We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Fairmont Hotels are usually the best excluding this one.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Fairmont Hotels are usually the best excluding this one.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We always stay at the Fairmont Hotels when possible. We will continue to stay at this one although it isn't one of their best. The furniture in our suite looked worn and dingy. Alot of the standard rooms have small tub/shower combos. Breakfast in the hotel is just average and offers no atmosphere. It is also the same room where dinner is served. They use the same plastic placements over and over, a practice that I am surprised the health department allows, with our clean utensils placed on top. Having said that, it is a nice hotel compared to many of the other hotels, just not up to the Fairmont usual standards. All the employees are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: If a large bathroom is important then you need to book a junior suite or larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and thank you for being such a loyal Fairmont customer. Though I'm pleased to hear you will continue to stay with us, I am disappointed to hear you didn't find the hotel up to Fairmont standards. I apologize for the condition of your guestroom and how worn some of the furnishing were. I'd like to get some more information about your particular room and would appreciate if you would email me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com. Thanks again and I look forward to your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    492
    278
    140
    93
See reviews for
332
426
70
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Everything turned out great...nice place. The room was clean had a coffee maker, small fridge and microwave. The only thing is that they ask for $200 deposit at the time of checking in this is beside what you pay for the room and it takes a week for them to deposit back into your account.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us. I look forward to sharing your positive feedback with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is very close to John Wayne Airport; so I was expecting an "airport" type property. The Fairmont exceeded all of our expectations. Once inside we felt as if we were at a resort. Our junior suite was fabulous. Our family enjoyed the pool area and the food everywhere was delicious. Very convenient location and great shuttle service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm very pleased to hear we were able to exceed all of your expectations. It is truly a team effort operating the hotel and I know the staff will be thrilled to hear of your positive experiences. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fairmont has really disappointing. I read some other reviews and though it would be a great stay. I've enrolled on their "presidents club"as I will ( would) start going to Ca and staying there quite often.
1) The check in experience was really poor. They couldn't find my number, then handed me the keys and it was it. No explanation bout wi-fi, maps, where breakfast was, nothing. A club reception should be a bit better, no? Or even a normal one
2) Club member were supposed to have newspapers, I didn't get any.
3) Breakfast is far from basic. No choice of breads and toasts only if requested. Service was appalling. The waiters would hardly stop at our table to listen to the orders and would often bring everything wrong..

I'm still at the hotel and will stay here all week but wish I could move to another one...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay at the hotel. I'm very troubled to hear of the numerous issues you've experienced thus far during your stay. There is certainly no excuse for the lapses in service you have experienced so for that I apologize. I would appreciate if you could contact me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com so that we might be able to right the wrongs you've encountered and turn your experience around. Thanks again and I anxiously await your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the odd duck out of the Fairmont Family. The hotel is very old, the rooms smell of mold and are dirty, the staff is lazy and not knowledgable. If you visiting Newport Beach go to a different hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback about your stay. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us and found the hotel below your standards. We pride ourselves on delivering great service, so I'm sorry you found the staff poor. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you would be willing to return and allow us the opportunity to give you the stay you deserve.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

First of all I would like to say that, in 2014, people should not be charged $10.95 PER DAY for wifi. In a society that craves information and connectivity, I would expect a hotel that caters to a higher income clientele to offer free wifi. (-2 points)

Second, do not force your guests to pay $18 per night for valet parking and then provide a substandard level of service. (-1 point)

The rooms are ok, for a Hilton or Sheraton but not a Fairmont branded hotel. Save some of your hard earned money and stay down the street at the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANK8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear your experience was not a pleasurable one. I can certainly appreciate your feelings about lack of self-parking options. Unfortunately due to limited parking real estate the hotel actually owns (and the confusing location), we have made the decision to have valet only. One thing to note; members of our Fairmont President's Club loyalty program receive complimentary WiFi amongst other benefits so I apologize if you weren't made aware of that fact.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great facilities and very confortable beds in rooms. Hotel staff is very helpful since the shuttle airport driver, fornt desk and servers at the restaurant bar & lounge. It was a good to be back as this was my second stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos Vil... Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you thought so highly of the hotel and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. They will be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. "Green" Parking: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy 50% off parking at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing