We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room but restaurant not so good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great room but restaurant not so good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was the second stop on our California trip and we were delighted with our room. Very spacious and well equipped although the towels could usefully be larger Exceptionally comfortable bed. However we were disappointed with the restaurant . Service was consistently poor and no thought had been given for catering for gluten free needs. Once again it is surprising to be charged for in room Wifi and even more surprising to pay for parking at a hotel so far out of town. If you have a car access to the beach is no problem. Good value for money overall .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    200
    62
    16
    17
See reviews for
128
107
28
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here last weekend and it was a great hotel. Close to the major shopping, far enough yet close enough to major freeways, and close to the airport. The hotel rooms our spacious and inviting. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice and roomy. The next morning we found out they had a breakfast buffet, which was delicious. A nice variety of choices and they will even make you and omelet! Delicious! The only complain I have is the price for parking. $23 a night to park your car is a bit steep. Otherwise, a great stay and look forward to the next time I get to come and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Cincinnati
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This property is a bit different from other Marriott properties, since every room in the hotel is a 1 bedroom suite, yet the rates were very reasonable. The living space / seating area is separated by frosted French doors to the bed room. There are flat screen TVs located in both spaces. It is in a great location for the Newport Beach area... close to Fashion Island and only about 14 minutes to the coast and beach areas. The rooms were nicely furnished and the hotel is very clean. The only negative that I have encountered is that it is $23 for self parking per day, and in many places you get Valet for less than that. Overall, I plan on using this hotel each time I return for business to the Newport Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is near to everything, beach, shopping, food, running trails. We love staying here and I always enjoy my runs along the bay. It's absolutely stunning when the sun sets. It's close to freeway access as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay view, it may cost a bit more but so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quynhlan_arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything was perfect at this hotel. We used the Marriott app to advise that we'd be there a bit before the 4pm check-in, and the room was ready. Breakfast buffet delicious, plenty of walking & biking trails to explore. Loved the spacious suites. Only downside is that it's a bit difficult to get to the beach if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the elevator are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful property, excellent suites, ask for the bayside view. The beds are wonderful, we had a suite with king sized bed. Bed was very comfortable, bedding was awesome, cool and comfortable. Bathrooms are very spacious and spa-like. Staff very friendly and knowledgable. Pool very nice, comfortable seating area and nice views. Wonderful walking/jogging trails around bay adjacent to hotel. Desk staff have maps and even provide you with bottled water. Recommend taking taxis to local attractions, parking is a premium and hard to find at local attractions - it was only $15 for five of us in a taxi van to Balboa Island.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davis4co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Davis4co,

Thank you for you wonderful review. We get a lot of great comments on our comfortable beds and spacious suites. The Back Bay preserve is a wonderful way to exercise or just take a walk. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our front desk team as well.

Sincerely, John J
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Please do not anticipate enjoying a meal, beverage or sporting game by yourself in the lobby bar. It attracts men who use rough language and a management who allows it. I travel every month on business and would not recommend this hotel to a woman traveling alone. I did not feel safe or respected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Manager at Newport Beach Marriott Bayview, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Carla J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the Newport Beach Marriott Bayview.

You indicated in your response that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
JOHN JOSBERGER
Director of Hotel Operations
Newport Beach Bayview Marriott
john.josberger@marriott.com
949-509-6044
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beach Marriott Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beach Marriott Bayview

Property: Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Address: 500 Bayview Cir, Newport Beach, CA 92660-2933
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Marriott Bayview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Newport Beach Marriott Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview Hotel Newport Beach
Marriott Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing