We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free lessons discontinued”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Bowl Resort

Sugar Bowl Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Norden
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For passionate skiing families and adventure enthusiasts alike, Sugar Bowl-Royal Gorge offers an extraordinary mountain resort experience with four great peaks, endless cross country trails, a world-class ski team and academy, and a magical snowbound village.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Davis, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Free lessons discontinued”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

After my sterling review of Sugar Bowl ski resort (near Truckee, CA) last year, featuring their free ski lessons and ski equipment with a lift ticket, I just found out that they discontinued the free lessons--not sure about the equipment. This is too bad, as the free lessons were a great perk! The slopes are still great and the people friendly, and Clair Tappaan Lodge is nearby for an inexpensive O/N with food included, but I wanted to update my previous review so people know about the change in the lessons offer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weimar, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Learn here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

They were wonderful teaching our son to snow board and ski. I recommend lessons by these folks. The slopes were great for beginners and intermediate from what was seen. The place is very affordable compared to several other places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Went there at the end of the 2013 ski seasons with two young kids (3 & 6). They had a blast. The older one was able to get a ski lesson and loved it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant at the main lodge had great food and is conveniently located.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlerouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Mid-size skier's mountain. Great for families. More skiable terrain than we expected. Excellent staff and service at every turn.

Helpful?
Thank CSideTile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
597 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great beginning ski day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get in on a general admission day - includes rentals and a free group lesson! This was my second downhill day ever. Lessons really helped and ended up having a great day on the slopes. Will definitely be back!!

Helpful?
Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Bowl Resort also viewed

 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Olympic Valley, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Sugar Bowl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing