We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful OC Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful OC Hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Newport Beach for 3 nights in a 2 Double Bed room. This is a first class hotel in Orange County. All the staff, common areas, and rooms are top notch. We arrived at the hotel arrive 10am and our room was not ready yet, so we left for the beach. Around noon, we got a call from the hotel saying our room (538) was ready and they had placed our bags in our room for us. The room was comfortable and good size, and the beds were nice. The pool area was nice, however the pool itself was a bit small. The pool side staff was great and the food was good as well and fairly priced. The parking at the hotel is only valet and costs $30 per night, which is expected in Southern California for any hotel of quality nowadays. We're Fairmont President's Club members so we received complimentary internet during our stay, which is a nice benefit. Also the fitness center in the hotel was one of the nicest we had seen in hotels recently. The hotel itself could be in a better location. It's very close to John Wayne Airport, and right were Irvine. Newport Beach, Santa Ana, and Costa Mesa meet. If you want to be in Newport Beach near Balboa Peninsula or Corona del Mar, this is not a convenient hotel for you. Overall, for wanting to see all of what OC has to offer, you're not more then 15 minutes to the beach, or to Disneyland or Fashion Island. The only complaint I have about the hotel is that you can hear planes takeoff very loudly at the pool, and sometimes in your room, as well. Would I stay here again? Maybe. It's expensive. If I get a good deal (aka less then $250), then probably.

Room Tip: Get a room the is not on the side of the airport, or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinBeach001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and for being a loyal FPC member. While we welcome all guest feedback, we are particularly pleased to hear from such a seasoned traveler as yourself. I'm happy you found the hotel so well-suited to your needs and the staff accommodating. We are quite proud of our fitness center and it's nice to hear you agreed. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    504
    285
    143
    97
See reviews for
342
427
72
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goleta, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

great open windows, spacious room, nice and clean. air conditioning was leaking into the room and so the ceiling was weird where it was dripping from, like the wallpaper needed to be replaced after the air was fixed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank O H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel so nice. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fairmont is one of my favorite hotel chains and I feel disappointed to say this Newport Beach property falls short of my expectations for the brand.

1. Service is full of snotty attitude and not openly helpful and accommodating.

2. Room décor and furniture is dated and tired.

3. Our Junior Suite had the oddest room configuration. While it surely had the square footage of a Junior Suite, it contained only the usual furniture of a regular Sheraton room. There wasn’t a couch or chaise – just a chair/ottoman. There was a large wasted open space in the middle of the room.

4. Valet parking seemed disorganized – taking 20-30 minutes to retrieve cars. If you encounter this, do what we did – tip the valet in advance and tell him you have a flight to catch.

5. On an up note, the bathroom in the Junior Suite was very nice. Extra large shower, beautiful tub and lots of marble.

I do not recommend this hotel unless you get a screaming deal on the rate. With a great rate, if you set your expectation for a generic Sheraton/Marriott experience, you’ll leave feeling you got a deal. If you want more luxury, like the Fairmont brand suggests, I recommend the Island Hotel in Newport Beach instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations. We strive to provide excellent value to all our guests and clearly we failed to do so in your case. As we pride ourselves on service, it's disappointing to hear of your experiences with the staff. I thank you for your feedback and look forward to sharing with the team. I hope you would be willing to return and allow us the opportunity to give you the experience you deserve.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not good value for the price. Valet only, $30 plus tips. Not located in prime locations, need car to drive around. Have shuttle service, not frequent enough. If you miss the shuttle, wait another min. 30 minutes, or take taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback and appreciate you sharing yours. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a first class hotel .c lean and service with a smile.. the best room service ever. delicious and on time and plated beautifully. spa was relaxing and had the 90 minute massage and worth it all. about a three minute drive shoppers heaven. South Coast Plaza .. if you want to go closer to the ocean (hotel not near). It really is only nine minute drive and Fashion Island is there.. this is an open air fab.. Shopping dream. Great food and live music with placebo sit and listen.. Just great...

the only down side to the hotel is not near the beach and across from airport You do NOT hear airport at all so no worries.. the crowds of people at pool is really the only noise you hear..

Room Tip: All rooms are good just know that air condition is loud. Ask if room is new with new TV. they are up...
See more room tips
Green Features: Senstional and the health of going green is great..
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us and found the hotel so well-suited to your needs. As you mentioned we are centrally located to many of Orange County's most desirable attractions as well as John Wayne Airport. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyersFanInLA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed down in Orange County to see some clients and the Fairmont Newport Beach offered a 4-star option at a fair price. Normally, I stay at Pelican Hill Resort in Newport Coast but that was insanely expensive (close to $1000 per night) thus other options were needed.

Overall, the room was pretty nice and the location was central. The bed was good - like you'd expect from the Four Seasons.

The main problem was with their valet program. They simply don't have it together. They ask you to call 15 min in advance and often your car isn't up. Once, they lost the keys to my Mercedes and the right-out-of-high-school (I am not kidding, that's what they told me) actually yelled at me because SHE lost my key. I really needed some Advil from my golf bag and I wasn't in the mood to be yelled at. My question is: why is such an inexperienced girl working at a key time (5:30 PM) and how does $20 per night in fees with THAT MANY cars not justify a better operation. I am sure there is an investor raking in the $$$ with the property but its how they get a lower star ranking with me.

Other little things like removing the mini bar, not providing a free bottle of water and terrible TV service also add to the 3-star rating.

Overall the place isn't terrible but its not the Four Seasons or even Pelican Hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyersFanInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the hotel. We value all guest feedback and certainly appreciate yours. I'm very sorry to hear of your negative encounter with the valet team. There is definitely no excuse for that so I sincerely apologize. I've shared your experience with our Director of Operations in hopes that issues like this will be promptly resolved. Thanks again for feedback and hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you in the future and give you the experience you deserve.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Fairmont Newport Beach last night and had a wonderful time. I checked in very late, 10:30pm and my room was ready, no hassles or guff from the staff. In fact the staff seemed pleased to see me. I was assigned a room on the 10th floor (highest floor available). The view was nothing spectacular just your average city view (this hotel is not close enough to the beach for a beach view).

After I dropped my bag in the room, I went down to the lounge for a beer and a snack. Unfortunately food service had been discontinued prior to my arrival but the very friendly and helpful bartender informed me that the hotel offers a limited menu 24-hour room service. After my beer I proceeded to the room and did indeed order room service. As I was informed by the bartender the menu was limited but it covered all the bases. I ordered the cheese plate and it beat my expectations, three different types of cheese, crustini, figs, assorted nuts and honey. I also ordered Sambucca with my snack and the pour was healthy.

It slept well, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and this hotel had the best black out curtains I have ever used. I awoke and didn't realize that it was daytime, let alone 9:45!

I opted to have breakfast at the restaurant downstairs. They offer a buffet as well as a made to order menu. I chose the buffet as it was well apportioned. Everything was delicious with the sole exception of the Eggs Benedict (it was dry and hard English muffin). They offer free copies of the NY Times in the restaurant area.

I had the opportunity to use the fitness center and was pleasantly surprised. It was larger than most hotel fitness centers and had a plethora of equipment. The only minor disappointment was the lack of a sauna, not that most hotels have sauna facilities but it would have been a nice touch. I did not have a chance to use the pool or spa but they looked wonderful.

Checkout was a breeze, they offer several checkout options but I always prefer the front desk. There were several people ahead of me in line but they were well staffed and the wait was minuscule. At checkout the front desk pointed me to the business center where they offer the option to print your boarding passes free of charge. The hotel offers an airport shuttle service to SNA every half our. They do not use a typical hotel shuttle bus, but rather a private car and driver, free of charge (I tipped the driver of course).

At the end of the day I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone flying in or out of Orange County.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank A to Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontNewportBeach, Online Marketing Manager at The Duke Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm very pleased to hear you had such a pleasant experience overall. As we pride ourselves on service, it's great to hear of your positive interactions withe both the front desk and bar staff. I'm sure it felt nice to sleep in a little thanks to a comfortable bed and the blackout curtains. We are very proud of our workout facility so it's nice to hear guests' appreciation. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Newport Beach.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher
lucas.schumacher@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,575 reviews
3.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
Radisson Hotel Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
732 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Hotel Newport Beach

Property: The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 4500 Macarthur Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2010 (Formerly Fairmont Newport Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Hotel Newport Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach in Southern California radiates a dramatic feel from both an architectural and design standpoint. Each and every aspect is designed to surround you in total 'O.C.' Luxury. To complete the luxury hotel experience, The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is thrilled to also offer its full-service urban Spa, TheSpa Sante. With more than 8,000 square feet of space, the Spa features eight decadent spa treatment rooms offering the finest in spa services and using only the finest in products and techniques. Prepare to be pampered like never before! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach welcomes you to the charm and allure of Southern California with its sun-drenched beaches, world-class shopping, and exciting nightlife! The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers 440 luxury guest rooms, including 54 exquisite suites, most feature over-sized soaking tubs. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach is also gaining favor as one of the most ideal locations for weddings. Of all the special moments of your life, there are very few that approach the importance of your wedding day. Having your wedding with us in beautiful Newport Beach means it will be filled with the class and elegance you've always dreamed of. All guests receive daily courtesy shuttle service to and from John Wayne Airport, Fashion Island, South Coast Plaza, The District and Balboa Island. For rental car information, please contact on-site Hertz Rent-a-Car. The Duke Hotel Newport Beach offers wireless Internet access available in all of our meeting rooms, as well wireless high-speed Internet access in each guestroom. Year-round, guests can enjoy relaxing at the hotel's Palms Pool and Cabanas, reserve your private cabana today. The re-designed self-serviced Business Center accommodates the needs of its corporate guests. To best enjoy our Newport Beach, California hotel's amenities and the riches of Orange County, consider one of our many appealing packages available and maximize your visit to the OC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Duke Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing