We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee EVER!!!!”
Review of Kean Coffee

Kean Coffee
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Kean Coffee is an independent coffee roaster/coffeehouse owned and operated by Martin and Karen Diedrich. Martin Diedrich founded Diedrich Coffee in 1984, which developed out of his father Carl Diedrich's coffee roasting business. Diedrich Coffee grew from it's roots as an Orange County favorite to become a rather large company, eventually going public and acquiring other coffee chains. In 2004 Martin parted ways with his company and founded Kean Coffee, named for his son, in order to return to his roots as a small, local, independent coffeehouse operator. With Kean Coffee, Martin and Karen have brought the focus back to quality and community, again roasting coffee in-house and elevating coffee to an art form. Kean Coffee is a true community gathering place.
Holtville, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Coffee EVER!!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Kean Coffee was recommended by some friends to stop on our way home from Torrance. We stopped and it was full of customers. We went in and waited about 15 minutes to be waited on. Not a problem. We got our coffee to go and our first sip to the very last was heavenly!! I cannot wait to be in that area again to get some more. Best coffee EVER!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee review”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great coffee, wonderful service. I was in very quickly, waited on adn out in a flash with greqat tasting hot coffee.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danteai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best coffee place in Newport Beach and surrounding area”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Quite simply the best in the area. This place knows coffee and great cistomer service. They make cappuccino the italian way, the way it should be. I just can't be happier to find this gem. This is my go-to espresso place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eiffel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I Just Don't Get This Place............”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have been there 6 times and each time the coffee/mocha is never hot, nor prepared as I requested and I dont think the barristas are humorous at all. Never Again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stugomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Coffee.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Good coffee, but trying to get a cup is another story...over run with "Trendies". Take your coffee with or go to Starbucks down the street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Baybuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kean Coffee also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to Kean Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing