We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and cozy”
Review of Inn Marin & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn Marin & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Hey this place was just great, old feel but modern conveniences. the wood floors feels clean bed was perfect nice space here a front and back door. Very quiet and comfortable we both had a great night sleep in a warm bed. By the way don't forget to get some food at rick's restaurant!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

The owners of this property are trying hard to compete with newer better located properties, but the property is just to compromised to compete. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The property is old but updated. Wood floors are nice, but the room was to small for the oversized chair that was crammed into a spot next to the bed, which made walking on that side of the bed almost impossible. The bathroom is small, cramped, with a very small shower. Storage in the bathroom is very limited. My room had a door on each side of the room, and the light was burned out near the closet area. There was a refrigerator in the room that worked well and the bed was very comfotable. This motel was at this location before the 101 was widened and the road nose was noticable. Breakfast was just barely continental.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Inn Marin was built in 1949 as a motor lodge serving the residents of San Francisco to escape the freezing cold fog. This property was designed for guest to drive up to the back of the room and enter through the back door/closet then be able to walk into the fabulous gardens from the front door. Despite this being a classic property we did a 2.5million dollar renovation in 2008 with most recently replacing all of our beds with Serta Presidential Pillow top mattresses & Keurig Coffee makers in all the rooms. The designs in the 50's is very different from what you see today in a modern property where you can play volley ball in the bathroom. We have worked very hard to bring todays luxuries to our rooms and our property, without compromising the charm of the mission style architecture.
Our continental Breakfast includes: Make your own Belgian Waffles, 3 types of cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, Fresh Banana mini Muffins, Freshly baked assortment of Bagels, 4 types of Instant Oatmeal, Whole Bananas, Apples, & Oranges, 2 kinds of Yoplait yogurt, Gourmet Organic free trade Coffee and Decaf, 12 different types of Tea, Milk, Soy Milk and Orange juice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was meeting a friend for a long week-end in SF and doing a Triathlon at McNear Beach. The room rates in SF were so high as well as parking. The Tri folks recommended the Inn Marin and it was perfect. We drove back and forth to SF for sightseeing. I was worried about traffic, but it all worked out well. This Inn was delightful, access was great, and it was better than paying a fortune to stay in SF. We found some local restaurants nearby and had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was quoted a different rate than what was emailed to me and when I arrived I did not notice the change of $25 more a night. When I brought it up to the front desk the owner stepped in and said that the $89 never existed. !! The front desk person told me differently., he said that the person who made the quote was in error. The irony of it all is the fact that the same front desk person quoted another customer the $89 rate as I was walking by and that is what triggered my memory of the quoted rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZekeLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for one night. Arrived at 10pm and were gone by 10 the following morning. I can't really fault the place. The room was exactly the same as the pic on the website. The bed was really comfy, brand new in fact (we saw all the old mattresses stacked up at the end of xthe car park). The garden area looked neat and tidy in the morning sunshine. My only complaint was the uninteresting breakfast selection and the coffee was not by nice.
As somewhere to sleep which is close to the main road and not too much of a detour from that this place ticks all the boxes

Room Tip: Definitely the rooms furthest away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked a block of rooms for the Bioneers conference in nearby San Rafael. The staff was professional, cheerful, and courteous, and communicated clearly with us about our group's evolving needs. Rooms were pleasant, clean, and comfortable, and the grounds were very pleasant--a little oasis off the freeway, complete with wifi. I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask if garden rooms are available!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank slow_traveler802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I have been traveling around California for a few weeks now. We have stayed in a few different motels, a cabin, a casita and a hotel. There is always something that can be improved. We both agree that Inn Marin was the best place we have stayed so far. It had comfortable beds, a good bathroom with a killer mirror, enough space in the closet to put things away. The TV was easy to use. We were in the back so it was quite and peaceful. The grounds were nice for our dog. The breakfast was great and the staff was friendly. We even ate at Rickeys one night which was also very good.
We would recommend this place to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerqueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin & Suites

Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range: £69 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn Marin & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin & Suites Novato, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing