We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn Marin & Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marin Lodge(San Rafael)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metro Hotel & Cafe(Petaluma)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
133
94
36
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
94
36
14
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo floorsgarden areawine countryhard boiled eggsoutdoor weddingfun place to stayan older propertylower ratesears pointsales managercontinental breakfastoatmealking roomsonoma racewaynice poolroad noisehot tub
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We needed to be in Novato for a family event. So we decided to try Inn Marin. We booked late and ended up having to buy the king jacuzzi suite. It's certainly not what I would call a suite, more like a motel room with a wall between the bed and the couch. The heaters are window units and they are loud. They have the classic "chip of soap" in the bathrooms. The bed was hard as a rock, but it didn't sag. The linens were very basic, and the bedspread, I assume, would be a nightmare if viewed under a black light. We paid $285 for the night with tax for a room that would compete with most highway motels.

The upside is that they are dog friendly, and that is a bonus for us. Breakfast was included, but it was basic toast, coffee, yogurt and cereal. The room was very clean overall. The staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face highway 101. It's right on the freeway.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Imagine an old road motel that marries a new boutique hotel and you have the vision of Inn Marin. I only wish they'd spent a little more on the bathroom accoutrements -- the mirrors are a bit distorted, the toilet paper holders are cheap and the towel racks do not hold well. It's a bit overpriced but I was there Thanksgiving weekend so perhaps that's why.

The beds and pillows were comfy and there is a wonderful, large pet-friendly, grassy area just outside the door. I imagine it's very Hawaii-like in the warmer season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kush3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We noticed how close we were to the freeway but many motels have enough sound insulation to block the noise...not this one! We went to bed about 12 o'clock and the freeway was definitely an issue but we put on some sound machines and managed to fall asleep. My wife was up at 3 am when the truck noise started to to get louder. I was up at 5:45. We tried earplugs, headphones...nothing helped. We decided to shower and check out and sleep in the car. We called the front desk...they offered to move us but by then it was too late. Admittedly we should have just moved but it wasn't as bad when we went to bed as it was by 3am. The rooms are actually pretty nice inside, hardwood floors, etc. we were cold because the heater barely worked so we just asked for extra blankets. They were thin but did the trick. Mainly just the freeway noise...unacceptable for a 2 1/2 star hotel.

We booked this through Priceline and accidentally bid $100 for 2 1/2 stars in San Rafael/Mill Valley, not Novato. But this is what we got, way further north than we meant (our fault,) Nevertheless this place is NOT even 2 stars. The freeway noise makes it a cheap 1 star motel (except NOT cheap)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

I am very sorry you had this experience. The room that you booked through Priceline was a Highway room and is priced at this rate because it is a highway room. Our highway rooms are priced 20-30% lower than our Garden rooms that are away from the highway. It is very unfortunate that price line does not tell you this when you book a room. Just know that Price line sells our rooms for the same rate as we do but they take a 30% commission for booking the room. If you were to book directly on our web site you would have been able to pick a room away from the highway for the same price.
This is very unfortunate and as a hotel operator we dislike working with the third party booking agency’s because they take such a large commission and they do not communicate clearly to their customers what they are selling. When someone books a room through a third party booking agency we do not get any contact information so we are not able to contact the guest to confirm what was booked for them.
My suggestion for you in the future is decide what you are willing to pay for a room then check the third party web sites to see if rooms are available. Then call the property direct and ask them to match the third party web sites rate. The hotel will in most cases match the rate and give you a better room for booking with them directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After looking at the pictures and reading the anecdotes of country style weddings here, I guess my expectations were set a little too high. The street leading up to the hotel is littered with dilapidated stores and dirty lots. The property itself is fairly well maintained, but the layout gave me the feeling of a cheaper motel. Room was nicely decorated, bed was comfy and shower was clean. Heater had a bit of a smell but I think it just hadn't been used in a while. Overall, if you need an easy place to stay for a couple nights, it's a good choice, but it's more "convenient" than "quaint."

Room Tip: Facing the garden was pretty, but you also have people walking past the room. Try for an end room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMonster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were very pleased with the value of Inn Marin. The room was clean and, the grounds were fun, and the lobby and resturaunt were more than expected. The breakfast was satisfying and convenient, and the staff was very accomadating of our toddler. They had a crib for us at no additional charge.

I don't have a single complain. We are a family of 3.

Room Tip: any looked good
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews