are in dire need of renovation. There are three wings, one of which looks like a cheap motel: dreary, drab. The pool area is in the center of this under landscaped area, and the cheap lounge chairs look out onto a sea of chipped painted exterior dull hallways and housekeeping carts. Very depressing. Brick walkways from the 60's are cracked; the lobby is the coffee shop, no nice place to sit. Other wings are a little better, but no part of the place is crisp.
Service is fair...they lost our dry cleaning, the check-in had no idea what the package we had ordered (clear on the Hyatt web site) offered, breakfast came in pieces. The staff is friendly, just not well trained.
Special shout out to Jessica in the dining room-- super friendly and helpful above and beyond her role.


Newport Coast is beautiful; Balboa is family fun. Fashion Island is high end/corporate/retail/dining. We wouldn't go back to this hotel as it is. If you don't want to spend the money for the Resort at Pelican Hill, which is three stars above the Hyatt, try Marriott Newport Coast Villas.


And yes, the $19 resort fee is a joke. Internet is super slow.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the motel wing. Many of the better rooms face the parking lot, rather than the golf c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience with us. We do offer 4 different buildings on property. Two buildings have an exterior entrance. I'm sorry that you didn’t find our resort fee beneficial. We offer many amenities such as Internet, golf bike rentals, shuttle service, bottled etc. to make the resort as cost effective as possible. If you stay with us again, please reach out to me personally so I may better assist you in the future.

Best,
Sarah Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights over a weekend. After getting the "Diamond" treatment at other Hyatt properties (upgraded room, complimentary drinks, Regency club, waived fees), this hotel was cold and impersonal. Charged us 48 cents somehow for breakfasts. Even newer rooms are small and unspectacular. $22/day for self park 10 minutes from one's room seems egregious, but they were willing to waive the resort fee. I'm not sure what the resort fee covers.

That being said, children had a good time - the pools are decent sized and there is a nice lobby to relax in (if you are willing to be asked every ten minutes if you need a drink or something to eat).

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the older part of the hotel or those with A/C units on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor! I'm glad to hear your kids enjoyed our pools! Our resort fee includes many concessions that are great for families to take advantage of. We offer complimentary golf,2 hour bike rentals, a shuttle service to John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, and Balboa Island, complimentary 800 calls, beach valet kits and so much more! If you stay with us again, feel free to reach out to me so I can better assist you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just left after a weeks stay everything was excellent we had emailed before arrival requesting rooms we had stayed in before,They had sorted it out & we got our rooms
Nothing was a problem all staff friendly,Pool for the kids was very good, rooms all good,will definatly be returning A++++++++++

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We can’t wait to see you again at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hyatt Regency Newport Beach has been a great option for family travelers. The location is great as it is close to the beach. There are a lot of activities for adults and kids a like such as the pool with water slide, 9 hole golf, tennis, outdoor (huge) chess, table tennis and biking among others. Food has been great wherein KUDOS to chef Sean Leone for his innovative cuisine as well as to chef Leo Gianulis for a creating a perfect healthy and yet appetizing menu at Shor Restaurant. Staff has been friendly and courteous from the front desk, restaurant and room service.

If someone who would like to have a great time in Orange County, I will highly suggest staying at the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms are strategically situated in areas where you will be able to enjoy all the facets of...
See more room tips
Green Features: I've seen some eco-friendly trash bins which is ideal for the environment
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma Lourdes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your great review on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed SHOR restaurant. Our Chefs always working on creating new items for our menu. We hope to see you again at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisun City, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency New Port beach for only one night. This was after we left our 5 day stay at the Omni in San Diego. I decided to book at the Hyatt Regency last minute because I wasn't ready for our Summer vacation to end. Our stay was just ok, there is a resort fee & parking fee. Rooms are furnished nicely but the property itself is showing it's older age. We were bummed out that the pool slide was closed pretty early and that was actually the deciding factor in me choosing this resort. My boys ages 5 and 8 still enjoyed the pool anyway and my 5 year old swam for the first time without his life vest. Staff put on a family movie night at the pool. We didn't stay to watch it because it was getting cold and there was a wedding going on outside and it was pretty loud. My husband and I used the spa and it was a nice way to unwind for the night before driving back home to Suisun Ca. The resort wasn't all that memorable and I wouldn't book it again. I wish I would have booked at the Hyatt Regency in Huntington Beach instead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeslieIvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you didn’t have a memorable experience with us at Hyatt Regency Newport Beach. Our slide is open every day at 11am-6pm. I will make sure to pre-shift our pool attendants to make sure we are keeping the slide open to that time daily. Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
987 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
492 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport Beach

Property: Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Address: 1107 Jamboree Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6219
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 26 beautifully landscaped acres, offering style and luxury in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Minutes to Fashion Island and Balboa Island and centrally located on Jamboree and Pacific Coast Highway providing easy access to major attractions & theme parks, local beaches and business. Ideal setting for groups and events featuring high-tech meeting space and tropical outdoor venues, this landmark hotel easily accommodates functions of all sizes. With its rich blend of Pacific, Indonesian and Mediterranean styles, the Hyatt radiates the warmth and charm of this unique beach community unlike any other hotel in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Hyatt Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing