We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redlands, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, and every time the staff has gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable and happy. It is located on the bay- rooms overlooking the bay are very nice at sunset! This hotel is also close to Fashion Island , which boasts many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly2001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    214
    65
    18
    18
See reviews for
138
110
29
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Newport Beach Marriott Bayview Hotel is not located by the beach, but overlooks a lagoon. Set approximately 3-4 miles from the beach, it is located close enough to the beach and John Wayne Airport that it is a convenient location.

The hotel is an all suites hotel. It is on the older side and starting to show its age.

Check-in was friendly, and I was thanked many times for using Marriott mobile app to check-in. Unfortunately, I was not offered a welcome amenity and was grudgingly given a 1:00 PM check-out.

For some reason, Marriott along with Hilton, does not have set rules for late check-out for their top tier members. One thing I love about Hyatt and SPG is that they offer their top tier members a 4:00 PM check-out as a rule.

There is no Executive Lounge in this hotel, so breakfast is included for Platinum members.

Upon entering the room, there is a sitting area straight ahead including a sofa, chair and ottoman.

Beyond that is a small desk with limited working space.

To the right of the entrance is the coffee maker.

The room is a suite of sort, with a set of double doors separating the living room from the bedroom.

The bedroom is somewhat small, but the bed is very comfortable. There must have been somebody smoking in the room prior to my stay, as somebody had covered the smoke detector with a plastic bag. Fortunately, the room did not smell of smoke.

There is a sliding door that separates the bedroom from the sink, and another door separating the sink from the rest of the bathroom. The counter space is somewhat limited but for a short stay will suffice.

The rest of the bathroom is large and includes a tub, separate shower and tub.

I was given a room that overlooked the bay/lagoon.

The breakfast buffet ($19) is somewhat small but contains quality ingredients. There are eggs, bacon, sausage, corned beef hash, waffles, fruit, cereal, muffins, pastries and breads. I believe they will also cook eggs to order or pancakes if you like.

Self-parking is somewhat steep at $21.

The hotel is on the older side and could use a facelift. The location is convenient enough if coming in from the airport, but the front desk could do a better job of acknowledging their elite members.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Mystery Traveler,

For our Gold and Platinum guests we offer a complimentary late checkout and will do our best to extend it passed noon.

I apologize for the issue you had with the smoke detector and have made sure that it has been removed.

I have met with the front desk team to communicate that we need to acknowledge our reward members so that they are appreciated for their loyalty.

I hope that the next time you are in Newport Beach you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We went to Newport Beach for a spring break getaway with my sons. The suites were perfect--plenty of room for all of us, wonderfully comfortable beds, spacious bathroom/shower/tub, and a great pool/gym area.

We especially enjoyed breakfast each morning. Danny and Daniela were great, and they treated us like old friends by the second day of our stay--they knew what my boys wanted before the boys they could even ask. And Javiar made the most delicious waffles and omelets, and was always so kind and accommodating. Having free breakfast included in our room rate was fabulous.

Thanks for the great stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Good location central to the Santa Ana airport, Newport Beach and the highways. The rooms are suites with a large bathroom including separate bath and showers. Try to get a room facing the Newport waterway, The bed was very comfortable, flat screens in both the bedroom and living area, coffee bar, mini-bar and desk. Small balcony. There is a pool and fitness center. I didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar is nice. There aren't any restaurants in the immediate area, but there is a good Japanese restaurant a few minutes walk. The front desk service was good.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a whim and loved it. The staff is exceptional. Brandon, Connor and Mark were very personable and helpful. We had a lot of questions and they were more than happy to take the time to answer them. There was water in the lobby with fruit added which I thought was a very nice touch. The grounds were very pretty and very clean. There is a bar in the lobby as well as a Starbucks and there is plenty of seating in the lobby to have business meetings or to just relax. The rooms have a separate area with a couch and desk and the bed and pillows extremely comfortable. The one thing that really stood out about this hotel is how quiet it was. I usually need to use earplugs because of the noise of other guests yet here I never heard another person. The beach is about 15 minutes and they do charge $23 for parking and internet is not included in the price. Newport Beach in general is such a wonderful place to spent time, the people are so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Marriott Bayview and we really like it. The room is large with a separate sitting area & the great Marriott pillows & bed. Very conveniently located. The only negative is the $23/day parking fee and they charge for wifi in the room!

Room Tip: the view of the bay is really pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VegasGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Convenient location for Fashion Island and close to John Wayne Airport. This is definitely a hotel oriented to the business traveler. The rooms are spacious and clean. The customer service is 5 star. If you want a room with a view, there are hotels closer to the beach that will serve that purpose.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,569 reviews
2.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,537 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Address: 500 Bayview Cir, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2933
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Marriott Bayview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview Hotel Newport Beach
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing