We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I do not recommend”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I picked this hotel to stay in for a Disneyland vacation. I chose this hotel even though it was a bit further away because the price was better than most and they offered free wi-fi. The wi-fi was very important for our stay, but it did not work. I called the front desk 3 times during my stay and told them it was not working. They did not offer much help other than "try again".
The room itself was ok, nothing special, but not awful. There was a door chain on the floor inside the room next to the door, even though there was a new chain put on the door. That just leads me to believe that it was broken at some point- not sure how to feel about that.
There was trash and empty glasses left by the elevator that was there when we got there and then still there 24 hours later.
When i checked out, the front desk girl did not ask how my stay was or any questions at all- just asked my room number and then said "Ok thanks".
The constuction outside made it a little ugly and difficult to get to- we even missed it and had to do a u-turn even though u-turns were not allowed.
Overall I would say it might be worth it to stay here if you are hard up for a cheap place- but it was not worth it to me. Espcecially, as I said, I pretty much booked the room because wi-fi was included and then it ended up not working and no one even cared to ask how the experience was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    47
    106
    57
    27
See reviews for
61
83
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This modern, up to date hotel is within eye view of the southbound Santa Ana Freeway/Interstate 5 in Norwalk at the Rosecrans exit, which is how it was found. At the time of this review (February, 2014) the freeway is undergoing widening and reconstruction, including the on and off ramps. The construction will last into 2016 according to Caltrans. Patience is needed to get off the long southbound offramp, but you get to the hotel just fine.

The green background and white lettered sign makes you think of that big decades old hotel chain, but as far as I know, this place has no connection to it. Check in was courteous and efficient, and the desk clerks knew the answers to guest's questions, and effortlessly gave them. There's six buildings, some with two stories, some with three and some with elevators, and some not. All rooms are easy to find with the first digit of the four digits of the room number indicating the building you will be staying at. Easy geographical layout of the property to find the rooms.

The rooms have electronic keys. The room was extremely clean, spacious, and with a king size bed which was with a new and firm mattress, with four square pillows to rest your head on. Everything worked, including the television, heater, air conditioner, fan, plumbing fixtures hot and cold, and there's an ironing board with iron in the room too. What's missing that you might want is a microwave ($10 extra per night) and a motel size refrigerator ($10 extra per night). The rate paid of $75 would be $95 with these commonly expected appliances, so be aware and ask for them if desired.

Despite the Caltrans jackhammers jackhammering away - which is audible from anywhere on the property on the date visited - once inside the room, it's quiet. You can't hear the jackhammers. That's good news for travelers considering this hotel. A pool and Jacuzzi round out the amenities offered in the outdoor patio area, but I didn't have time to use any of them.

If you're looking for restaurants, there's several all through Norwalk and adjacent, but not any within walking distance. If you know the area, not a problem, but if you are new to Southern California, this might be a concern if this is important to you. Again, several restaurants are a mile or two miles away give or take in a number of directions, so you aren't without restaurants, just not within walking distance of them.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the freeway to ensure less freeway noise from travel and construction sources.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Underdog_SPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

When I walked into the room the smell hit me, it smelled like it was not properly clean and someone had been smoking in the no smoking room. The carpet was stained and looked very old, there were burn marks in the bedding, the shower head was detached from the wall and the bathroom had little bugs...disgusting!!!! I had to go and buy cleaning supplies and fabreez so that I can stay there. I will NEVER stay at guest house hotel again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danaya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwalk hotels

Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The motel was challenging to get to with construction going on around it. The front desk clerk was nice, but I was put off by seeing an undercover cop driving around the parking lot. There was only one big bath towel, hand towel, and wash cloth which was fine as I was alone, but this would have been an inconvenience had it been more than one traveler. There are not any places to eat nearby after 9 pm and I felt unsafe trying to find a place to eat by car and using Yelp. The walls were thin and I had to endure the sounds of my next door neighbors having sex for close to an hour. In hindsight, I would not have stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hootie9337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment's regarding your stay with us. We have made numerous renovations to the property and we review ALL our comments to see if we are on the right track or how we can improve upon our service and product. We have shared your comments with the staff and ownership to see if these concerns are isuues in which we can resolve.

We thank you again for your time and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Worst Customer service ever.
We reached at this hotel at 2 AM in the morning and guess what their key making machine is broken. Now we are standing there for 30 mins and she does not know what to do.
Then she calls the security and he opens the door for us. This guy tries to show he is very tough instead of being nice to people who came at 2 AM.

Now the door does not open because lock is broken. After struggling for 5 mins he opens the door. Next day we asked the lady to fix the lock. We called 2 times during the day and lady told us it is fixed. But after long day at disney land when we reached at room the door is still not fixed and we had to wait for 30 mins for security guy to come to open the door.

Next day when we complained to the lady while checking out she said we cannot do anything. Instead of giving any kind compensation for the trouble she said you can write a review on yelp or call our manager.

Will never recommend this place.
Worst customer service ever.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Staff was helpful, knowledge. Great location, highways, stores. Family friendly, pools looked awesome. Great welcoming atmosphere. Wish it was in Colorado, would be my home away from home. Beds comfortable, great cable channels, views!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arvilamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthousenorwalk, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Comments such as yours provides a gage for both our staff and management to acknowledge their performance or help them to improve uponj our service and prodcut.

We will share your comments with our staff...

Thank you again,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Queensland Aust
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

-'s Wi-if not working whole 4-day visit. Shower drain blocked. Train line out back but only infrequent trains ie daily.
+ - close to freeway entrance. No additional charges for parking, wifi (maybe that's why they didn't bother to get it working despite 4 complaints).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwalk
2.4 mi away
Best Western Norwalk Inn
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
4.1 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cerritos Hotel at Towne Center
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#3 of 8 in Downey
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Artesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk
Address: 12500 Firestone Blvd, Norwalk, CA 90650-4329
Region: United States > California > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable L.A. hotel alternative, GuestHouse International Hotel in Norwalk is ideally located near area businesses, the Norwalk Courthouse and a short drive from famed Southern California attractions, including Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm and Universal Studios. Our Norwalk, CA hotel has a central location, making it a convenient place for business travelers, group tours and leisure travelers, boasting 230 rooms across six buildings on eight acres of land, with two swimming pools and a jacuzzi. The lovely landscape adorned with palm trees, flowers and green grass makes you feel right at home. Enjoy our newly renovated IV Lounge offering a great time for those seeking a fun night out. Our sports bar offers a variety of exotic cocktails and mixed drinks that are sure to delight you. Your banquet/meeting needs can be met in one of our six spacious banquet halls including our largest venue able to accommodate up to 500 guests with full catering services. Plan your next vacation, business trip or special event at our charming hotel, here in the historic city of Norwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Hotel Norwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing