We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned - Friendly - Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Channel Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Family owned - Friendly - Great Value”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We always love it when you can find a great place to stay that is owned by a local family (and this one has been in their family for 40 years). We are happy to help keep a small family business going, especially when they are such a friendly family.

This little motel is not fancy, but it is very clean and centrally located. The grounds are well kept. There is a frig, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Most people want to spend their time out and about and at the beach, so this motel is more than adequate for making a good home base.

It is the BEST value you will find anywhere in the Newport Beach area. We were thrilled to find it, as the hotels at the beach in summer can be so overpriced that it makes it nearly impossible to find a decent place to stay affordably.

We will definitely stay here again on our next get-away to Newport Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    128
    31
    7
    5
See reviews for
116
86
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My brother and I used it for an excellent value base for our Tour of SW US National Parks. Great location to recover from long flights - did my first swim (in my dreams surfing) in the Pacific just across the road. Spent a day touring Balboa marina area couple of miles away with advice (and discounted boat tickets) of the sites from Brion the owner. Lots of gen and help from Brad and his staff, much appreciated. General store yards away and Super Markets a mile.
You could use the micro and fridge etc to cook, but why bother when 'Chows' (100 yards or less) provides some of the best food we found in 3 weeks. French fries to die for.......... - open breakfast to dinner.
Super size double rooms with lots of handy aids with beach towels and chairs available, just asked. Delighted to return 'pre return flight' after 3 weeks and 2,700 miles 'doing the parks'......... Joshua Tree is 2+ hours and on to too many to mention. G.Canyon, Bryce, Death Vally, Yosemite, Lost Wages (Las Vegas), San Fran. Returned via Pebble Beach, Route 1, etc.....

Room Tip: Any on the ground floor, with parking near or next to rooms makes it easy to return for those 'b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Newport Channel Inn is in an excellent location, with efficient and friendly service. This old style motor motel offers basic, yet up to date and clean rooms, and the bed was comfortable. The microwave and refrigerator worked well and were clean. The staff is eager to provide anything you need. It is a relaxed and family atmosphere. This is by far the best value in the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Very good value for money. There was free parking, free beach towels and complimentary boogie boards.

The staff were all quite young, very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were quite big with 2 beds, tv, bathroom, AC, hairdryer, fridge and microwave. They werent anything fancy but clean and comfortable. A Great Find! Do not hesitate to book if your looking for a clean motel.

The beach was a 5 minute walk and is stunning! Great for surfing. With a Surf shop around the corner which rents wet suits and boards.

You can grab breakfast at this fab little place called EAT CHOW - great staff and lovely reasonable food.

Would definetly stay here again and loved Newport. You would have to drive from here to Balboa & Newport Pier and to get to the shops and main part but only 5 mins max away.

Room Tip: Beach location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank london18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed two nights following a Disneyland visit to wind down and get some beach time. The best thing about this inn is the owners and service. They were real accommodating, helpful and genuinely enthusiastic with all facets of our coastal visit.
The best bonus was the free beach towels, boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrellas that they loan to guests daily.
Visit Kevin right next door to rent bikes for a cruise. Just north on the next block is a small, locally owned general store with friendly service.
The beach is just five hundred yards away, where you will pass Big Belly Deli, for some delicious sandwiches, at the Highway 1 crossing.
*Bonus for families: There is a play ground park at the back side of the inn, which is great for kids to play on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have stayed at the Newport Channel Inn every year in March for the past five years. Brion and his staff always give me a warm welcome and make sure I have everything I need to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I really enjoy the warmth and personal hospitality of this family run business. Even the maid service is excellent and accommodating. The Inn is located just a short walk from the beach, good food (try the Big Belly Deli for some outstanding pizza and sandwiches) and great surf shop (The Froghouse).

I truly recommend the Newport Channel Inn for those of you looking for a comfortable, affordable and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seposurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We spent a week at the Newport Channel Inn for Spring Break in 2012. Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we left, drove around the city, had lunch, and came back 2 hours later. Were told room now had plumbing issues, so we were going to be put in a different room, and that room was not ready. We then trekked down to the beach...a walk, but definately worth it. Beautiful! When we came back, another hour later, room was still not ready; waited another 30 minutes to check in. When we finally got in the room, it was a large room (suite does not quite fit) with very little light. We got in, started to get settled, and then were told our original room was ready. We were given the choice of moving right then, or moving early in the a.m. as the large room was booked for the next day. Sigh. We chose to move then. Previous reviewers did say that if you were looking for a comfortable, trendy hotel, this was not it. I could totally see this as a place for teens on spring break. While it was somewhat clean, it was not cleaned every day. The furnishings are very dated. Great area as it is close to the beach, but there is a mutli lane highway right in front, so traffic noise is a problem. For a cheap trip to California, this works. Next time, we will definately spend more money on a hotel.

Room Tip: As far away from the highway as possible. In the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
5.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
4.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Channel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Channel Inn

Property: Newport Channel Inn
Address: 6030 W. Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Channel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Newport Channel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Channel Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Channel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing