We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WATCH OUT - there are two Marriott's in Newport Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Heads up, there are two Marriott's in Newport Beach, one overlooking the golf corse and near fashion island, then there is this one. While the other is rather swanky and generally more expensive the Newport Beach Marriott Bayview offers spacious suites with nice views and great value in pricy newport.
Indoor/outdoor pool was nice and the location is near the airport and quick drive to Corona Del Mar, Newport and the beach.
Food is just OK - but nearby restaurant Juliette is amazing!
The hotel has not had the "Marriott upgrades" so if you prioritize price, location, space and comfort over the latest fashion this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is really quite nice. The people are super friendly, the gym is fantastic, the breakfast buffet was delicious and the location was nice and peaceful.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars, except that me and my roommate both woke up with fleas on us and flea bites all over us! Lesson learned, never stay at a pet friendly hotel, unless you want fleas to have a field day all over you!

Room Tip: check their website for deals and promotions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dora4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dora4U,

I want to apologize for your experience at our hotel. We take every precaution relating to pets and every pet room is cleaned thoroughly to ensure that the next guest in the room can feel completely safe that there is no evidence of the previous guest.

I would like to discuss this concern with you and if you could call me at the hotel and ask for hotel manager John.

I sincerely apologize again that your stay with us was flawed and want to make it right.

Thank You, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice in a span of 3 months; once in July and chose to stay there again in September when I was back in Cali. The first time I stayed there was immediately after having Lasik eye surgery at the eye center next door. The hotel staff was made aware that my vision was limited and were very accommodating and understanding. Because I had such a pleasant experience, I stayed there again in September when passing through Cali and again I was not disappointed. Great staff, wonderfully sized rooms, clean and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice in one month, once for business and once again for vacation, and both times were positive experiences. This is an all-suite hotel so the rooms are larger than your typical Marriott hotel with a separate bedroom connected to a living room area by a set of double doors. The open space concept is a definite plus if you are on extended travel or on vacation with 3 or more people. The only negative, which seems typical of most hotels and not just this one, is that the shower water pressure is a little weak on the higher floors.

The hotel is easily accessible from the highway and about a 5 minute drive to the local shopping area (Fashion Island) and about 15 minutes away from Newport Beach. The hotel location is in a residential/business neighborhood so there is not much within walking distance of the immediate area, but there is a jogging path around the bay, which is adjacent to the hotel, if you were looking for some outdoor activity.

The pool, pool area and hot tub are smaller than average for a Marriott hotel, but it wasn’t crowded at the time (probably because it was early April) and we didn’t have any problems getting lounge chairs or towels. The fitness center is nice and large with brand new equipment, but it is oddly tucked away outside by the pool and away from the hotel area. The lobby/lounge/bar area is standard for a Marriott; bright open space, contemporary design, sleek and well maintained. The restaurant buffet breakfast was an impressive spread, which included hot and cold breakfast items as well as on request make-your-own omelet and Mickey Mouse pancakes (with or without M&Ms – yummy either way).

My experience with the staff here, for the most part, has been excellent. I’m not sure if they are more attentive to guests with Marriott status but they do seem to go out of their way to mitigate any issues you might have during your stay. We happened to get overcharged for our drinks at the bar one night, and after pointing out the mistake at the front desk the next day, they immediately adjusted the charges and we were also given complimentary drink vouchers to compensate for the inconvenience - definitely a nice touch. Already looking forward to coming back here next month.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the personal greeting, attention to detail, friendly staff, EXTRA QUIET rooms, and phenomenal breakfast buffet, this Mariott has it all. I went there for quiet, and I found it and so much more. It was all the above plus the attitude of their in-house Starbucks barista, Simon, who was not only friendly and engaging, but went out of his way to make it the way I wanted it. The omelet maker behind the buffet prepared custom omelets to PERFECTION! The front desk staff was always there to great passers-by with a warm smile and "hello". And, the cleaning staff was fast, efficient and very friendly, going out of their way to accommodate requests. Thank you for a great stay! As the governator would say, "I'll be back!"

Room Tip: Room at the end of the hall is the best, both the view and the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is my 2nd honeymoon, my husband and i are extremely happy that we chose the marriott bay view. The room is absolutely beautiful and the view is like no other!! Room 507 is perfect and our little slice of heaven....THANK U MARRIOTT BAY VIEW FOR A WONDERFUL TIME!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikispencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, and every time the staff has gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable and happy. It is located on the bay- rooms overlooking the bay are very nice at sunset! This hotel is also close to Fashion Island , which boasts many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly2001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,760 reviews
1 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.6 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Address: 500 Bayview Cir, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2933
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £128 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Marriott Bayview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a picturesque location at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, an all-suite hotel in Newport Beach, California offering accommodations that overlook Upper Newport Bay Nature Preserve. We provide the perfect place to rest and rejuvenate with large suites featuring luxurious amenities, placed ideally on the Pacific coast near great shopping at Fashion Island and close to Balboa Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview Hotel Newport Beach
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing