We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

After reading reviews from Trip Advisor I contacted BBC directly for reservation. My husband and I were taking our small dog to Irvine for surgery and decided to try the hotel. *Dogs allowed for additional fee.
We loved it! We booked a king view room and had a small walk out porch (ground level) & view of water & boats.
The room was immaculate, the sheets & bedding are high quality and incredibly comfortable, there's more than enough towels, the bathroom is large and well lit, bathroom amenities are awesome, the room is very quiet, the room is well appointed and furnished with cabana shutters and curtains. We had room service for late night dinner & continental breakfast. Food was fantastic & hot when delivered.
My husband used the eucalyptus steam room and said it was great. We also bought many quality items at the boutique gift shop.
Valet guys are really nice, and the entire hotel staff is professional and personable. We really enjoyed meeting everyone and appreciated their friendliness.
We very much look forward to our next visit to BBC!!

  • Liked — high quality standards & professional staff
  • Disliked — no maps
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaQuinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    151
    73
    35
    20
See reviews for
174
208
35
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

Spend the $$$ get a bayfront room and watch the world go by. Great room, great bathroom, great balcony. We have kids and have had chicken fingers from around the world and these were exceptionally good. I generally expect the worst from room service and we were pleasantly surprised by the food and service. It was a plus that the room service guy was darling and had a personality.

Only down to this location is that it really isn't in walking distance to a destination. This is a wonderful place if you want to bunk down for a weekend and enjoy the room, pool, view, spa and whomever your with.

If your a true romantic, have the hotel book a gondola for you (it's in walking distance of the hotel ) for a sunset cruise.

  • Liked — great bed, view, pool
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californialovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid Feb. Overall, pleased with the rooms, new and crisp, the bathroom was very very large with a marble shower and its own private soaking tub. Bathroom products were nice and plenty of fresh stocked towels. The view was a little cheap, of the conference room across the balcony, couldnt get a better view despite paying over 300 bucks/night. Main problems are with service, though a polished hotel, service is slow, erratic and quite frankly, holiday inn like. Valet was slow, front desk was undermanned and somewhat cocky. Ordered room service twice, had my coffee forgotten once and another time they forgot the dinner rolls. Prices at the restaurant and bar are a little high. Again, you pay for location and "stature" here, not much else.

  • Liked — Large bathrooms.
  • Disliked — Service.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

Stayed here for a quick weekend with a friend who just moved to the area. Booked through a site called Perfect Escapes in hopes of getting the "subject to availability" perks offered such as early check-in , room upgrade, and late check out. The only thing available was the early check-in at 12. The staff was friendly and helpful with questions.

We stayed in a Premier Bayfront King Room which overlooked Newport Harbor. If you can spring for this, do it since some rooms looked over the street. The bed was so insanely comfortable, we had a hard time getting out of it . Bathroom was huge with a separate bath, shower and toilet.

The only complaint would be the fact that there was really not much within walking distance and we had to get the car from the valet at least a couple of times a day. Didn't try the onsite bar or restaurants, Nice turn down service and the hotel is very quiet.

Good overall experience for the short time I was there. Make sure you check out Laguna Beach - nice artistic community

  • Liked — The BED!
  • Disliked — Not much in the way of restaurants, bars within walking distance
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wachifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

My husband and I stayed at BBC resort for 3 nights. We paid almost $500 for a ocean view room. You would expect superior service for this price tag. The room was nice decorated, but small for the price we paid. The housekeeping didn't do their job right after we spilled instant coffee powders on the carpet. It seemed that they never cleaned the room, except making your bed. It's totally unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzlingdivatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

Stayed 3 nights at this resort and would highly recommend it. It is worth paying a bit extra for a bay view room. Spacious balcony with lovely view of the water and the yachts. Some of the other rooms did not seem as appealing with views of the road or pool. I loved the comfy beds and the turndown service..chocs and light music. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Concergie was exceptional (slight Aussie accent) with great recommendations for dinner - so much first class eateries to choose from. His calls to the restaurants assured a table with a view each time - even a free dessert (he may get a nod for his recommendations but they were excellent choices,) And what a nice spa. The facials are wonderful, check their seasonal specials and don't forget your free gift coupon from the front desk. Spa staff made you feel like a million bucks!

  • Liked — comfort of room, bayview, helpful staff, great spa
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

A 5 star hotel. The service was excellent. The staff friendly and helpful. The room was clean and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable and I have a bad back and I'm 8 months pregnant. We booked a massage at the spa it was heavenly. I can't wait to go again!!!!

  • Liked — The room, the view of the bay and the friendly staff.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dflo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Property: Balboa Bay Resort
Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing