We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and excellent service/amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. Beautiful rooms, super comfortable beds, and the staff is super customer service orientated.

Definitely would come back. Liked that it was a little bit away from the hub bub of the beaches though a close cab ride to enjoy that part of the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm very pleased to hear we were able to exceed all of your expectations and that you enjoyed our location. It is truly a team effort operating the hotel and I know the staff will be thrilled to hear of your positive experiences. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
There are newer reviews for The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had to go through 3 rooms to find one that was not dirty and smokey, the management DO NOT enforce the non-smoking rooms and floors! The third room had a WET BED??, IT WAS DISGUSTING. There were low-life guests screaming and yelling all night long in the halls!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

I'm very sorry to hear of the negative experience you had at the hotel. There is certainly no excuse for the condition of the rooms you encountered so for that I apologize. I hope that you would be willing to return and allow us the opportunity to give you the experience you deserve. If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to email me directly.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I highly recommend this hotel!. Our company had a great experience at our Mid- year meeting.
Especially helpful were Lisa at the Concierge desk and of course Angela - the Senior Services
Manager. They were so helpful in arranging and rearranging our travel needs.

Thanks so much for thier assistance and to the rest of the staff - but especially to these two
ladies.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks very much for your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us and were especially appreciative of the service. We pride ourselves on delivering engaging service so it's particularly nice to hear of your interactions with Angela and Lisa. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Highly recommend this property! Wonderful outlet and fantastic customer service. I am looking forward to staying at this property again. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The property was clean and beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Traci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us and we are thrilled to hear of the great customer service you experienced. It is truly a team effort and I look forward to sharing you feedback with the staff. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We loved our stay.

So relaxing, every detail was top-notch. Emily our server at the pool was so friendly. The cabanas at the pool were so nice.

Check in was so quick.

We only wish we were staying longer.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dorothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and found the staff so detailed. We are very proud of our pool area so it's great to hear guest's appreciation. Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We always stay at the Fairmont Hotels when possible. We will continue to stay at this one although it isn't one of their best. The furniture in our suite looked worn and dingy. Alot of the standard rooms have small tub/shower combos. Breakfast in the hotel is just average and offers no atmosphere. It is also the same room where dinner is served. They use the same plastic placements over and over, a practice that I am surprised the health department allows, with our clean utensils placed on top. Having said that, it is a nice hotel compared to many of the other hotels, just not up to the Fairmont usual standards. All the employees are friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: If a large bathroom is important then you need to book a junior suite or larger.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and thank you for being such a loyal Fairmont customer. Though I'm pleased to hear you will continue to stay with us, I am disappointed to hear you didn't find the hotel up to Fairmont standards. I apologize for the condition of your guestroom and how worn some of the furnishing were. I'd like to get some more information about your particular room and would appreciate if you would email me at: lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com. Thanks again and I look forward to your response.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Everything turned out great...nice place. The room was clean had a coffee maker, small fridge and microwave. The only thing is that they ask for $200 deposit at the time of checking in this is beside what you pay for the room and it takes a week for them to deposit back into your account.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us. I look forward to sharing your positive feedback with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,632 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,023 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#10 of 18 in Newport Beach
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#13 of 18 in Newport Beach
743 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £105 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing