We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on vacation traveling through California. I only had the opportunity to stay one night. The hotel had that "Grand Hotel" feeling and the room were very nice. The coffee in the room was a Kuerig which you do not see everyday. The bar area was very nice and had great service. I did not use the pool area but it looked very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time and found our property full of useful amenities. We strive to provide excellent service and I know our team will be thrilled to hear of your experience! Excellent service can definitely separate a great stay from a good one. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having just moved out of my home with still a week to work before my official retirement, I chose the Fairmont Newport Beach because of its reputation and location. It is a beautiful property with friendly and efficient staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank pirtfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words and congratulations on your impending retirement! That must be very exciting and hopefully we made your stay with us a pleasant one. I'm pleased to hear you found the staff friendly and efficient. Thanks again for your kind words and congratulations!
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very nice hotel. Only stayed one night but it was very comfortable! Only complaint which ended up not being an issue for me is that the valet parking was required at $20 per night. However, if you have a hybrid vehicle, it is complementary!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveislamujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found the property comfortable. I look forward to sharing your note with the team and welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is an okay hotel if you are spending the night and flying into and out of Santa Ana Airport.
It's located very close to the Airport and it's a typical business hotel with no mini bar nor outstanding extra services.
Wifi and Breakfast are quite expensive. Breakfast's buffet is around 30$ offering a few croissants, scrambled eggs, sausages, juices and cereals.

The hotel offers a shuttle to drive you to Fashion Island and Balboa Island 4 times a day.

The staff is nice and the rooms are fairly clean. There were some hairs in my bath-thub but I did not complain as the rest seemed to be clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara_s322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we are centrally located near Santa Ana Airport with close proximity to Orange County and many of Southern California's most desirable locations. It sounds like while you enjoyed your stay overall, you felt we were missing some amenities to make your stay a great one. We always welcome guest feedback and I've shared yours with the team. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent three days at the Fairmont Newport Beach as part of our Southern California vacation and overall found our stay to be quite pleasant, with the exception of our room, which had a less than desirable view overlooking the roof and a satellite dish. The general manager of the hotel has gone to great lengths to make sure we won't have any issues next time we visit, which is wonderful as we had specifically requested a view room as it was our anniversary. We have been very pleased with the Fairmont's commitment to their guests and the steps they have taken to make sure our concerns are met. We will definitely return next year to celebrate our anniversary at one of our favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the hotel. While I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, I'm happy to hear of your experience with our GM. We feel we differentiate ourselves on our service, so it's great to hear guests' appreciation. Thanks again and we look forward welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was a nice place and very friendly and helpful staff. Bed was great, room was good and the coffee was excellent in room. The valet service was good, although pricey. Just a short 1-2 mile drive to the beach and very close to Orange County airport. The fitness center was fantastic.

The reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the fact that when I went to the business center to print my flight boarding passes, the charge was $3 just to access the internet and another $1.50 to print a page. For the money for the hotel and the price to park, eat, etc. I feel business services should be included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a great time and found our location central. We strive to provide excellent service and I know our team will be thrilled to hear of your experience! Excellent service can definitely separate a great stay from a good one. I can appreciate your frustration with the business service charge and hopefully that didn’t diminish too much from your experience overall. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Close to John Wayne. Nice location to Balboa Park, Shopping and my favourite spot - IHOP. they have a shuttle that takes you all over. The coffee shop has a good soup , but the morning B'fest is awesome and the rooms plus the Gym. Great hotel, Great price and good relaxation spot!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calgary737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found our location ideal (and close to IHOP). I look forward to sharing your words with the team and welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,720 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
Carlton Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 18 in Newport Beach
752 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £88 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing