We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newport Channel Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have stayed at the Newport Channel Inn every year in March for the past five years. Brion and his staff always give me a warm welcome and make sure I have everything I need to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I really enjoy the warmth and personal hospitality of this family run business. Even the maid service is excellent and accommodating. The Inn is located just a short walk from the beach, good food (try the Big Belly Deli for some outstanding pizza and sandwiches) and great surf shop (The Froghouse).

I truly recommend the Newport Channel Inn for those of you looking for a comfortable, affordable and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seposurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

We spent a week at the Newport Channel Inn for Spring Break in 2012. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we left, drove around the city, had lunch, and came back 2 hours later. Were told room now had plumbing issues, so we were going to be put in a different room, and that room was not ready. We then trekked down to the beach...a walk, but definately worth it. Beautiful! When we came back, another hour later, room was still not ready; waited another 30 minutes to check in. When we finally got in the room, it was a large room (suite does not quite fit) with very little light. We got in, started to get settled, and then were told our original room was ready. We were given the choice of moving right then, or moving early in the a.m. as the large room was booked for the next day. Sigh. We chose to move then. Previous reviewers did say that if you were looking for a comfortable, trendy hotel, this was not it. I could totally see this as a place for teens on spring break. While it was somewhat clean, it was not cleaned every day. The furnishings are very dated. Great area as it is close to the beach, but there is a mutli lane highway right in front, so traffic noise is a problem. For a cheap trip to California, this works. Next time, we will definately spend more money on a hotel.

Room Tip: As far away from the highway as possible. In the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A buddy and I recently stayed at this location. We felt it was a great value for the money and note the following:

-The check-in was handled by the owner of the hotel. She was very helpful and suggested rooms that would quiet/optimal (noting that my friend did warn her that I write for TripAdvisor!).
-The property is essentially an old motel, like something out of the 60's. However, the rooms are in good condition and the property is well maintained (they were having carpets cleaned and other work done when we were there).
-Normally, I do not like to be on the ground floor, but the room the manager suggested was on the end, and was very quiet. Loading and unloading were easy.
-The room itself was functional and quite spacious - with a door that could be slid closed to seal off the beds from the bathroom and a small area that had a coffee machine.
-We paid roughly $90 for the room, which for this area - very near the beach - was extremely reasonable.
-The manager saw us walking outside later and came by to see how we were doing; she is genuinely concerned about the guests and is a very pleasant person.
-Overall, I thought this was a great property for the money, especially in light of its location - near the beach and walkable to some decent restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rock_of_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

we got a queen room that had a twin bed also. Room what's comfortable and clean.certainly not up scale but you're paying for location.and it is cheap for where it is located. Nearby restaurants are really good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This was great find. Right off of Pacific Coast Highway and right across the beach from the ocean. Really happy with how clean the pace was. A sigh of relief when you walk in and see. Easy access to either Newport Pier area, Balboa or Huntingto Beach. Plenty of places to eat to enjoy the beach atomsphere are within walking distance. Can't wait to stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in back our very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I purchased new bicycles recently and decided to take them to the beach and break them in;) Since the weather was still so beautiful in Newport~ we searched for an economically agreeable stay as close to the water as we could pinch! The Newport Channel Inn is literally across PCH from the ocean. There are crosswalks to man in order to get there~ but so worth it!
First off...location. As I searched for accomodations, I was literally scared of the costs of some of the 'beach close' stays. Serious money involved. I scoured Tripadvisor for something I might be able to afford. The Newport Channel filled the bill. This is a two story hotel/motel. Our stay was on the back side of the inn~ which I think was probably quieter than the front side where most of the parking, checking in, rinsing off, and movement in general was at. We had a room with one queen bed (our bed at home is a king.....but, the queen sufficed and actually, for a getaway proved more cozy). Pretty comfy bed.....Simple run of the mill spread and decor...Table and two chairs, tv, microwave, small fridge, and corner sink area with toilet/shower behind a door. Impressively clean. Seriously white shower! No bath, but, this was not necessary. Completely safe and clean......nothing fancy....nothing to worry about. Looks like brand new windows and room air conditioner. There is a room slider that we used which is sort of a separater between the bed and bathroom~ sliding this closed caused the air and or heat to be more effective. Hair dryer....and soap/shampoo...no conditioner, but hey, very good value considering.
There is a sundeck on the second floor. It is simple....plastic tables and chairs...A place to hang out and watch the sunset. Directly behind the inn is a small kids park....took our friend's grand daughter over and she played for about an hour.....The inn keeper (watch the website video) was very friendly and informative. Pulled out the map and gave us a verbal tour of bike paths and fun stuff to do along the peninsula. Not being very familiar with the area~ his insights proved very helpful. The inn also sells discounted tickets for a variety of interests. We didn't utilize the tickets~ however the inn keeper's advice about trails and the 'wedge' were helpful and we greatly appreciated his efforts at answering our questions.
We ate one night at the neighboring 'Big Belly Deli'....chop full toppings on our pizza:)....and had breakfast our last morning at Cappy's....two doors over. Both were excellent walking distance choices.....Cappy's chili omlet was better, in my husband's opinion, than Charlie's!
If this place had a jacuzzi on the sunset deck....it would completely rock!
PS: Beach towels are offered as well:)

Room Tip: We roomed on the 'back' side of the inn......less movement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel was a great value. It was located on a busy street, but our room was quiet and well appointed. The hotel is a short drive from Balboa and the downtown area and just across the street from the beach.

The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. There was no breakfast available but there was a microwave and refrigerator in our room. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. They provided a map of the area and gave tips on points of interest, restaurants, etc. When we needed help printing out boarding passes, they were happy to help us by letting us use their personal computer.

I would recommend this hotel as an affordable, comfortable, and clean option for staying in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boise123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
5 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beac...
#15 of 18 in Newport Beach
3 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,563 reviews
4 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Channel Inn

Address: 6030 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £81 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Channel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Newport Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Channel Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Channel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing