We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Across the Street From the Beach!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Across the Street From the Beach!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were winding down after a couple of days at Disney. Choose this hotel because of the price and location across the street from the Beach. We upgraded to a Partial Ocean View Room. Unfortunately, there was quite a bit of noise from the street with the Patio Door open, but when it was closed, you couldn't hear it. Very Impressed with the Rooms. The hotel is basic looking from street and interior, but the rooms have been updated and were very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was also an added plus. Very Impressed by the front desk loaning our family the hotel's supply of beach chairs and sand digging equipment. Nice Touch!! We really enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWNBINN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
It is so great to hear from satifsfied guests such as yourself and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you found our hotel a refreshing change from the hustle and bustle of Anaheim, and we thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    133
    81
    32
    30
See reviews for
167
106
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

we decided to stay at this hotel because it is close to the beach.. one of the worst i have ever stayed at.. the lady at the front was really rude!!!! and there was bugs in my room. my feet were black after walking around in there with no shoes. the lady at desk never said i had to pay for parking so she just went ahead and charged that to my card without saying anything. i work at a bestwestern but this place sux really bad. the only perk is its across the street from the ocean. other then that, that place is horrible!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: there is no spa!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misty f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWNBINN, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hello,
We appreciate your candid comments and are very sorry that stay did not exceed your expectation. Our various departments have been made aware of the comments and are taking steps make sure that future guests do not have the same experience. We do hope you consider giving us another chance in the future.
Arthur A Adolphson
Night Audit Manager
BW Newport Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Location, Location, Location!!! We really enjoyed our overnight stay here. The beach was just across the street. We arrived in Newport Beach around 11:30 hoping that we might be able to at least park our car at the hotel so we could hit the beach early (despite the overcast weather). Not only did they let us park but recommended a local deli for lunch and said to come back in 1 hour and they would have our room ready for check-in early. Super service!!

Rooms were newly remodeled, stylish and CLEAN!! Comfy beds, free wi-fi and a mini fridge!! Bathroom was huge and sparkling. They had beach chairs, umbrellas and body boards for guests to take to the beach at no additional cost.

The best part was the waffle lady, sorry I didn't get her name but she was absolutely fabulous! Extremely patient, helpful and friendly. She made sure all guests had plenty of waffles even though it was packed. She visited with us a bit and was such a pleasure! Perfect end to our short trip to the beach!

I'd highly recommend this place to anyone. I've stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels that didn't come close to style, comfort and service of this incredible little jem of Newport Beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors so you have a better view of the surroundings and less noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamInKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWNBINN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
The entire team appreciates you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your next visit when you travel to Newport Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We hadn't stayed in a Best Western in 4 years, so we didn't think much had changed. We picked this place because of its proximity to the beach and of course price. We got one of the few rooms that have a partial ocean view, as the hotel doesn't offer full views. When we arrived it looked like the classic Best Western. Once we were in our room....NICE!! It had a great bed, with updated bedding. The place was very clean looking, even the carpet. We had a leather couch and a nice chair with ottoman. The TV was a bit small, but that is really the only thing that I would change. The day we got there, the house keeping staff had just been awarded the best of the best type award from the corporate office. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. They suggested restaurants and steered us clear of overpriced bad food. There is noise from the PCH but when the patio door is closed it is very muted. I was never bothered by it. There is no hot tub, which was a bummer after a long day. It would have been nice to relax in one. They had everything that you need for the beach for loan. This was such a nice relaxing stay!!

Room Tip: I'm sure that the rooms further away from the PCH are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWNBINN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
The entire staff thanks you for the review you posted. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Newport Beach. Our Housekeeping team is certainly proud of their award from Best Western International, but your comments are just as important!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

My wife, our 23-year-old son, and I travelled to Newport Beach from Texas to visit our 19-year-old son who was staying in the area for a couple months. If you are looking for the Taj Mahal, go to India. But if you are looking for a friendly, well-kept place just across the street from the beach, with comfortable, clean beds, an excellent shower, and the absolutely nicest breakfast hostess in California, then this property will fit the bill. We stayed in Room 412 and I confess to being uncertain when I noticed it was right next to the elevator. I need not have worried. Noise was never a problem. Parking for hotel guests on-site or in the very nearby off-site lot was included in the price of our room. (I did NOT get charged $10/day for parking; maybe that's only during peak season ... or maybe they've changed the policy). Our room was a double queen. It was a tight fit. But we didn't go all the way to California to sit in our hotel room. We were out nearly all day, every day. When we returned in the evening, our beds were made, towels exchanged, and we felt quite at home from the first night. We stayed six nights and would not have blinked an eye to stay longer. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The breakfast hostess is one of the highlights of this property: She delighted in fixing every guest's waffles, dispensing helpful travel tips, encouragement, and even pats on the back as she puttered around the breakfast room each morning. Look: If you are used to staying in Hiltons or Intercontinentals or other high-end properties, you won't appreciate this Best Western. But if you have reason to experience Orange County, California, and want to keep within a reasonable budget, book your room now. You won't regret it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWNBINN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
All we can manage is "WOW"! The entire team at the hotel thanks you for your lengthy review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we couldn't have said it better about Brenda in the Breakfast Room. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Newport Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Darkish, run down, needs updating. It looks very tired. They charge $10/night for parking when there is adjacent, free on street parking as well. Across Pacific Coast Highway + a block from the beach. Checked in in the afternoon and bath towels were not done in the washer till a few hours later. Security doors to the outside often easy to get through without card. Just a worn out place. OK but not great at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55234724surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWNBINN, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We value all of the feedback we receive from guests, and thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We have spoken with the various team members to improve the linen turnaround time. We also hope to see you again in Newport Beach on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inland Empire CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I didn't get her name, but the little gal who helped in the breakfast area was AWESOME! The spread was decent as well - good variety.

Check-in was quick and friendly even though it was 10 PM. Parking is a bit confusing and limited, but the signal at the corner makes it easy to turn left onto PCH during rush hour!

The room was nice, clean and newer looking, although the hotel itself is a little antique and the elevator is dingy and noisy. Bathroom fan was noisy.

Some reviews said it was loud so we should ask for a pool facing room. We weren't on the pool side but we didn't have noise issues (it was Thursday PM, so not a big party night)

Room Tip: A bit tricky to get to the beach with little ones and all of your gear. Plan ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCaliforniaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthura1, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Hello,
We are very glad you enjoyed your stayed. It is our aim to ensure that all of our guests have the optimal experience. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward toward your next visit.
Arthur Adolphson
Night audit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
5.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
Address: 6208 West Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing