We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Concept, excellent presentation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique Concept, excellent presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I love trains, so this place was a no brainer! We arrived late, but our caboose was open with the key inside. We had chosen the Casablanca but were moved to the Orient Express. The rooms are small (they are cabooses after all) but well appointed. A great deal of care has gone into the conversion and conservation of these cars. Our room had a jacuzzi tube, a nice treat after a long day. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the morning view of the lake from our deck as well as from our cupola was spectacular. The breakfast of french toast was very good. A small error with the bill was handled graciously and efficiently by the owners. We will return to this unique spot.

Room Tip: The Santa Fe cabooses have copulas, the Southern Pacific ones do not. For a really different sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    18
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
91
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My fiance loves trains, so when I saw a LivingSocial deal for this place I just had to get it for him. Rooms that used to be cabooses? I've gotta see this. We were lucky enough to stay in the Casablanca Room. We opened the door to a room with "Rick's Cafe Americana" in neon above a piano and the sheet music for "As Time Goes By." There was even a bar and a coat rack that had a coat and hat very similar to Humphrey Bogart's in the corner. It was absolutely precious. We spent two great nights in Nice and enjoyed the fresh air and quiet surroundings to the fullest. The breakfasts were good, though not my favorite, and the way the breakfast room is set up it doesn't really lend itself to getting to know your neighbor. If you're a couple who is looking for alone time, this might be a terrific choice for you.

Room Tip: We loved the Casablanca Room. If we go back next time I really want to try either The Wine Tasting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We used a Living Social deal to stay 2 nights in the Wild, Wild, West caboose. Sooo cute! The bed was heavenly comfortable. This caboose has a clawfoot tub, not a jacuzzi like the others. However, it was still a great place to stay. Breakfasts were delicious; Tony and Peggy are warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnodnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights there using a Groupon - staying in Celebrations caboose. No problem making a reservation. The hosts, Peggy and Tony, are wonderful - very friendly and helpful.

Positives - quiet; on lake; great freshly cooked breakfasts; friendly; unique atmosphere. Wife said it was very romantic!!
Concerns - a bit pricy if we did not have a Groupon. Breakfast was not until 9 making it awkward for early risers (like me) - especially when I wanted to hike up Wright Peak before it got too hot.

Loved it and will go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I love this little gem of a place! You can choose a "theme" caboose which is totally detached from all the others, hence total privacy...including a hot tub/jacuzzi in every caboose. The owners are delightful and totally helpful. The property is on Clear Lake...which is beautiful. Lots to do closeby, but doing nothing is absolutely perfect, too. Breakfast is included and is always delicious. I've been there twice now, friends are going this week, and I look forward to my next visit. Be sure to swing on the big swing attached to an old oak:)

Room Tip: Go with your whimsy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySausalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Every now and again in life and travels you stumble across a unique and wonderful experience. For me one of those was having the privilege of finding the featherbed railroad b&b.

We headed up to Clearlake on a recent road trip through North Cali and happened to stop by the tourist information post looking for somewhere to stop. They put the featherbed on our list and even when it was described we knew its where we would want to stop! You get to sleep in a US railcar!! What more could you ask?!

We just missed the booking office as its closed from 12-3 so if you're dropping in then make sure you avoid this time. We headed back at 3 and were greeted by the owner Tony. A wonderful man who just seems to add to the mystique of the place. Chatty, charismatic and full of stories he booked us to the easy rider room whilst the model train ambled its way around the reception and dining room ceiling. Outside on the veranda an old radio played tunes and somehow whisked you away to a magical place.

The Easy Rider caboose was awesome. Notwithstanding the fact it's a converted caboose the whole theme had an air of fun and kitsch frivolity about it. The room was spacious, had a jacuzzi bath and a few other little fun surprises that I'll leave you to find out.

The setting is wonderful next to the lake shore and I can only imagine that in the summer to sit and enjoy a glass of wine on the hotel's private jetty looking across the water is divine (it was raining the evening we stopped!).

After a cosy an sound night's sleep we ventured into the main station house for breakfast. Again Tony greeted us and settled us in for a hearty breakfast - including dessert! Because there's always time for dessert (a man out of my own heart!)

We headed out from the featherbed beautifully rested, pleasantly fed and with a lovely light hearted skip in our step.

There is something truly magical and youth infusing about this place. I'm no railway geek, but to have the opportunity to stop in a caboose is something everyone should experience. We didn't stop smiling from the second we drove onto the property.

If you're ever within an hour's drive of this place then you need to make the detour and make it a place to stop !!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We loved the place. We used a Living Social coupon which was great because I would not have known the Featherbed Railroad was even there if not for the Living Social coupon. The grounds were beautiful, a park-like setting. The breakfasts were awesome and filling and our caboose was lovely. The jaccuzzi tub was huge and I loved how far apart each caboose was. They felt very private. There was a rope swing in the middle of the grass area and I decided right then, this was what heaven must look like!! We got to see several of the different cabooses on the inside and each were all wonderfully decorated. I can't wait to go again and try a different caboose. Definitely go!!

Tina C.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
8.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
15.5 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
4.1 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
12.6 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
17.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort

Property: Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort
Address: 2870 Lakeshore Blvd, Nice, CA 95485-8726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Featherbed Railroad is a unique bed and breakfast resort on Clear Lake where visitors experience nine vintage railroad cabooses, each decorated with an individual theme. Most of the cabooses feature in-room Jacuzzi tubs and all have an incredible view of Clear Lake. With a huge variety of nearby recreation including almost 30 wineries, this unique and romantic getaway is the perfect place to celebrate being in love or just enjoying the tranquility of the peaceful surroundings. Enjoy the private dock, sit on the porch of the 100-year-old Main Station or languish in the pool. Full breakfast daily crafted from locally-sourced and home-made ingredients. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Featherbed Railroad Bed And Breakfast Resort
Featherbed Railroad Hotel Nice
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort Nice, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing