We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable one night stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable one night stay.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Upon arrival, we proceeded to the check in counter where there was a disgruntled customer waiting. No one else was behind the counter. So we waited behind him for about 15 minutes. Finally a woman emerged from a door and proceeded to deal with the man in front of us. Once they were done, we checked into our room, a little disappointed that they actually charge you for incidentals prior to your stay, then remove the charges a few days after. The woman behind the counter wasn't very happy after her previous customer and treated us very rudely as if we had caused her some inconvenience. Once we got settled into our room, we got ready for dinner down at their restaurant. The restaurant staff was fantastic. They were very polite, attentive, and the food and wine were delicious. A perfect way to end a long day. We enjoyed the beautiful ocean view from our corner room balcony, and bundled up in the crisp, cool night. The bed was very comfortable and it was an overall pleasant, brief stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ktgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    252
    76
    42
    42
See reviews for
180
276
50
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location is great and just opposite the upscale shopping mall called the fashion island.
Very Friendly staff, Excellent rooms and what not...
I loved every bit of the Hotel.
The only drawback for people would be that it is located in an upscae area and unless you are a heavy shopper for branded items at fashion island....you have nothing much to do outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We just had the pleasure of staying at The Island again while on an exhaustive business trip. The accommodations were superb, as was the entire staff who were hugely attentive. Nothing was too much effort regardless of the time of day or night. Will definitely return sooner than later!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I got a great deal with a Travelzoo voucher for a half price room with credit for food and free valet parking. We booked a corner suite and it was a great room - large comfortable sitting room, separate bedroom and a balcony with an ocean view. In fact, the room had so many windows we had lovely views of the back bay and the mountains as well. There was a separate dressing area, with a large marble topped vanity and then a large bathroom with separate shower and tub, which I really like to see.
The hotel is a very short walk to Fashion Island, so we wandered over there in the afternoon and saw a movie at the Island Cinema where you get a reserved seat and can be served wine and food while you watch - very civilised!
We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was very nice - good food, very comfortable ambience and pretty good service. Room service breakfast the next morning was a little slow - we were told 30 minutes but it was more like an hour, but the food was good and piping hot. It was lovely to sit on he balcony with our coffee and look at the view. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDM005, Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest:

I am very concerned about your recent experience at our hotel, I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with our food during your two events and want to assure you that we take all feedback with the utmost importance. I am personally looking into your concerns and will make the necessary changes so this does not occur again.

I appreciate and thank you for your feedback as feedback is a gift. I look forward to your return so that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely,

David Man, Executive Chef at Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

in a fine location, near excellent upscale mall "Fashion Island", also near many businesses, the place feels a bit dated - the colors are dull dingy yellows, the rooms are nice with fine comfortable beds with fine linens, the bathroom was above average, the staff was generally friendly - those attending to us were great but , We were there for business and for pleasure, the business meetings were well done with good food and good staff attention, the exercise facilities are small but clean and well maintained,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was at two events at the Island last week and in both cases, the food for the event was not very good at all. The brunch started with small bagels with a minuscule dot of cream cheese; not very appetizing. The dinner had just awful food. I took one bite of a turkey slider and it couldn't have been worse. Everything else looked even less appetizing. It's a nice hotel, but they need to step up the quality of their food for events.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIDM005, Manager at Island Hotel Newport Beach, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest:

I am very concerned about your recent experience at our hotel, I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations with our food during your two events and want to assure you that we take all feedback with the utmost importance. I am personally looking into your concerns and will make the necessary changes so this does not occur again.

I appreciate and thank you for your feedback as feedback is a gift. I look forward to your return so that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely,

David Man, Executive Chef at Island Hotel Newport Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were looking for a weekend getaway to the coast and this hotel fit the bill very nicely. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Our rate included a food credit and we enjoyed it for breakfast in the hotel dining room, which was very nice. Best of all was the location which was just across from Fashion Island Shopping mall which features some of the best shopping in the world. As a side note we discovered a marvelous Mexican resaurant in nearby Costa Mesa called El Corozon. Great atmosphere and well managed place with unique food (try the flaming deserts if you have room).

Room Tip: Look for Travel Zoo deal if they have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmvend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,538 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,435 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Hotel Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Newport Beach

Property: Island Hotel Newport Beach
Address: 690 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Hotel Newport Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Newport Beach in sun-kissed Southern California, Island Hotel Newport Beach is the center of coastal luxury. Offering breathtaking city and harbor views, Island Hotel features 295 guestrooms and suites, Island Club atop the 20th floor, more than 23,000 square feet of event space, the largest ballroom in Newport Beach, a full-service spa, fitness center and resort-style pool. Island Hotel is home to Oak Grill, a true Newport Beach original featuring California cuisine with influences from around the globe and a specifically curated wine, beer and spirits program. Guests may dine al fresco on the restaurant's wooden deck or lounge fireside. For entertainment, Aqua Lounge is THE place to play in Newport Beach. With tableside mixology, craft cocktails and vibrant DJs the lounge is always fun, flirtatious and engaging. A member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, guests at Island Hotel are invited to enjoy a variety of Preferred Hotel Group branded programs, including the iPrefer loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Hotel Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing