We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Nashville
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with my recent stay at the Fairmont Hotel. Although the location was not at the beach but rather 3 min to John Wayne airport it was still lovely. The room was nice and the bed luxurious.
Great linens and pillows for a terrific rest. The staff of this hotel is amazing. Kathleen in the bamboo lounge provides great overly friendly service. Just having her wait on you makes you feel at home and wanting to come back. The value, staff, and ambiance of this hotel makes one wonder why the beach???? Try the Fairmont.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laddiebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice stay and sound like you plan on returning. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and it sounds like we did just that during your stay. I will definitely share you kind words about Kathleen with the staff, I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    499
    284
    140
    94
See reviews for
338
427
71
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Loved the location and the hotel in general. Would recommend to all my frieinds. Great spa area and pool. Very friendly and responsive to needs. Great desserts in the restaurant. Close to John Wayne airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff, I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Level Contributor
411 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is modern and comfortable. Rooms are big and clean, with comfy beds.
Breakfast buffet is good and also the restaurant service is good, although a bit pricey.
In the hall there is a little shop that proved to be quite useful during my stay.

Since I was on a business meeting, we rented one meeting room that was well organized inside the hotel structure.

Parking is valet only.
The hotel location is convenient for the highway, a bit far from the sea and Newport Beach Pier (about 15 minutes drive).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a very good stay with us and are open to returning. While we welcome all guest feedback, we are particularly pleased to hear from such a seasoned traveler as yourself. I'm happy you found the room large well-suited to your needs. Our location is very close to John Wayne airport and near to many of Orange County's most desirable attractions. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a very relaxing couple of days at this great hotel. Great pool to relax and catch the sun.
Jerry at the concierge was extremely helpful and friendly when we were trying to make plans.
Aaron one of the head valets made me feel extremely welcome every time I pulled up to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice time and look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is centrally located in the business district and a short distance to all the shopping malls. The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable. the environment is clean and the facilities are also in good shape.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel conveniently located and well-suited to your needs. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I went with my best friend for a relaxing spa weekend. The staff were great and the hotel was very nice. I wish that there had been a balcony,
If this had been closer to the beach and further away from the airport, it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay with us. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff, I know they'll be thrilled to hear it. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is lovely - beautiful lobby, incredible delicious & healthy food choices, fabulous pool & fitness area. The staff is remarkably good from front desk to wait staff to valet! The only downside to this hotel is its location - it's not at the beach, by the Back Bay or within walking distance unless you're willing to go for a good hike. It's in a business park-like area, so it feels clean and safe - and they do have shuttles to take you to Balboa Island and other fun spots, so if being right on the beach isn't that important to you, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel lovely and the food delicious. We are very proud to offer our Lifestyle Cuisine Plus menu, which is designed for people with specific dietary needs and restrictions. As you mentioned we are centrally located near to John Wayne airport and many of Orange County's most desirable tourist attractions. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,453 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
712 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing