We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate experience - but it is not a "real" Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“First rate experience - but it is not a "real" Fairmont”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you are expecting the uber luxury of a normal Fairmont experience you will be disappointed. The Newport Beach Fairmont was added to the portfolio in 2005. It was not built as a Fairmont and despite a large upgrade at the time it still isn't on a par with other Fairmonts we have stayed at.

That said, we loved the Newport Beach Fairmont for what it is, a great hotel with good facilities, convenient for the highways and John Wayne Airport. It is well built, you get a great room and it is an ideal base for touring Orange County. Another important point is that the rates can be very good if you are flexible with dates.

The good:
1. Location - excellent base for driving Orange County
2. Beds/linens - first rate, you will get a great sleep and wish you could stay in bed all day
3. Facilities - they have 2 tennis courts which are shaded for most of the day
4. Total package - a great experience (check-in, check-out, staff are helpful etc.)

The less good:
1. Parking charges are frustrating and petty, can't they just up the room rate since everyone has to drive?

So, overall and for the price, the Newport Beach Fairmont is a great place to stay and I have already booked my return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We welcome all guest feedback, but particularly from such a seasoned traveler as yourself. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found our staff helpful and our location optimal. It's also nice you were able to enjoy the beautiful Orange County weather and enjoy our tennis courts on property. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us. In the mean time if I can be of further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    491
    277
    140
    93
See reviews for
331
426
70
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Got a great Hotwire value on Xmas Eve. This is a luxury hotel with all the trappings. Very comfortable room, terrific fitness center and pool. Excellent staff and service. Even a welcome gift upon arrival.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. The staff will be thrilled to hear it. I'm happy you felt the hotel was a great value and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed for one week over Christmas (our 2nd Xmas at the Fairmont Newport Beachl) and thoroughly enjoyed our time and our experience. We had two Executive Suites which gave us plenty of room to entertain when family & friends stopped by. This is just a comfortable hotel and feels like a home away from home. Let's start from the beginning:

Arrival to hotel is very easy as it is close to John Wayne Airport and the 405 (San Diego Freeway). Located in a business park it is an ideal business hotel. It may not be perceived as a Leisure Travelers' hotel, however, when visiting Irvine, this is the nicest hotel with the ideal location... Easy access to most everything Starbucks, Jamba Juice, etc., etc in close proximity across the street . For the shopper there's Fashion Island and South Coast Plaza just a few minutes drive.... There are a plethora of restaurants in the NB/Irvine area if you want to venture out of the hotel for meals (Bambu is wonderful for a hotel restaurant so be sure to dine there). Hotel offers shuttle service to/from the airport and guests can also check-out bicycles to explore the area.

Parking is Valet Only this will add $28 per night to your room rate (look for package deals with breakfast and/or parking included). No complimentary self-parking which is one of the pitfalls of this property.

Be sure to join the Fairmont President's Club as it is free to do and will give you complimentary Internet connectivity as well as a number of other perks. There really is no reason not to join.

From the valet/bell desk to the front desk for check-in everything has always gone very smoothly with some of the friendliest staff to be encountered at a high end property. If you need something let them know and they will take care of it or point you in the right direction.

The rooms are all a good size. The Executive Suites have two rooms, a living room area with a large flat panel monitor/TV and DVD player. Refrigerator, in-room safe, Keurig Coffee maker all help to make your stay that much more comfortable. The sleeping room has a very comfortable king size bed with a good size balcony with table and chairs. The only issues I had with our suite was the mounted Flat Panel in the bedroom which must have been newly installed as the dresser below still had cable holes and equipment wear and tear residual from where the TV used to rest. The couch in the living room is outdated and needs to be replaced or re-upholstered. Other than that, the room was wonderful and comfortable.

Housekeeping is spot on and take the time to make sure your room is thoroughly cleaned. Our housekeepers, Maribel and Theresa were wonderful in making sure we had everything we needed.

The Fairmont Newport Beach has a lot of extras to offer from a nice hot tub and small swimming pool with lounge chairs & cabanas, to a more than adequate gym. There are also tennis courts and bicycles (I was told there is also a basketball court). A Spa is also available though I have never have had the time to enjoy it. Of course there is the business center, lobby lounge/bar and Bambu - the hotel restaurant. The FNB also has nice meeting space and a beautiful outdoor courtyard.

We love this hotel whenever we stay down in Orange County. You can't go wrong... It's a Fairmont!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirl926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you enjoyed your time on property and found our service very accommodating and our rooms well appointed. We pride ourselves on service, so it’s great to hear yours was excellent. I’m very pleased to hear you are a member of our Fairmont President’s Club. As you mentioned, members are granted free WiFi access amongst other great benefits. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Fairmont is a lovely hotel. However, it is expensive and expensive. We've reached a point I believe that hotels do not need to charge > 20 dollars for Internet. In an area with plenty of 4G, to charge that much for wifi is a bit ridiculous to say the least. Also, 7 dollars for a small bottle of water. If you want to stay at a place that is pretty and you want to spend a lot of money on little things that add up, this is for you. If you want a place that is worth the price you pay, stay somewhere else. Stay at a nearby hotel that at least gives you Internet at a reasonable price and doesn't charge 28 dollars for required Valet parking. The positive things about this hotel are the staff. They were very nice and gracious and were always offering to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambo54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the hotel. We take great pride in the all aspects of our hotel and guest’s experiences, so we take your feedback very seriously. I’m sorry to hear you felt the hotel was too expensive, but happy to hear you found the staff attentive and gracious. I can understand your frustration with our valet parking. We are constantly reviewing our procedures and will certainly take your feedback into consideration. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for about 9 days on a business trip. The hotel is in a very good location - near to the John Wayne airport and very very near to Fashion Island, Balboa island and newport beach. However, the property itself is only slightly above average.

Good things about the hotel - very good fitness centre and pool, good chef who made tasty food and good house keeping staff.

Things that were not really pleasant - prices - A bottle of Evian 7$, restaurant prices are very high for the ambiance and the service (very slow), and the worst of the lot - The valet parking. On peak hours (Especially if the hotel hosts a conference), be prepared to wait for at least 10 mins before your car arrives. There is no need for valet parking when there is ample parking space around the property!

Overall, just OK - nothing great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandanRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Nine days is certainly a long period of time to spend at the hotel and experience many sides of the property. I’m pleased to hear you found our amenities and the food very good. We have invested heavily in the fitness center in particular and are quite proud of it. I can understand your frustration with our valet parking. We are constantly reviewing our procedures and will certainly take your feedback into consideration. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to host you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod HaSharon, Israel
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. The room (facing the airport) was large and clean, the service was very good, and there were many choices at breakfast. The gym is OK, but not great. There are, however, some problems with the hotel. The airport nearby is active from 7:00AM to around 10:00PM, and the takeoffs are quite noisy. In addition, while the valet parking is run very professionally, it's not the same as self-parking. People need to be aware that the valet parking, breakfast and Internet are not free, which can add an additional $50 to the stay per day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avipiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It sounds like while you found the hotel very good overall, you did experience some challenges. Though we don’t offer complimentary breakfast or parking, I did want to point out we offer complimentary WiFi to members of our Fairmont President’s Club loyalty program. I apologize if you weren't made aware of that fact. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Went there for a client meeting and a conference. Really friendly service, clean comfortable rooms. We had a junior suite with a mountain view. The view was more parking lot than mountain but they were visible from the balcony. There was a few places to eat within walking distance and the hotel valet would run you to a nearby store in the hotel BMW if you needed a ride

The room was very spacious but I'll never understand (and this applies to most hotels) why they put one chair and end table inside the room and two or more on the balcony. Clearly there is some expectation of two people staying in the room (especially for the size of it) so why don't they put two in the room? The desk chair is definitely not as comfortable as the lounge chair in the room; if the weather would have been nicer we would have spent more time sitting on the balcony where there are plenty of chairs :)

The room came equipped with a huge bathroom (see my pics) lots of closet space, a mini fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, ironing board & of course TWO hotel robes.

The room we were in could use an update, just minor wear & tear but visible nonetheless. Comfortable & clean which is what really counts.

The fitness center on the other hand; was state of the art. There was the latest cardio equipment with ports for electronics & built in TVs. Free weights as well as weight machines. I took lots of pics because it wasn't just a few machines with a lot of mirrors.

Food & drink were pricey at the hotel bar/ restaurant. A burger will cost you $15 but they do run a happy hour; just be sure to ask what's in the well. Bacardi was a call drink but Skyy was a well. The food we had at the conference functions was pretty good; service was good too.

Not a bad place, I wouldn't be upset if I had to go back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Djd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you enjoyed your time on property and found our service very accommodating and our rooms well appointed. I’m very pleased to hear your appreciation of our fitness center. We have invested heavily into expanding the space and purchasing the most state of the art equipment so I’m thrilled you were able to take advantage of it. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy 50% off parking at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing