We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed ever”
Review of Balboa Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balboa Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Recently attended a meeting here and was most impressed with the beautiful room and bathroom. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in, with magnificent pillows and linens. Never got a chance to sample the restaurant, since all our meals were planned. I'll definitely return, since the club reciprocates with my club at home. I'm sure the rooms with a water view are nicer, but I wasn't unhappy with mine at all. The windows have elegant plantation shutters that look terrific if you don't like the view. Wish there were more places with history and character like this.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmccarty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Balboa Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2008

Unless you are over 50 and fond of brass buttons I would give this hotel a wide berth. We arrived having spent the day at Universal Studios in LA and were quite taken by the place, but on entering reception were not made to feel in the least welcome - largely due to the rather stuffy dress code that the hotel has in place for their public areas - which i might add was not alluded to anywhere on our booking. Due to my lack of appropriate footwear, we were forced to head out to find a restaurant for our evening meal and the reception staff seemed to think this would be unlikely at 9pm on a monday night. there was little to no nightlife in the surrounding area and we didn't stay for breakfast.

It was our honeymoon and we'd decided to splash out on our final few hotels. this worked a treat at the Pacitic Terrace in San Diego and we were treated like royalty, but i guess we're just not posh enough for the Balboa Bay set. the friendliest person there was our bellboy Emilio. As a result of the stuffiness i didn't find my stay remotely relaxing and the fact that it was the last night of our trip put a bit of a dampener on things.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MarcandCiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We had just left the Lodge at Torrey Pines which was outstanding and I found myself comparing the two properties. I had expected the Balboa to be in a more scenic location and it sat on a busy road across from a car detailing business. The customer service was average, nothing spectacular. They had a nice pool which my daughter enjoyed but when we asked about taking some of the towels to the beach we were pretty much told no. This was not at all a problem at the Lodge at Torrey Pines where they did not even blink an eye seeing us take out 4 towels to our car to go to the beach. It is just the little things like this that really can make a big difference. If we were to return to this area I would opt to stay in Laguna Beach where it is much more scenic with beaches close by. For the price the Balboa just did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Waterloo_ILSummerFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

After reading reviews from Trip Advisor I contacted BBC directly for reservation. My husband and I were taking our small dog to Irvine for surgery and decided to try the hotel. *Dogs allowed for additional fee.
We loved it! We booked a king view room and had a small walk out porch (ground level) & view of water & boats.
The room was immaculate, the sheets & bedding are high quality and incredibly comfortable, there's more than enough towels, the bathroom is large and well lit, bathroom amenities are awesome, the room is very quiet, the room is well appointed and furnished with cabana shutters and curtains. We had room service for late night dinner & continental breakfast. Food was fantastic & hot when delivered.
My husband used the eucalyptus steam room and said it was great. We also bought many quality items at the boutique gift shop.
Valet guys are really nice, and the entire hotel staff is professional and personable. We really enjoyed meeting everyone and appreciated their friendliness.
We very much look forward to our next visit to BBC!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LaQuinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Spend the $$$ get a bayfront room and watch the world go by. Great room, great bathroom, great balcony. We have kids and have had chicken fingers from around the world and these were exceptionally good. I generally expect the worst from room service and we were pleasantly surprised by the food and service. It was a plus that the room service guy was darling and had a personality.

Only down to this location is that it really isn't in walking distance to a destination. This is a wonderful place if you want to bunk down for a weekend and enjoy the room, pool, view, spa and whomever your with.

If your a true romantic, have the hotel book a gondola for you (it's in walking distance of the hotel ) for a sunset cruise.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank californialovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid Feb. Overall, pleased with the rooms, new and crisp, the bathroom was very very large with a marble shower and its own private soaking tub. Bathroom products were nice and plenty of fresh stocked towels. The view was a little cheap, of the conference room across the balcony, couldnt get a better view despite paying over 300 bucks/night. Main problems are with service, though a polished hotel, service is slow, erratic and quite frankly, holiday inn like. Valet was slow, front desk was undermanned and somewhat cocky. Ordered room service twice, had my coffee forgotten once and another time they forgot the dinner rolls. Prices at the restaurant and bar are a little high. Again, you pay for location and "stature" here, not much else.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

Stayed here for a quick weekend with a friend who just moved to the area. Booked through a site called Perfect Escapes in hopes of getting the "subject to availability" perks offered such as early check-in , room upgrade, and late check out. The only thing available was the early check-in at 12. The staff was friendly and helpful with questions.

We stayed in a Premier Bayfront King Room which overlooked Newport Harbor. If you can spring for this, do it since some rooms looked over the street. The bed was so insanely comfortable, we had a hard time getting out of it . Bathroom was huge with a separate bath, shower and toilet.

The only complaint would be the fact that there was really not much within walking distance and we had to get the car from the valet at least a couple of times a day. Didn't try the onsite bar or restaurants, Nice turn down service and the hotel is very quiet.

Good overall experience for the short time I was there. Make sure you check out Laguna Beach - nice artistic community

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wachifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
2.3 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,627 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,547 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Bay Resort

Address: 1221 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-5026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: £186 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balboa Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience life and style that's perfectly balanced at the Balboa Bay Resort. A boutique ambiance combined with plush accommodations, sophisticated and personalized service, gourmet dining and unparallel location close to scenic beaches, nearby world-class shopping, restaurants and award winning designed golf courses make it the perfect destination for those seeking the quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience. Whether you're planning a romantic weekend getaway, a large-scale business function, or the wedding of your dreams, the Balboa Bay Resort offers unparalleled services and amenities to suit a variety of needs. Located on 15 waterfront acres in the heart of Newport Beach, halfway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the four-diamond property sprawls along the bay like a meandering Mediterranean villa. **Please note that starting Friday, November 6 through Thursday, January 7, 2016, the resort will begin a very exciting and highly anticipated guest room enhancement project. Each guest room will be updated with fresh, modern and contemporary furnishings including carpet, wall coverings, furniture and fixtures, along with a select number of rooms which will receive reconfigured bathrooms. We anticipate the noise level to be slightly higher than normal during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Please be assured that your guest room will be far removed from the area of work so you can fully enjoy your time with us and delight in a quintessential Southern California lifestyle experience.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Balboa Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balboa Bay Club Hotel Newport Beach
The Balboa Bay Club And Resort
The Balboa Bay Hotel
The Balboa Bay Resort
Balboa Bay Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing