We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Redlands, United States
2 reviews
“Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great hotel and location. staff was courteous and helpful. The only issue I had was that the parking lot was small, both the main and the ancillary. Besides that very minor issue, I would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear David C.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us real soon! Thank you for taking the time to share with others about your experience. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations with our service and cleanliness. We welcome your feedback about our parking lot and we are glad to hear that the size of it was only a minor issue for you. Thank you!

See you soon!
Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    134
    81
    33
    31
See reviews for
168
108
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This had a nice location, just across the street from the Newport Beach. There weren't a lot of shops in walking distance, but the Eat Chow restaurant next door was actually delicious & reasonably priced. The hotel room was average, and the breakfast sub-par. The pricepoint was right for my corporate rate though. I was traveling on business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Sarah M,

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay during your recent business trip. We thank you for your candid feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport Beach.

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband & I have stayed here about 6x in the last couple of years and have left 3 positive TA reviews. We loved this hotel and had become our go to place in So Cal. We don't spend much time in any hotel we stay in, it's mainly a place for us to sleep & shower. We rarely deal with any staff once we're checked in, but this time was VERY different.
We recently stayed here for my birthday in September and it was by far the absolute WORST experience ever in a hotel! Upon check in, the man at the front desk made us wait 20 minutes while he finished a phone call. We had reserved a specific room, had an email from management that that specific room was reserved, upon check in it was NOT available. We were given a room 1/2 the size next to the noisy elevator. The following day we left the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door while we went to breakfast. It was ignored and upon returning the maid was in our room. We greeted her & she rolled her eyes at us. She left the room & told a fellow maid in spanish how rude WE were for not allowing her to finish cleaning the room. I am bilingual and understood all the rude comments she made the entire conversation. About 10 minutes later, the front desk manager PUSHED her way into our room stating that the maid smelled smoke in our room - WE HAD JUST GOTTEN BACK FROM AN ALMOST 2 HOUR BREAKFAST AT THE RESTAURANT DOWN THE BLOCK - HOW COULD WE HAVE BEEN IN THERE SMOKING! No apologies from anyone for the rude intrusion TWICE! They ignore the DO NOT DISTURB sign and they push their way into your room without allowing them in. The following day at check out, we had about 15 minutes left. The same maid was BANGING ON OUR DOOR TO LEAVE SO SHE COULD CLEAN!! We opened the door, told her we were leaving, we closed the door and SHE KEPT BANGING ON THE DOOR!!! We finally manage to check out of this nightmare of a hotel only for the rude front desk woman who barged in the day before to tell us that the SAME maid told her that we were staying another day! We said NO SUCH THING!! We couldn't wait to get the hell out of there! & because of that, my card was charged, refunded, charged etc to the point that almost $1000 was frozen on my card for a 2 night stay. I work in the hospitality industry and have traveled extensively and never ever in all of my years have I encountered such disturbing behavior.
The worst part, we have been loyal customers for years, have left many positive reviews, have referred friends and family, only to be treated like this and on my birthday no less. The manager, Angelica (------), did not take the time to contact us or apologize to us even after 2 emails. ONLY when I filled out the BW Corporate Survey at the end of our stay, she contacted us with a generic apology & we were given 3,000 Best Western points. I wanted a REFUND for this awful stay & they never responded. What am I going to do with points if I'll never stay here again. This hotel is disgusting! Neither we nor our friends and family will ever return. We were long time loyal customers and were treated like this - how do you think you will be treated? This hotel is ranked 16 out of 17 now - that says ALOT. It is truly the worst! I wouldn't even give them 1 star, but that is the minimum TA allows you to choose. DO NOT STAY HERE!! There are way too many hotels in the area to have to deal with this nonsense.

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Solful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Solful1,

Thank you for making our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn your preferred hotel when you visit Newport Beach. We are very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations throughout your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. Based on your testimony, we have done just that six other times and you have returned. For that, we thank you.

We understand that there is nothing we have done or could do to make up for this experience and that despite our efforts to make things right we are unable to see eye to eye. We welcome your comments and have shared your review with the hotel team. I know they share our vision of providing the best experience possible. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate it and welcome any opportunity to improve.
If there is anything I can do for you or the team can do for you, please call us at 949.642.8252. Thank you.
Regards.
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The staff at this Best Western was the friendliest and most helpful staff we can remember. They always had a smile and cheery word. You were never ignored. If we are in Newport beach we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear James B.,

Thank you for complimenting our great service! It is our goal to provide you with a memorable stay. and we are so glad you noticed!

Thank you for taking the time to let others know. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Best Western in Newport Beach is everything you need for your beach holiday. Their location is perfect with an easy stroll to the world class beaches and excellent restaurants. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with an excellent attentive staff. They provide a nice continental breakfast, swimming pool, and exercise room. There is plenty of off street parking for $7 per day. All the great locations and amenities of Newport Beach and Orange County are an easy drive from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KarylG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear KarylG,

Thank you for your perfect score! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about our great hotel. We certainly strive to have a hotel our guests LOVE. I will be sharing your comments to my team so that they can also be proud of their hard work. Thank you.

Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week and found the hotel to be fine. After reading some of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised and the friendliness of the staff was much appreciated. It was nice to have beach chairs to borrow for an afternoon at no extra charge. Yes, the street side is noisy but that is typical with any hotel that has street facing rooms. I didn't mind paying $7 for parking...actually a pretty good deal compared to lots of other hotels. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Robinhgp,
Thank you for staying at our Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn during your visit to Newport Beach! We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and took advantage of the gorgeous beach just right across the street. I am happy we exceeded your expectations! We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you stay with us again soon! Thank you!
Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Close proximity to the beach but it's across a multi lane very busy highway. We paid for a "partial ocean view" but couldn't really see anything from our room except the road that goes to the beach (about 2 blocks away). It was an easy walk to a very nice stretch of beach which we enjoyed quite a bit. The room itself was fine - clean and well kept. The staff was very nice. The parking was crowded and I was surprised to be charged for parking when that wasn't part of the deal but at $7 per night, decided not to make a fuss about it. A bonus was a very nice Italian/spaghetti house on the same block with excellent food and wine!

Room Tip: Be aware that one side of the hotel (west side) is on a very busy street with heavy and noisy traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanlover5343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelica R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear oceanlover5343,
Thank you for taking a moment to comment about your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the disappointment of not having a full ocean view. Some of our views will be better than others depending on the location of the room but it is always a partial ocean view. Our guests that stay on a balcony room versus a standard room do enjoy a larger room, Tempur-Pedic Beds, upgraded Bath & Body Works bathroom amenities among other upgrades. Next time you are in town, let me personally block the best room for you. You may reach me at 949.642.8252 EXT 171. Thank you!
Regards,
Angélica Rivera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
1.6 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn
Address: 6208 West Pacific Coast Highway, Newport Beach, CA 92663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Newport Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing