We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok hotel ...good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ok hotel ...good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Took me a little long to write a review ... was there couple of weeks ago.. made reservation online and obviously picked the average rate .. and that is what we got an average room .... had to walk forever to get to room... the rooms are pretty nice and clean.. first night was a bad experience ... was sleeping and some kids were playing with elevators and fire extinguishers so the alarm went off so we had to evacuate rooms in the middle of the night.. not the best experience .. my son and I loved the location .. it is right in front of the mall ...we were close to restaurants and movies.... probably would return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. First and foremost, I sincerely apologize for the disruption you experienced on the first night of your stay. The safety and security of our guests is our number one priority, and when fire alarms sound, it is necessary to evacuate guests until the team is able to determine the nature of the alarm and whether it is safe for guests to be in their rooms. I can certainly understand the frustration of having this occur in the middle of the night, only to find out that there was not an actual emergency. Knowing the inconvenience this situation caused, the team made every effort the following morning to make it up to all affected guests. If we failed to connect with you and provide a satisfactory solution, I still would like to make sure we do so. Can you please send your contact information to Executive Assistant Maria Guzman at maria.guzman@marriott.com? Overall, it is great to see you enjoyed the newly-renovated guest rooms and hotel’s location across from Fashion Island. We would love for you to return next time you are in Newport Beach so that you can truly enjoy all the wonderful things the hotel has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    432
    186
    61
    35
See reviews for
193
241
56
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a definitely property to review. It's billed as a hotel, wants to be a resort and ultimately feels like neither. It's not accommodating enough for business travelers to enjoy, nor is it luxurious enough for many leisure travelers. It's not close to the water. It's not in a particularly nice location. It's just a giant, pseudo-resort that purports to be a beach hotel.

That said, it's not a terrible place to stay if life brings you to Southern California. The staff is friendly, the rooms are fine and the grounds are clean and pretty. But I'm not entirely sure who this property appeals to or who the target audience is supposed to be. I probably won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I’m pleased to hear you experienced our hospitable staff and found the property to be clean and well-maintained. Our hotel is very proud to be able to serve a variety of guests, whether it is business travelers like yourself or people looking to enjoy a relaxing vacation in one of the premier destinations in Southern California. I’m sorry we weren’t able to meet your specific needs during this stay. We take all comments as an opportunity to learn and improve, so I invite you to contact me directly with your thoughts on what we could have done to make your personal experience better or ideas that we can look to incorporate moving forward. Thank you again for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We were there for a company sponsored business trip. Some of the conference seminars were overcrowded. My thoughts are this was more the conference coordinators responsibilty more than the hotel itself. As far as the hotel, it was well maintained and in a nice location. Staff was friendly, in particular was the valet who summoned a taxi for us, provided a map of places to go, and instructed the taxi driver where to take us so we could see some of the sights on route. As far as amenties, my only issue was no mini fridge in the room. The hotel informed us they were first come first serve and they were out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bjstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at The Newport Beach Marriott hotel and Spa. The accommodations were amazing at this suite as was the view. Very comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Most comfortable bed I have slept in at any hotel. Rooms, hotel guest areas, and grounds were spotless!

My room's Balconies overlooked the Upper Newport Bay and the The Newport Beach Country Club Golf Course. Also, great views of the Beach in the distance. The staff were amazing and Very friendly and engaging with the guests. Breakfast was excellent on the concierge floor. Well managed property!

In my opinion this is the best hotel in Newport Beach and one of my very best hotel's in Orange County. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kypros73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the amazing review! Your positive comments are what every General Manager loves to see, and the experience we strive to provide every guest, every day. I’m so glad the property exceeded your expectations and you experienced our fantastic hospitality and service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Newport Beach or Orange County!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great central location. Pool is nice. Across the street from some high end shopping. It's your typical Marriott décor but definitely local to a lot of great stuff. Breakfast buffet is really good, but a bit on the pricey side.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matts2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My friend and I needed a close spot for a relaxing overnight away from the family. Newport Beach Marriott was the perfect choice!

We had a delightful check-in with a friendly Front Desk clerk who was not only personable but quite funny. He even gave us an upgrade to an ocean view room which was lovely.

Our double room was well appointed and has a refrigerator which is a bonus! We brought our own wine and water. There is also a small deck so you can enjoy the fresh ocean breezes (and critique the golfers below if you so choose).

What worked out great is the ability to walk across the street for shopping and restaurants at Fashion Island. The no-driving aspect was sure a plus.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for an upgrade to ocean view upon check-in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octwinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay. I’m thrilled to hear you and your friend received an upgraded room, making your night away even more enjoyable! I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. I know you have several hotel options in your own city, so it means even more that you chose to stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your business. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Two nights for a wedding party and all went smoothly. The pool was relaxing (except for the rap music that played all day) and we enjoyed a drink by the fire pit one evening. All very clean and comfortable. We were just across from the mall and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ocean and pool view were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPN2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieSnavely, General Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It’s wonderful to see you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend with us! Weddings are such an exciting time for everyone involved, and we love being a part of them. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of the amazing staff and cleanliness of the property. Those are two things in which we take the most pride. I also appreciate your constructive feedback about the pool music. That is something I will look at in more detail in order to ensure we’re providing the best ambience for our guests. Thank you again for your review. I hope we’re able to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 900 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6206
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid the unparalleled beauty and relaxed luxury of Newport Beach comes an inventive new concept in hospitality - and a whole new take on the Southern California lifestyle. Welcome to the $75 million redesign of the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel and Spa, where you'll find your most ambitious visions realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing