We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good cappuccino but no pastries or cakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kean Coffee

Kean Coffee
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kean Coffee is an independent coffee roaster/coffeehouse owned and operated by Martin and Karen Diedrich. Martin Diedrich founded Diedrich Coffee in 1984, which developed out of his father Carl Diedrich's coffee roasting business. Diedrich Coffee grew from it's roots as an Orange County favorite to become a rather large company, eventually going public and acquiring other coffee chains. In 2004 Martin parted ways with his company and founded Kean Coffee, named for his son, in order to return to his roots as a small, local, independent coffeehouse operator. With Kean Coffee, Martin and Karen have brought the focus back to quality and community, again roasting coffee in-house and elevating coffee to an art form. Kean Coffee is a true community gathering place.
Earth
Level Contributor
282 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Very good cappuccino but no pastries or cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

They serve very good cappuccino, in a generous quantity, but the baked goods there were so unattractive that we didn't even want to taste them. You do have the good coffee, you do have the costumers ( the place was crowded ), why not selling them some good pastries and cakes with the good coffee? You don't have to bake them, buy them from a good bakery, but do something.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllKnowMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coffee? Barista art? Artisan coffee roasters? yes.. yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

What a find!!! without a doubt Kean Coffee Newport has the best coffee we've had in the US, exceeding our expectations!! For travellers from Australia and espresso loving countries this is the place to get your coffee fix. Thanks Kean Coffee!! you made our day, week or should I say weeks! Kean Coffee are artisan coffee roasters with all coffee freshly roasted in house, the fragrant aroma is a sensual delight! not to be missed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best latte in The OC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Know if you're coming here there is probably a line but don't let that stop you. These baristas know how to brew. My fav place for a latte. Hot day, try their green tea frapp. refreshing and not too sweet . Hungry, no problem the are supplied freshly baked goods by The Blackmarket Bakery and local others. Food served is fresh and goes fast. I love the banana flax and the date bran muffins. Their oatmeal is delicious. Take your time, enjoy your experience and always a great people watching spot. Thank you Kean's for a great way to start my day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules-OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee is family tradition.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Probably the best coffee on OC. New place is just a few feet from the original Deidrich's coffee we bought our coffee forty years ago. Now Martin Diedrich has created the 21st replacement.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidh1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

What more can you say? Great tasting coffee, and energetic surroundings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kean Coffee also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Tustin, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Balboa Island, Newport Beach
 

Been to Kean Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing