We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant BBQ. Made from Scratch”

Rancho Nipomo Deli & BBQ
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Nipomo
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant BBQ. Made from Scratch”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stopped by on the way between LA and Monterey. Perfect lunch stop. Wonderful Santa Maria Tri Tip and just a perfect meal. The sides were all done fresh and just right. Fresh rolls, fresh made slaw, fresh salsas. Everything was great. But the best part of an already excellent meal was the pulled pork. Smoked with the same red oak as the Tri Tip. Great combination of sweet and tang. Not what you expect in Santa Maria, but surprisingly good. And lots of locals, so you know they're doing something right. We loved it so much we replanned our route home some we could stop by again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its Worth the Drive”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

It is off the beaten path, and maybe that makes it that much better. When we arrived the place was crowded, but manageable. we could hear live music greeting us as we walked to the restaurant. Everyone was smiling, amd eating and having a great Sunday afternoon at this sweet place. I love the simple and tasty food. There is something for everyone, fish, chicken, vegetarian and yes. AMAZING meat. They also serve beer and wine to wash all that good food down. I was also taken by the thoughtfulness of decor, its very comfortable and cozy. I noticed photos accompanied by explanations, almost like a history and art lesson to engage all your senses. We will visit again, and again. Thoughtful food and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisydaisyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Can't Believe I've Missed This Place Before!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've visited the Central Coast many times via Hwy 166, but didn't know this place existed. If you are coming from Bakersfield on Hwy 166, when it meets Hwy 101, continue westward under 101 for a block, and on the right, there it is! If you are traveling on Hwy 101, take the 166 East off-ramp. They could really use a large sign at the intersection. You can't see any evidence of it, until you are right in front.
This restaurant opened in 2006, serving BBQ and Mexican food.
We had pulled pork sandwiches that were superb! They were also huge!
The food was so good, that we returned two days later to try the tri-tip. Also good, and less than $10 each! The menu includes burgers, deli sandwiches, tacos, burritos, and more. The owner is very friendly, and I see why they are ranked #1 in Nipomo.
Recommended for BBQ lovers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Where?”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Where to find some of the best BBQ this side of the black stumps? Here's the place, in the middle of nothing in a way. You could easily think you took a wrong turn or received dud directions. Pork sandwich is seriously good, cole slaw is excellent, beautiful sweet potato fries, and the price is pretty damn decent for all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Central Coast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I've never had a bad meal here. My favorite at the moment - Santa Maria Fries. French fries, covered in nacho cheese AND shredded cheese, topped with Santa Maria Style Tritip, ranch beans, and pico de gallo. Bring a crowd, this is at least a full meal for two, or a good appetizer for more. Burritos, hot dogs, pulled pork sandwiches, you name it, they have it. Oh, and GREAT potato salad, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatTravelingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rancho Nipomo Deli & BBQ also viewed

 
Nipomo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rancho Nipomo Deli & BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing