We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Full disclosure: I'm a train fan so that may have colored my review a bit. But only a bit.

This is a cute "concept hotel"; each "room" is a real caboose. We stayed in "Celebrations" which has a jacuzzi. The room was great. The staff was great. The view & ambience was great (check out the swing in the common yard area) and they have their own dock for fishing and sunset worshipping. The grounds are kept in great shape and the cabooses have all the usual amenities except for Internet access. For that you have to go to the main building or nearby to get a signal strong enough to use. Given that cabooses are made of metal there's zero chance of getting a signal inside, even when your caboose is the closest to the main building (as ours was).

If you're the typical carnivore male half of a couple and it's your mate that's the big B&B fan then you'll be a little disappointed with the breakfast. On our last day it was quiche and chicken sausage. Only American coffee is served - no espresso/capuccino/hot chocolate. And neither morning's breakfast included any kind of bread or pastry ala European style breakfast. On the other hand there are a couple of good breakfast places down the road and a spectacular Thai restaurant (try the Spicy Lamb special if it's available - it's awesome).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACnotliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBRR, Owner at Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Greetings from the Featherbed Railroad. We're always so happy to hear that people loved this little oasis on the lake and we're equally happy to continually improve the experience people have here. One point of interest I wanted to highlight, we have six varieties of hot chocolate available to our guests on the counter with the coffee. There are also lots of teas for those who love tea as well. Thank you for your review and for being our guest - we sure appreciated your being here and glad you had a great time! Great pictures, too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

One of the coolest places I spent the night in was the Orient Express caboose in Featherbed Inn. My girlfriend and I enjoyed a romantic weekend in this cozy place. The indoor hot tub made all the difference in the world. The hosts helped with filling breakfast and good advice. I urge everyone to try it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddykon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The hosts/owners, Tony & Peggy, try to accommodate, but are not experienced at running a Bed & Breakfast. They had family camping on the grounds who monopolized the pool and hammock, so paying guests were not able to use these facilities, as well as eating everything which would have been available to the paying guests. Was extremely disappointed as we stayed 3 nights - probably would be better as a novelty for one night. Featherbed was a joke - had horrible backaches. Don't stay in Tropicaboose as it's too small and smells (and is not very clean). Again, hosts should pay more attention to their guests needs and requests. Breakfast was always some type of quiche. No cereal or request for fruit was available as was told their family ate everything. Not good...

Room Tip: Tropicaboose was quite small and smelled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WLADeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My husband & I are both from R. R. families, with our Dad's both working in various capacities (his Dad as a Station Master in PA, and my Dad a Brakeman & Conductor for the S. P. (Southern Pacific) out of Roseville, CA for 40 years).

According to my Dad, the S. P. retired their cabooses in the late 1980's, and some were sold with the wheels and some without. He says they'd have shipped them to Nice without the wheels, laid the track each one sits on, and then re-united the caboose with its wheels in place. It seems to me the original owner spent a lot of time planning and executing this themed property.

We recognized the R. R. radio station playing in our room as soon as we walked in!! Thanks to Tony, it is available 24 hours a day with only his advertising!!!

There are several styles of cabooses, and different themes for all nine. Some of the interior features are original to the working cabooses. I chose one with the hot tub and thoroughly enjoyed using it!!!

We thought the bed looked a little iffy -- until we sat/laid down on the DOWN/featherbed mattress and pillows!!! They were WONDERFUL!!!

The grounds are delightful!! They have a private pier that is very nice!! Peggy and Tony are the BEST!! Great people and great food!!!

We'll DEFINATELY be back!!! I need to bring my Dad and Mom!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here by chance, it had been recommended by a local cafe but we couldnt find it on the GPS. Anyway when we pulled up at the roadside to get our bearings it happened to be over the road. So glad we got there as it is an amazing experience. The rooms are incredible and themed cabooses. We would highly recommend a stay here not just because the rooms are spectacular but because the hosts are fabulous too. We stayed in the easy rider room, just perfect for harley davidson fans. All in all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I were looking for a last quick getaway before his deployment. We found this place online and I booked it, based on the fact it looked different and quiet. We loved it. The rooms are uniquely decorated with different themes. The bed was comfortable. The area grounds were very nicely kept. The breakfast was great. The hosts were friendly. We can't wait to go back when he returns and experience another room. It really is refreshing to visit something different from the mainstream chain hotels.

Room Tip: Check their website online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e3ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

By the luck of the draw, I stayed in the cutest and most charming place I've ever laid my head. During the Outdoor Writers Association of California conference, May 1st and 2nd, I was assigned the Featherbed Railroad B & B, (www.featherbedrailroad.com) in the upper Clear Lake town of Nice. Each unit was an old RR caboose converted into a comfortable room, complete with jacuzzi bath tub wine glasses, lounging robes and decorative touches.

Stretched out in the comfortable bed, I was lulled to sleep by the fountain outside my room. The lake was just steps away, and they have a few kayaks for guests who want to explore. There is also a pool and an old fashion swing hung from a tall tree.

Amenities include a private dock and beach with a boat launch, bicycles, ping pong tables, delicious breakfast, individual heat and air conditioning, coffee makers, cable TV with media player and movies. Rooms run from $140 to $220 per night.

Tony, the friendly proprietor, goes out of his way to make guests feel comfortable. The next time you're considering a visit to Clear Lake, give him a call at [--].

Room Tip: check the rooms on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
4.1 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
239 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
263 reviews
15.5 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
1.1 mi away
WorldMark Clear Lake
1.9 mi away
Robinson Rancheria Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort

Address: 2870 Lakeshore Blvd, Nice, CA 95485-8726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: £104 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Featherbed Railroad is a unique bed and breakfast resort on Clear Lake where visitors experience nine vintage railroad cabooses, each decorated with an individual theme. Most of the cabooses feature in-room Jacuzzi tubs and all have an incredible view of Clear Lake. With a huge variety of nearby recreation including almost 30 wineries, this unique and romantic getaway is the perfect place to celebrate being in love or just enjoying the tranquility of the peaceful surroundings. Enjoy the private dock, sit on the porch of the 100-year-old Main Station or languish in the pool. Full breakfast daily crafted from locally-sourced and home-made ingredients. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Featherbed Railroad Bed And Breakfast Resort
Featherbed Railroad Hotel Nice
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort Nice, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing