We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We had a great stay at the Featherbed Railroad Bed and Breakfast in Nice, CA at Clearlake. The owners, Tony and Peggy, are very nice people. We went during Thanksgiving and all the guests are invited to join Tony and Peggy for Thanksgiving dinner. The place is really neat and each Caboose has a different theme. The grounds are just beautiful and it’s right across the street from the lake. They have a really cool swing that’s fun too. They also have a swimming pool and spa that is open during the summer. The breakfasts were delicious. I loved everything they served. It’s not your typical breakfast, much better. I highly recommend this place for a very unique experience. How often do you get to sleep in a caboose.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    20
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
97
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crockett
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I booked this trip for my boyfriends birthday, we loved it no phones great food, wonderful host, we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finfanandeightball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This is by far the best B&B I have ever stayed at. It was quiet and relaxing and fun which is just what my husband and I were looking for.

I have never seen a caboose transformed into my own private 'cottage'. It was truly delightful. And the first thing we saw was a huge jacuzzi tub big enough for two. And the view from our caboose was so wonderful. We were able to see the ducks and quail as well as the lake and mountains.

Peggy and Tony were the best hosts. They included so many personal touches that made our vacation so memorable. They offer a great library of books, videos, and games as well as 24 hour coffee and hot cocoa and also popcorn for those nights in front of the fireplace or cozying up in our room. And the breakfasts were all made fresh each morning...and of course included dessert. They use fresh ingredients including eggs from a local farm and home-grown herbs and spices.

They also provide a listing of the events going on around the lake. This sure helps those of us from out of town find fun things to do during our stay. And they even have their own dock...which is very romantic at night.

The cabooses were unique, the location was peaceful, the sites were awesome, Peggy and Tony were wonderful. We could not have asked for a better vacation. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The railroad cars make great rooms, the bed and bath were comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Having access to the video collection was a nice amenity. We had no complaints--the price just seemed a bit steep since we were using the place as a stopover rather than as a destination. However, we'd consider going back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This is a great idea, great location but it needs updating. It could with a little TLC be a classy inn but as it is tacky would be a better classification. Our caboose had cobwebs galore mainly in the cupola but also on door frames. The wall sconces appear not to have been cleaned for awhile with bugs in them. Our caboose had a private deck that hadn't been swept off prior to our arrival or during our stay. The breakfast lacked originality, I've had better continental breakfasts. The private boat dock had half the lights burned out. Other than check in the service was marginal.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomomids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We booked the Casablanca caboose for two nights. Our check-in was quick and pleasant. Once in our room, we discovered that our refrigerator was not working. I headed back to the office (there are no phones in the cabooses) and notified Peggy, who is one of the owners, and she responded immediately. She put a new fridge in our room, and we were up and running.

Each room has a different theme. Some rooms have spa tubs, others have a special sitting area where you can look at the lake. The room we had was neat and tidy but maybe just a little more deep cleaning would made it nicer. I know they are updating each caboose and look forward to trying one of those on our next visit.

Breakfast was such a pleasure. It is served in the dining room between 9am - 10am which is nice, since, who wants to get up early on their day off for breakfast? Tony and Peggy, the owners of the b&b, both cook in the kitchen and wait on their guests' every need. Better hosts I don't think you can find. They are happy to give you ideas on things to do in the area, as well as making sure you are enjoying your stay. There is a pool and they have bicycles for their guests to use.

They have a boat dock across the street so you can go out and sit on the lake and enjoy the view. There are nice lights out there even for the evening stroll, which my husband and I did after dinner.

The grounds are pretty and well maintained. A couple of the rooms have their own decks with chairs. But if you don't have one of those, they do have chairs placed throughout so you can enjoy the "park" setting.

I do want to make sure that if you plan on visiting the Featherbed, please keep in mind that this is a "value" B&B. It has been around for a while and you can tell that some things need to be updated. BUT, the beds are fabulous and what you do get for the price makes this well worth a try. I know we'll be back, and you have to try this place at least once.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Fun_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, California
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

This is our second stay here at Featherbed R.R.
We wish the finest for the new owners who are very nice folks.
On another site with reviews we read about them serving a new Thanksgiving Coffee. This is a good thing.
Also new housekeepers are in the works too..This we found was really needed during our stay in "Wine Country" caboose..
We look forward to another stay here to see the improvments.
The big Clearlake was kinda smelly this fall..

  • Liked — The Railroad theme
  • Disliked — cobwebs inside and out
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
15.5 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
8.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
18 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Lakeport
110 reviews
1.1 mi away
WorldMark Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort

Property: Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort
Address: 2870 Lakeshore Blvd, Nice, CA 95485-8726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake County > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Featherbed Railroad is a unique bed and breakfast resort on Clear Lake where visitors experience nine vintage railroad cabooses, each decorated with an individual theme. Most of the cabooses feature in-room Jacuzzi tubs and all have an incredible view of Clear Lake. With a huge variety of nearby recreation including almost 30 wineries, this unique and romantic getaway is the perfect place to celebrate being in love or just enjoying the tranquility of the peaceful surroundings. Enjoy the private dock, sit on the porch of the 100-year-old Main Station or languish in the pool. Full breakfast daily crafted from locally-sourced and home-made ingredients. Open year 'round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Featherbed Railroad Bed And Breakfast Resort
Featherbed Railroad Hotel Nice
Featherbed Railroad Bed & Breakfast Resort Nice, CA - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing