We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere in a remote location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaleidoscope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaleidoscope Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nipomo B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere in a remote location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The house and grounds have great character - a beautiful place for a wedding. My wife and I love the carriage room. The cottage room was much smaller, smelled mildewy, and didn't appeal to us - with stone walls and a very low ceiling. Some of the bedrooms require going down the hall to their designated bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed just for one night on a drive from SF - LA. After a small hiccup with our booking (we booked via a third party rather than directly with Kaleidoscope) that was readily cleared by Kevin's superb communication, my partner and I had a lovely stay in this gorgeous old Victorian style home. We were welcomed at the door by Kevin and shown to our room (with the fluffiest of fluffy bed clothes!) and had a very restful, well-earned, comfy night sleep. In the morning we were served a delicious warm breakfast and then spent time laying in the sunshine of Kaleidoscope's beautiful gardens.

The location is somewhat out of the way but we found two restaurants within walking distance and could not have asked for a better place to rest our heads overnight, especially when booked earlier that morning!

Thank you Kevin, we'll be recommending Kaleidoscope to travelling friends in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laekkermorgenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our son's wedding here in the garden was a nightmare. Kevin and Carolayne were rude and not attentive to the property at all. The whole area is in a state of disrepair. When we arrived to set up for the wedding and reception, there were maggots all over the area where the buffet was to be set up later that day. When I brought it to their attention, they wanted me to wait until 2 hours before the ceremony before they would address the problem. The linens were dirty and had holes in them and there were broken chairs. Without notice, they started folding up the tables and chairs while the reception was still going on, and then threatened to call the sheriff on the bride and groom when they were getting ready to leave because they were talking in the street too loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 31kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nipomo hotels

Waimanalo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Cottage for two nights, in order to attend a wedding in Santa Maria.

Kevin was extremely accommodating, leaving a key for us and texting me the key code, as we got in around 3 in the morning, following a flight from Hawaii and a three hour drive from San Jose. Unfortunately, that's as good as it got. We were woken at 6am by symphony of weed whackers and leaf blowers right outside our window.

Inside the cottage was damp, and smelled terribly of mold and mildew. Even the sheets smelled as if they'd been forgotten in the washer for too long, and then dried anyhow, instead of being re-washed. If I had to guess, when not in use the cottage just gets locked up, with all of the sheets, blankets, and robes in place. Nothing gets stripped and stored in a dry location, and no de-humidifier gets used. The towels, which are in the bathroom just off the kitchen, were not much better. Ultimately you get the distinct sense that you're sleeping in a garden shed- and the noise from the yard work does nothing to dissuade that notion.

The early morning yard noise wasn't an isolated event, as we were woken the second morning by the same leaf blower, as the yard crew prepared for a wedding.

As we were leaving someone, I'm assuming Kevin, said hi, and asked my husband if we enjoyed our stay. My husband replied with an extremely dubious sounding "eeeeehhh...", which would almost always cause an innkeeper to stop and ask what the problem was, but not here. The reply was "Wonderful! Have a great day!"

The Kaleidoscope Inn is kind of the only game in town, if you want a B & B. For the money though, you'd probably be better off in a hotel or motel closer to SLO, Pismo or Santa Maria.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheknitsthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

A smaller version of Madonna inn. Rooms have character, are clean and reasonable .My family was very comfortable here and we will definitely be coming back when we are traveling again. I love the town and it was so nice to find a place nearby to rest after having a great steak and a glass of wine. I will recommended to all my friends!

Room Tip: Ask about bed comfort .especially if you prefer a mattress softness or firmness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We were driving from Orange County to Sacramento and wanted an overnight stop to break-up the long drive. Having spent much time in Santa Barbara, Solvang, and San Luis Obispo over the years, we decided to find a hotel in Nipomo as something new and because we wanted to try Jocko's Steakhouse (great!). As far as we could tell, the Kaleidoscope Inn was the only game in town, and It was two block's from Jocko's so we gave it a try.

Nipomo is not a destination in itself. The inland (Kaleidoscope) side of the freeway looks like a little farm town that has grown without the benefit of zoning. The other side of the freeway is suburbia with most of the town's population and newer development. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is a mish-mash. However, the hotel itself is an attractive building (although a bit worn and in need of paint) and the one-acre lot it sits on is beautifully landscaped. We were there by ourselves (no on-site host or other guests, and frankly it felt a little weird. Also no TV.

If you have a reason to be in Nipomo overnight (friends, family, or business in town), would recommend the Kaleidoscope Inn -- but Nipomo is not a tourist destination. There are more interesting and attractive towns to use as a base to explore California's central coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrrlDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Lake
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

On the night before my arrival, proprietor Kevin stated that if we would get to Nipomo before 7:00 pm on the following day, there would be no problem getting me settled in before he left for the evening. On the following day, about 15 minutes away from Nipomo at 5:10 or so we gave him a courtesy call to indicate that we would be in town shortly. Kevin then indicated that due to staffing issues, (he did not indicate that it was any sort of medical emergency) he had made alternative lodging arrangements for us to stay in a hotel. Thus I would rate this establishment as one of those "maybe they'll accomodate as promised and then again maybe not".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inventorjsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipomo
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
7.1 mi away
Santa Maria Inn
Santa Maria Inn
#3 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
BEST WESTERN Plus Big America
#2 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
10.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
Radisson Hotel Santa Maria
#1 of 21 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleidoscope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleidoscope Inn

Property: Kaleidoscope Inn
Address: 130 E Dana St, Nipomo, CA 93444-5103
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Nipomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nipomo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaleidoscope Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic, ocean-close, 1887 Victorian B&B boasts an acre of lush gardens, fabulous full breakfasts, large rooms, private baths, Egyptian cotton sheets and towels, down comforters, colorful quilts, fluffy robes and stained glass windows. Enjoy golf, wineries, spas, Hearst Castle, beaches, horseback riding, kayaking, whale-bird-butterfly watching, biking, hiking, and great restaurants. Near Solvang, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, Cambria and dozens of wineries, plus just 2 blocks from Jocko’s Steak House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaleidoscope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing