We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming in in Navato”
Review of Inn Marin & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn Marin & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Although a older "motor" inn, this has been transformed into a oasis of relaxation and beauty. A gorgeous grassy courtyard welcomes you, with wisteria and large maple trees. One of the largest has 4 hanging chairs to swing, read and knap by. There is a lovely fountain nearby trickling melodically. The rooms are very spacious and boast fine linens, comfortable pillows, bamboo floors, desk with paper clips and note pads, free internet and free breakfast. The room also has a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. All this nestled in the heart of the wine country. The hotel has a class A restaurant on the premises called "Rickey's" The menu is small and precise, the food fabulous and the presentation eye catching. They have a wonderful wine list and a full bar. They host live bands on holidays and a couple of nights a week. Book early, the place fills up fast. Parking is free and out your back door. Your front door opens onto the courtyard. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the courtyard. There are other rooms in the back and while pleasant, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheHuntress52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here at the last minute after being turned down by 10 hotels around the area that were full. (We should have reserved in advance!) This place had everything we needed and more. A nice big room with a king bed and separate area for my son. Pet friendly (so hard to find!) with only a $20 fee which was reasonable for sure. The room was very clean, nice wood floors and beautiful grounds as well. My son loved the tree swings! Breakfast in the morning was a major bonus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed at the Inn Marin for a wedding. We had some events at the Inn while the wedding was at a separate location. Our flight was very late and we didn't manage to check-in until 5am. We were warmly greeted and treated well.

Rooms are dark - think old motel. We were fortunate to be off the courtyard area where the parties were taking place. Because of the setting - motel style - we couldn't leave our blinds open which resulted in the room always being dark. Lighting in the room was too low. We reserved a King room, but they only would give us a double upon registration. Breakfast was sparse - needs to be enhanced.

Amenities were ok. The Inn describes themselves as "green". To a degree they are, but I wouldn't say that they go to any extra effort.

The Inn faces the freeway, but once you are behind the main area, the courtyard and pool is quiet. Since our room was way in the back of the property we didn't have any issues with road noise.

Major drawback to the Inn is that they have no food service throughout the day. Once you are past their meager breakfast, the restaurant and bar isn't open until evening. Drinks are expensive unless you stick to their happy hour list. Note that happy hour is only from 4-6 which we never made due to our sightseeing and other family events schedule.

Overall - clean and suited our purposes of not having to drive for the family functions. Good location - 3 minutes to Muir in one direction and 30 minutes to Napa in the other. There are plenty of other excellent choices and I wouldn't make this my choice again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a courtyard room as the Inn hosts many events using the garden and pool area. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DukeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

What got my attention was, "Shelter From The Norm" their tag line as I hate cookie cutter experiences. Also dog friendly is a must for us. I was so pleasantly surprised by the whole place. In an area clogged with people, the Inn is a refuge from all that with beautiful interior gardens, charming rooms and a great restaurant. We stayed four nights on business. Our only problem was a wedding party who partied right outside our room--some genius thought we were part of the wedding, and put us there. A complaint got us that night comped. A popular place for weddings, watch out for the noise factor if you have to get up at 5:00 am as we did.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lovely pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinFlames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Good sized, clean rooms.
Nice pool, good outside grassed area. Excellent and affordable restaurant.
Extremely helpful and can do staff.
Hotel deceptive from first appearance, close to highway, however rooms are situated so as noise is no problem.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I was a little afraid when I could see the Inn from the highway, and more frightened when I saw the outdoor wedding in the courtyard, but we had a room in the back and the setting was tree covered, lots of flowers and very quaint. The wedding wrapped up early and it was a quiet night.

Clean, updated accommodations. The breakfast was simple but enough, I would recommend staying away from Ricky's, nothing was tasty (but that is for a different review).

Good place for what we needed. Moderate price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Check in was incredibly painful. The front desk clerk was new or incompetent.
The room was clean and a reasonable size(I had a king room). Bathroom was small but adequate although there was not one hook to hang anything!
It is a pet friendly hotel with plenty of places to walk your pet.
Complimentary breakfast was basic but good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin & Suites

Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range: £69 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn Marin & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin & Suites Novato, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing